St. Lawrence College Libraries

Brockville, Cornwall, Kingston

Welcome

General Inquiries

Any questions, complaints, or concerns about accessibility can be directed to Student Wellness & Accessibility (SWA). Each campus has its own contact information, or you can email wellness@sl.on.ca.

What is the Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE)?

ACE supports users with print disabilities at participating Ontario colleges and universities by making library collections accessible through an online platform. ACE contains a variety of library books which have been digitized and made available in accessible formats.

Visit, call, or email Mary Gauthier, Alternative Media Technician, mgauthier@sl.on.ca or 613-544-5400 ext 1636. After she has confirmed that you are registered with their office, you will be referred via email to Katherine Butler, Library & Copyright Technician, who is also the ACE Lead for St. Lawrence College tri-campus.

All communication can be done via email, there is no requirement to visit Mary or Katherine in-person.

Do you require alternate format materials?

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternative formats for print material held in our Library collection, including colour and black and white PDFs, DAISY, ePub and plain text. ACE is a service provided by Scholars Portal.

Library users registered with Student Wellness and Accessibility with documented print disabilities should contact copyright@sl.on.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have received an ACE token:

If the book you need is not available in ACE, contact copyright@sl.on.ca to request digitization. NOTE that digitization service is suspended during the COVID-19 campus closure.

Accessible Books

All print material in the library is available, minus special collections such as reserves (current textbooks; see below) and reference materials.

Accessible Textbooks

Accessible versions of current course texts can only be obtained from Student Wellness & Accessibility (SWA).

Book Requests

Only print books held in the St. Lawrence College Library system are eligible for request. To see what books we have in our collection, please browse our online catalogue.

Accessibility Statement

Updated: February 13 2020.

General

stlawrencecollege.libguides.com strives to ensure that its services are accessible to people with disabilities. stlawrencecollege.libguides.com has invested a significant amount of resources to help ensure that its website is made easier to use and more accessible for people with disabilities, with the strong belief that every person has the right to live with dignity, equality, comfort and independence.

Accessibility on stlawrencecollege.libguides.com

stlawrencecollege.libguides.com makes available the UserWay Website Accessibility Widget that is powered by a dedicated accessibility server. The software allows stlawrencecollege.libguides.com to improve its compliance with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1).

Enabling the Accessibility Menu

The stlawrencecollege.libguides.com accessibility menu can be enabled by clicking the accessibility menu icon that appears on the corner of the page. After triggering the accessibility menu, please wait a moment for the accessibility menu to load in its entirety.

Disclaimer

stlawrencecollege.libguides.com continues its efforts to constantly improve the accessibility of its site and services in the belief that it is our collective moral obligation to allow seamless, accessible and unhindered use also for those of us with disabilities.

Despite our efforts to make all pages and content on stlawrencecollege.libguides.com fully accessible, some content may not have yet been fully adapted to the strictest accessibility standards. This may be a result of not having found or identified the most appropriate technological solution.

Here For You

If you are experiencing difficulty with any content on stlawrencecollege.libguides.com or require assistance with any part of our site, please contact us during normal business hours and we will be happy to assist.

Contact Us

If you wish to report an accessibility issue, have any questions or need assistance, please contact stlawrencecollege.libguides.com as follows:

Email: copyright@sl.on.ca

Who is eligible to access ACE?

In accordance with the Communication and Information Standards of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, St. Lawrence College Library will provide, upon request, an accessible or conversion ready format of print-based resources held in its collection* to registered students, faculty, or staff with a verified "perceptual disability" in accordance with the definition provided in the Canadian Copyright Act.

The Canadian Copyright Act defines a "perceptual disability" as follows:

> "perceptual disability" means a disability that prevents or inhibits a person from reading, viewing, or hearing a literary, musical, dramatic, or artistic work in its original format, and includes such a disability resulting from:

a) severe or total impairment of sight or hearing or the ability to focus or move ones eyes,

b) the inability to hold or manipulate a book, or

c) an impairment relating to comprehension.

*Special collections, archival materials, rare books, and donations are exempt under this standard.