Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
More than 900+ full text journals for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative medicine, and consumer health. Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Provides users with high-quality healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Includes 350+ videos.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
- LWW Nursing Journals @ Ovid This link opens in a new window
Search 117 fulltext nursing eJournals on the Ovid platform. A select number of eBooks are also available including Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis, Lippincott Visual Nursing, and Nursing 2022 Drug Handbook.
View helpful external search tools for this database on the OVID website.
- Ovid ToolsThe Ovid Tools & Resources Portal is your first stop for fast answers to a wide variety of marketing, training, and customer support questions including:
- Customizable Materials for Your Library
-Training Schedules
- Quick Reference Guides and FAQs
- Upcoming and On-Demand Webcasts
- Configuration and Customization Tips
- Marketing Materials
- Screen Shots, Widgets and Much More!!!
Be sure to bookmark this site and check back regularly for new and updated information.
CSA OnDemand
The ORNAC Standards, Guidelines, and Position Statements for Registered Nurses, 16th edition – 2023 serves as a guide and reference for perioperative nurses, health care facilities providing care to surgical patients, and other professional associations. This semi-annual compendium was developed and reviewed by perioperative nurses across Canada and reflects current practice, research, and review of medical/surgical/nursing literature. The volunteer members of the ORNAC Standards Committee review/revise modules on a continuous basis within a two-year timeframe. The Standards are available in both English and French.
- CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
CSA OnDemand™ provides 24/7 online access to standards collection from the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Group, in English and French, for current and historical standards. St. Lawrence subscribes to 1,861 standards. Note: Create an account (optional) to annotate documents. Printing is restricted. Downloading is restricted on select codes. Watch our short how-to video: https://youtu.be/J2s5dk0hXr8
For academic users, the PDF document cannot be accessed off campus. Please use online version.
When on Campus: The CSA PDF has to be opened outside your internet browser using Adobe Acrobat Reader. Please ensure that your version of Adobe is up-to-date.
You will need to update your Adobe Acrobat Reader settings (Edit or Menu > Preferences > Javascript and uncheck the "Enable global object security policy" checkbox and then click OK) and then your PDF should now open.
If you need help using one of the suggested databases, book an appointment with us or watch one of these videos:
How to Search - CINAHL Video Tutorial
EBSCO Tutorials. (2022). CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial. [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/_BUBmheI_pE [Closed captioning and transcripts are available via YouTube.]
How to Search - OVID/Medline Video Tutorial
Health Sciences Library, McMaster University. (2020). Ovid Medline - Part 1 - Starting your Search. [Video File]. Retrieved from: https://youtu.be/qdYom99Eia8 [Closed captioning and transcripts are available via YouTube.]
This is a helpful video series on using OVID/Medline by McMaster University Health Sciences Library.
Check with your professor to see if you are allowed to use Google Scholar when finding resources for your research. When using Google Scholar, you can link to a library so both results from the google search and the library show in your results. Visit our How to Use Google Scholar guide for steps on how to add a library to your search results.
EBSCOhost Databases include: CINAHL, MEDLINE, Health Source & APA PsycInfo
The new EBSCOhost allows users to conduct advanced searches using Guided-Style Find fields. Guided-Style Find fields assist you in creating a more targeted search.
For example, you can enter your search terms into the search boxes and have EBSCOhost search for your terms in only specific citation search fields, such as the Title or Subject terms fields.
To use Advanced Search:
-
Enter your search terms in the first search box on the Advanced Search screen.
-
Choose a citation search field from the All fields drop-down list (for example, search in only the Title field of the citation).
-
Repeat steps 2 and 3 for the second set of search boxes.
-
Click the Boolean operator drop-down menu to combine the search box entries with AND, OR, NOT. (Default is AND)
-
You can select another Boolean operator, keyword, and search field in the third search box set.
-
Click the Add fields link below the search boxes if you would like to add more lines of search to your advanced search.
-
Under Search options, apply any desired limiters to your search. For example, you may want to limit results to items with full text available online and published within a custom date range you select.
To add a Custom date range, select Custom range and click the fields to select start and end dates from the date picker.
