Information Literacy at SLC
Welcome to the Information Literacy at SLC guide. This guide contains resources for faculty to use in the classroom. These resources on library research, digital citizenship, and digital skills support academic success, career readiness, and lifelong learning.
Information Literacy Tutorials at a Glance
- Finding Evidence-based Information for Nursing and Health Sciences StudentsHealth sciences research in the context of this hub refers to finding and using information found in journal articles, books, and other sources. This type of health sciences research requires skills and tools that are specific to the field. This hub will help you navigate the process of finding evidence-based health sciences information. It will help you plan your search, use appropriate databases to find information, evaluate information, and write an academic paper. It also includes a glossary of important terms.
- Information Literacy Course (Credo Instruct) This link opens in a new window
This online course of six modules will provide students with a foundation in information literacy, library research and critical thinking.
Topics have been divided among six modules; each includes videos, tutorial, and quizzes. - Research Companion Videos This link opens in a new window
Research Companion is ProQuest’s flagship information literacy product. It was built to help students do more effective scholarly research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information. A series of short videos on choosing a topic, evaluating sources, and understanding peer-review.
Indigenous Information Literacy by This book outlines best principles for working with Indigenous print and oral sources in academic research. Topics include evaluating Indigenous print sources for credibility and authenticity, finding Indigenous authors, and respectfully working with Elders.
Information Skills Online Handbook by By Jackie Chambers Page and Siscoe Boschman, Niagara College. This handbook introduces and reinforces essential information literacy skills for students beginning their post-secondary careers.
How to use the Learning Portal (for Faculty)
Teaching Resources (Handouts, Lesson Plans)
- Community of Online Research Assignments (CORA): an open access resource for faculty and librarians It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials.
What is Information Literacy? ACRL Framework
- Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (ACRL)Filed by the ACRL Board on February 2, 2015. Adopted by the ACRL Board, January 11, 2016.
SLC Faculty - How to use Credo Instruct
- SLC Credo Instruct Links - List of direct linksThis Excel file includes direct authenticated links to each piece of content in Credo Instruct. SLC faculty and students should be able to access on and off campus with their SLC credentials.