Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Home

Teaching & Learning Support

We can help you:

  • Use library databases and Google Scholar effectively and efficiently
  • Sign up for alerts to help you stay up-to-date with new research in your field
  • Find materials to support current and new course development
  • Develop library collections to support your course and assignments
  • Create permanent links to articles, eBooks, and online video in Blackboard
  • Access materials not owned by SLC through interlibrary loan

If you are pursuing an advanced degree at another institution, we recommend that you seek help first from your institution’s library services, as their collections will be designed to support your program.

Collection Development/Library Purchases

The library purchases resources to support the college curriculum, as well as general interest and leisure materials. Faculty may send requests for consideration to ldcunningham@sl.on.ca or via the online request form. The library may purchase:

  • Books and eBooks
  • DVD and eVideo (streaming)

Online Resources

We welcome your suggestions for additional online content including databases, ejournals, streaming video, and eBooks. We prefer to subscribe to resources available via our library consortium.

Exceptions

Generally, the library does not add the following items to the collection. Please contact us to find out more.

  • iTunes/Kindle/Netflix content licensed for personal use
  • Print Journals and Magazines
  • Licensed Business Cases (eg. Harvard Business Review cases)
  • Content available through our partnership with Laurentian University

Library Tours & Workshops (Information Literacy)

Library Orientation Tours

Tours provide an introduction to the layout of the library, the collections, and the services each library offers. To book a tour:

Library Workshops

Library workshops support teaching and learning by providing students with the opportunity to gain a better understanding of the resources available at SLC, learn about the research process, and develop research and information literacy skills. For writing and citing workshops, contact the Academic Support Centres.

Guidelines:

  • Workshops should be requested at least three weeks in advance. Requests are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis and are dependent on staff availability. In the event we cannot accommodate your request, alternate resources will be offered.
  • Library staff will request a meeting with you to discuss the details of your major assignment(s) and your learning outcomes for the session. 
  • We expect faculty and student attendance during library sessions. The professor's role is to ensure clarity of assignment expectations. 
  • We appreciate your commitment to creating an engaging learning experience for students.

To Book (tricampus):

Online Tutorials - Alternatives to In-Class Sessions

We understand the value of your classroom time. Students develop research skills over time, so consider integrating relevant learning opportunities throughout your course or program. The library provides a variety of online resources and tutorials to supplement your course content. Videos, quizzes, handouts and guides on every step of the research process are available for you to share with your students.

Information Literacy Toolkit for Faculty

 

Contact

Leigh Cunningham's picture
Leigh Cunningham
Contact:
Leigh Cunningham, MISt
Associate Director, Libraries & Student Success
Brockville, Cornwall, Kingston
613.544.5400 ext. 1156