-
Click the Search button. The Result List displays.
Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Create individualized nursing care plans with ease and confidence! Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 13th Edition uses an easy, three-step system to guide you through client assessment, nursing diagnosis, and care planning. Step-by-step instructions show how to implement care and evaluate outcomes, and help you build skills in diagnostic reasoning and critical thinking. To make care planning easier, this handbook allows you to look up nursing diagnoses and care plans for more than 1450 client symptoms, as well as interventions from NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) and outcomes from NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification). Edited by noted nursing educators Mary Beth Flynn Makic and Marina Reyna Martinez-Kratz, this reference provides everything you need to write nursing care plans in just one book! Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for each NANDA-International© (NANDA-I©) -approved nursing diagnosis. Evolve website includes a care plan template, case studies, review questions, and more! Evidence-based interventions and rationales include research studies and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. Quality and safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care, and includes QSEN content in Section I. Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions are included as appropriate for plans of care. Index of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside back cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated content is based on the 2021-2023 NANDA-I©-approved nursing diagnoses and reflects new diagnoses, revised diagnoses, and retired diagnoses. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses include class and domain information as consistent with the current NANDA-I.
Call Number: RT48.6 .A35 2023ISBN: 9780323776837Publication Date: 2022-05-16
Anatomy & physiology by
A&P may be complicated, but learning it doesn't have to be! Anatomy & Physiology, 11th Edition uses a clear, easy-to-read approach to tell the story of the human body’s structure and function. Color-coded illustrations, case studies, and Clear View of the Human Body transparencies help you see the "Big Picture" of A&P. To jump-start learning, each unit begins by reviewing what you have already learned and previewing what you are about to learn. Short chapters simplify concepts with bite-size chunks of information.
Call Number: QP34.5 .T486 2022ISBN: 9780323791007Publication Date: 2022
Arnold and Boggs's Interpersonal Relationships by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Arnold and Boggs's Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Canadian Nurses helps you develop essential skills for communicating effectively with patients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-patient relationship through proven communication strategies, as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. With a uniquely Canadian approach, and a variety of case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-informed practice studies, this text ensures you learn how to apply theory to real-life practice. Engaging, comprehensive coverage presents the most current issues and communication concepts. Fully adapted content reflects Canada's unique health care context and cultural landscape. Canadian statistics, research, references and resources, guidelines, assessment and screening tools, and more are incorporated throughout the text. Canadian cultural and demographic considerations address issues related to race/ethnicity, Indigenous peoples, gender identity, LGBTQ2 community, family composition, recent immigrants, refugees, and vulnerable persons. Engaging with Humility: Authentic Interpersonal Communication in Partnership with Indigenous Peoples chapter increases awareness and knowledge of the impact of colonization on Indigenous peoples, in order to understand and develop practices which respectfully engage in cultural safety and humility through holistic communication with Indigenous peoples and communities. Rich art programme reflects Canada's cultural diversity in the health care setting. Emphasis on collaborative communication includes related evidence-informed case studies and analysis. Socio-cultural communication competencies coverage discusses how to reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Questions for Review and Discussion help students practise their reflective analysis skills and provide opportunities for thoughtful review of chapter content. Content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Simulation exercises enable students to practise, observe, and critically evaluate their professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help students learn to develop empathy for patients' perspectives and needs. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-patient relationship - all central components of holistic nursing. Nursing, behavioural, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Ethical Dilemma boxes with reflection questions at the end of each chapter help students absorb and retain key ethical content throughout the text. Evidence-Informed Nursing Practice boxes in each chapter offer a summary of research findings related to the chapter subject and are intended to strengthen awareness of the link between research and practice. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlight crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery.
