Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER): Welcome

What are Open Educational Resources (OER)?

Open Educational Resources, or OER, refer to any teaching and learning materials that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license, such as a Creative Commons License or GNU General Public License, that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution with no or limited restrictions.

Video from intheacademia. Remixed by The Learning Portal.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Journals & Articles

See our Databases page, those marked with a unlock symbol are accessible to the public and many of them are open access or some of the content is.

General OER (variety of formats)

OpenSyllabus.org - Open Access Syllabi Database

Researchers at Columbia University in the US recently released the second version of the Open Syllabus Project, a database containing nearly seven million syllabi from 2,500 universities around the world. Project director Joe Karaganis described it as a “kind of skeleton key” to the “black box” of higher education, providing a clearer picture of what the contents of a university education looks like. “We’ve begun to pull back the curtain a bit,” he said. Data from the project have revealed the most-taught titles in higher education, allowed researchers to map out how fields of study are related to each other based on shared titles, and been used to help teachers guide curriculums.

College Open Textbooks
Lists open textbooks focusing on community college level from a variety of sources.

Open SUNY Textbooks
Open access textbooks from the State University of New York.

Open Textbook Store
Curated list of open mathematics and statistics textbooks.

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER)
OER can include full courses, textbooks, or any instructional materials including images, videos, or documents associated with teaching and learning. It is estimated that there are now more than 1.4 billion works licensed under various Creative Commons licenses (State of the Commons, 2017). For example, Wikimedia, whose most well-known project is the free online encyclopedia, Wikipedia, uses a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license for its online content. The growing collection of openly licensed works, whether digital or not, is referred to as The Commons.

OpenStax
College textbooks from the United States. Subjects include math, science, and economics.

OpenStax CNX
Offers content in two formats modules, which are like small "knowledge chunks," and collections, which are groups of modules structured into books or course notes

AU Press
Athabasca University press licenses their books through Creative Commons and makes free PDFs available

unglue.it
A large collection of free or CC0 books.

AMSER (Applied Math and Science Repository)
AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.

Find OER
A list of many places you can look for open educational resources including recorded lectures and textbooks.

OER Commons
Includes activities, assessments, full courses and more. Browse and search by subject, material type, education level

The Orange Grove
Open educational resource repository from Florida.

SOL*R
Online learning resources, repository created by BCcampus

The Internet Archive
Contains a large collection of public domain materials - videos, books, images, etc.

Presentation - Learning Connections

How can I use material?

Look for a license, often Creative Commons or GNU, this will give the details on how content can be used, shared, and adapted as well as stating an requirements (such as attribution or non-commercial use). Some material may have instructor content that cannot be shared with students.

Videos

Music

Images

Terms of Use