Call Number: RT86.3 .M35 2022ISBN: 9780323763660Publication Date: 2021-12-14
Basic Immunology by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Contains new and expanded content on pandemics, COVID-19, and herd immunity; resistance and susceptibility to COVID-19; RNA vaccines and hybrid viral vaccines; tumor immunotherapy; innate immune responses to viruses; mechanisms of immunologic tolerance; and immunotherapy for autoimmune, allergic, and other inflammatory diseases, and cancer. Provides unrivalled instruction from an expert author team, all of whom are experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to cover new information and improve reader understanding of complex concepts. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions and self-assessment questions. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers of medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text and figures, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Call Number: QR181 .A28 2024ISBN: 9780443105197Publication Date: 2024-01-01
Elsevier's Canadian Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Now there's a fully Canadian edition of Elsevier's best-selling NCLEX® exam review book! Elsevier's Canadian Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 3rd Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX® exam - complete content review, more than 5,000 NCLEX practice questions in the book and online, and preparation for the Next-Generation NCLEX®. In addition, all answers include detailed rationales and test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Integrating Canadian approaches to nursing throughout the text, this book is the only comprehensive NCLEX review written from a Canadian perspective. It's THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation!
Call Number: RT55 .S56 2024ISBN: 9780323810333Publication Date: 2023-04-01
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis by
Lynda Carpenito's best-selling, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis, now in an impressive sixteenth edition, is the ideal quick reference for nursing diagnosis information. This trusted handbook covers the NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses 2021-2023 and offers practical guidance on nursing diagnoses and associated care. The quick-reference type scope of content makes it easy for students to use while in clinical, in the classroom or simulation lab. From goals to specific interventions, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis focuses on nursing. It provides a condensed, organized outline of clinical nursing practice designed to communicate creative clinical nursing. It is not meant to replace nursing textbooks, but rather to provide nurses who work in a variety of settings with the information they need without requiring a time-consuming review of the literature. It will assist students in transferring their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice. This is a must-have reference that nursing students will use throughout their curriculum and into their professional career.
Call Number: RT48.6 C385 2023ISBN: 9781284197976Publication Date: 2021-12-10
Job Readiness for Health Professionals by
Master the soft skills you need to succeed as a healthcare professional! A guide to personal behaviors, Job Readiness for Health Professionals, 4th Edition covers 48 different soft skills, including effective communication, collaborating with colleagues, time management, and searching for and applying for jobs. Engaging, hands-on exercises help you apply these skills in a variety of circumstances and practice settings. Easy to read and easy to follow, this book describes the proven strategies and practices that will help you find your first healthcare job and advance in your career. Guidelines to building a professional portfolio include checklists, a certificate, mock interviews, and ways to keep resumes up to date, all helping you create an effective tool demonstrating job readiness and advancement. Critical-thinking and problem-solving skills prepare you to analyze and handle situations, to better manage conflict and to quickly and effectively adapt to changes. Case studies show how specific soft skills are related to the challenges and issues of the healthcare profession. Work-text format includes journaling and self-reflection activities, providing opportunities to practice and apply skills. Learning objectives for each chapter provide measurable outcomes for you to achieve. Logical organization of topics begins with self-management and interpersonal skills, and moves on to communication skills, career building skills, and finally planning and advancing a career. Storytelling approach uses vignettes and realistic scenarios to make the content more personal and relatable. NEW! Preparing for the Externship chapter is added to this edition. NEW job readiness content includes up-to-date information on the use of social media, as well as certifications and registrations for healthcare professionals, mentoring, work-life balance, and continuing education. NEW! Updated content on diversity, equality, and inclusion is also added to this edition. NEW What If? scenarios and case studies are added.
Call Number: R690 .J63 2025ISBN: 9780443111082Publication Date: 2024-03-27
Lilley's pharmacology for Canadian health care practice by Call Number: RM301 .S43 2024ISBN: 9780323811620Publication Date: 2024
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Call Number: RM301.12 .M67 2024ISBN: 9780443118906Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Mosby's Canadian Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by
Written exclusively for a Canadian market, Mosby's Canadian Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, Second Edition provides clear, concise coverage of more than 700 of the most commonly performed tests, with Canadian lab values, SI units, Canadian cultural considerations, and unique Canadian content. Its many features include an easy-to-understand writing style, full-colour illustrations, and a logical organization. Each test entry is presented in a consistent format to provide quick access to information on specimen collection, normal findings, indications, test explanation, procedure and patient care, and test results and clinical significance, as well as any applicable contraindications, potential complications, interfering factors, and related tests. The second edition has been updated to reflect the latest procedures, equipment, and techniques, along with 24 of the most current laboratory and diagnostics test. Plus, updated Canadian guidelines are highlighted by a maple leaf icon for easy reference! UNIQUE! Cultural Considerations boxes highlight important aspects of working with patients from the diverse cultural and racial backgrounds of the Canadian population, such as Indigenous communities. UNIQUE! SI units in the Normal Findings section of appropriate tests offer quick and easy reference (conventional units also included). UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list tests that provide similar information or are used to evaluate the same body system, disease process, or symptom. Addresses Canadian privacy laws and legislation (including PHIPA and PIPEDA), the Canadian Labour Code, and policies for DNA collection, reporting of infections such as Chlamydia, and much more. Follows Canadian standard precautions and procedures such as those set forth by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, as well as Canadian screening protocols such as those set out in the Canadian Cancer Society Screening Guidelines. Necessary consideration given to the differences between provinces/territories (and institutions) in regards to privacy legislation, obtaining consent, agency guidelines, procedure protocols and the availability of tests. Provides information on Canadian test-tube colouring classifications and guidelines for the correct order and process of collecting blood samples in Canada. Up-to-date Canadian statistics are provided for topics such as STDs and C. difficile. NEW! Updated Canadian guidelines are highlighted by a maple leaf icon in the text margin for easy identification and reference. NEW! 24 of the most current laboratory and diagnostic tests added to this new edition. NEW! A description of commonly performed laboratory methods, explains methods used to evaluate blood, urine, spinal fluid, and other specimens. UNIQUE! Coverage of the clinical significance of test results explains why a given test result indicates specific diseases. NEW! Updated photographs and illustrations clarify key concepts and reflect the latest procedures, equipment, and techniques.
Call Number: RB38.3 .P336 2018ISBN: 9780323567466Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Nurse's Pocket Guide by
The perfect pocket guide makes care planning easier. This quick-reference tool has exactly what you need to select the appropriate diagnoses to plan your patients' care effectively. The 16th Edition features all the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions from NANDA-I 2021-2023. One of the best nursing school tools that I can use beyond graduation! "I only wish I found this book at the beginning of my nursing school experience and not towards the end. Finally a useful book that tells us what to do, what we can do, and prioritizes everything. I think it wouldn't have taken me 6 hours to complete a Care Plan/Map had I found this gem sooner. I'm even going to recommend it to my school to suggest students purchase it."--Angela D., Online Reviewer Love this Book!"I'm a nursing student, and for all y'all nursing professions, you need to have some form of this book. In semesters past, a friend of mine had a later edition, and the information was incredible. This book is really a must-have when making care plans or wanting to learn more about what interventions you can do for your patient. Reasonable for price."--Felicia M., Online Reviewer New & Updated! The latest diagnoses and updated interventions from NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2021-2023, 12th Edition, including 46 new diagnoses and 67 revised diagnoses, the most current NANDA-I terminology, and labels from NIC and NOC that link content to nursing diagnosis, and statistic data Revised! Streamlined preface that focuses on how to use the book Alphabetized listing of nursing diagnoses from NANDA-I 2021-2023, covering more than 400 diseases/disorders Actions/interventions uniquely organized by priority with selected rationales. Icons within the prioritized interventions for acute care, collaboration, community/home care/cultural considerations, diagnostic studies, medications, and lifespan considerations. NIC and NOC labels at the end of each diagnosis Defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively. Documentation section that focuses on the other steps of the nursing process, reminding students of the importance and necessity of recording each step. Index with hundreds of diseases/disorders with prioritized associated nursing diagnoses Detachable, laminated, pocket-minder bookmark on the inside back cover
Call Number: RT 48.6 .D64 2022ISBN: 9781719643078Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Potter and Perry's Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing by
Get the solid foundation you need to practise nursing in Canada! Potter & Perry''s Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition covers the nursing concepts, knowledge, research, and skills that are essential to professional nursing practice in Canada. The text''s full-colour, easy-to-use approach addresses the entire scope of nursing care, reflecting Canadian standards, culture, and the latest in evidence-informed care. New to this edition are real-life case studies and a new chapter on practical nursing in Canada. Based on Potter & Perry''s respected Fundamentals text and adapted and edited by a team of Canadian nursing experts led by Barbara J. Astle and Wendy Duggleby, this book ensures that you understand Canada''s health care system and health care issues as well as national nursing practice guidelines. More than 50 nursing skills are presented in a clear, two-column format that includes steps and rationales to help you learn how and why each skill is performed. The five-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for care, and is demonstrated in more than 20 care plans. Nursing care plans help you understand the relationship between assessment findings and nursing diagnoses, the identification of goals and outcomes, the selection of interventions, and the process for evaluating care. Planning sections help nurses plan and prioritize care by emphasizing Goals and Outcomes, Setting Priorities, and Teamwork and Collaboration. More than 20 concept maps show care planning for clients with multiple nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Model in each clinical chapter shows you how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to provide the best care for patients. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Exercises help you to apply essential content. Coverage of interprofessional collaboration includes a focus on patient-centered care, Indigenous peoples'' health referencing the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) Report, the CNA Code of Ethics, and Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) legislation. Evidence-Informed Practice boxes provide examples of recent state-of-the-science guidelines for nursing practice. Research Highlight boxes provide abstracts of current nursing research studies and explain the implications for daily practice. Patient Teaching boxes highlight what and how to teach patients, and how to evaluate learning. Learning objectives, key concepts, and key terms in each chapter summarize important content for more efficient review and study. Online glossary provides quick access to definitions for all key terms. NEW! Up-to-date content includes Canadian statistics, research, references and resources, guidelines including the 2019 Canada''s Food Guide, and 2020 Canadian Adult Obesity Clinical Practice Guidelines, assessment and screening tools, and topics such as Bill C-45 (the Cannabis Act), PICOT, COVID-19, and pandemic preparedness. NEW! UNIQUE! Real-life case studies include review questions, allowing you to critically apply what you have learned to the nursing role and to the implementation of care. NEW! Practical Nursing in Canada chapter is added to this edition. NEW! Revised chapters include an introduction to licensure examinations in Canada for RNs (NGN-RN®) and CPNRE® and REx-PN® for PNs, as well as an explanation of the NCSBN Clinical Judgement Model. NEW photos capture the latest updates in Canadian nursing skills and equipment and show how to perform nursing techniques. Expanded content is included throughout the text on health disparities, vulnerability, intersectionality, and social determinants of health. NEW! Customized tools - both in the text and on the Evolve website - encourage the development of clinical reasoning and judgement, helping you succeed on the Next Generation NCLEX®, REx-PN®, and CPNRE®. NEW! NGN-RN® book-specific case studies are provided on Evolve.
Call Number: RT41 .P68 2024ISBN: 9780323870658Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment by
Prepare for the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Exam (NGN) and gain the clinical judgment skills you need to manage patient care safely and effectively! Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment: Practice Exercises for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 5th Edition is the first and the most popular NCLEX-RN Exam review book focused exclusively on building management-of-care clinical judgment skills. What's more, this bestselling review is now enhanced for the NGN with new NGN-style questions! Beginning with concepts relating to prioritization, delegation, and assignment decisions, the workbook guides you through patient care scenarios and exercises progressing from simple to complex. All of the book's questions are provided in an interactive online format on the Evolve website in tests that simulate the latest NCLEX-RN Exam. Written by a team of noted educators led by Linda A. LaCharity, this review prepares you for success on the NGN and in clinical practice like no other! Management-of-care focus addresses the emphasis on prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment in the NCLEX-RN® Examination. Three-part organization first establishes foundational knowledge and then provides exercises with scenarios of increasing difficulty to help you build confidence in your prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills. Part One: Introduction provides a concise foundation and practical guidelines for making prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment decisions. Part Two: Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment in Common Health Scenarios provides practice in applying the principles you've learned to relatively straightforward health scenarios involving single patients or simple patient assignments. Part 3: Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment in Complex Health Scenarios includes unfolding cases involving patients with progressively more complicated health problems or challenging assignment issues, demonstrating the progression of typical health scenarios and helping you learn to "think like a nurse." Answer keys follow each chapter and provide the correct answer plus a detailed rationale. Practice quizzes on the Evolve website include all of the book's questions in an interactive format that allows you to create a virtually unlimited number of practice sessions or tests in Study Mode or Exam Mode. NEW and UNIQUE! Updated question formats prepare you to succeed on the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Examination (NGN) by including the latest item types and highlighting each with a distinctive icon. NEW and UNIQUE! Next-Generation NCLEX Questions chapter includes only NGN-style questions to help you focus your study time on these new question formats and optimize your chances for success on the NGN. NEW! Dozens of additional questions and answers provide more review and practice for the increasingly challenging NCLEX-RN Exam. NEW! Updated content throughout matches the latest evidence-based guidelines and treatment protocols.
Call Number: RT55 .L33 2021ISBN: 9780323683166Publication Date: 2021-05-17
Schlossberg's Clinical Infectious Disease by
Clinical Infectious Disease is the only comprehensive single-volume reference on clinical infectious disease for the busy medical practitioner. Now in its third edition, Clinical Infectious Disease provides rapid access to a practical overview of clinical infectious disease topics such as the susceptible host and nosocomial infection. Organized in topically relevant sections for ease of use and supported by full-color illustrations, this volume focuses on differential diagnosis, focused testing, and practical empiric and specific therapeutics in clinical infectious disease. It also features current research on medical microbiology, antimicrobial stewardship, and evolving treatments for COVID-19. Authoritative and accessible, Clinical Infectious Disease remains the "go to" desktop reference for daily clinical infectious disease problems.
Call Number: RA643 .C562 2022ISBN: 9780190888367Publication Date: 2022-02-18
Sole’s introduction to critical care nursing by Call Number: RT120.I5 I583 2025ISBN: 9780443110368Publication Date: 2025
Yoder-Wise’s leading and managing in Canadian nursing by Call Number: RT89 .L42 2025ISBN: 9780323872843Publication Date: 2025
Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by
Get the vital concepts, data, and how-to on medical-surgical nursing with the newly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 4th Edition . This fun-but-informative guide uses colorful drawings and diagrams to demonstrate the mechanisms and clinical indications of the most common disorders found in each body system--followed by clear-cut direction on assessments, interventions, and evidence-based treatments. An ideal support to class materials and NCLEX ® preparation, this is also the perfect on-the-spot refresher for nurses in every kind of medical-surgical practice. NEW real-world guidance from "Nurse Joy" and "Nurse Jake"--expert tips and insights for medical-surgical nursing situations NEW quick-scan format with concise, easy-to-remember bulleted content Hundreds of colorful drawings, charts, and diagrams illustrating vital points Chapters covering disorders by body system , including cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrine, renal and urologic, reproductive, and musculoskeletal Current data and best practices on assessing and treating common disorders, including: Anatomy, etiology, and physiology Health Physical assessments Diagnostic testing Current NANDA International nursing diagnosis guidelines Special chapter features: A closer look - Illustrations that explain anatomy, physiology, and complex pathways Education edge - Patient teaching tips Just the facts - Brief outline of content at the start of every chapter What do I do? - Steps to take in emergency situations Weighing the evidence - Evidence-based practice pointers that support nursing actions Memory jogger - Memory tricks that help you remember key concepts and treatments Quick quiz - End-of-chapter riddles and multiple-choice questions to help you retain vital content Step-by-step, expert guidance on vital skills, with real-life patient scenarios for areas including: Cancer, obesity, and gerontology care End-of-life care Fluids and electrolytes Acid-base balance Pain management Blood transfusion reactions Classifying and treating heart failure Use of CT scans, MRIs, and x-rays for each body system Preoperative care Surgical processes Online supplementary materials: 1,000 NCLEX®-style questions in current NCLEX® exam format NCLEX® preparation tutorials Clinical simulation case studies Test-taking strategies and study techniques
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781975177539Publication Date: 2023- Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Call Number: eBook (3 Users)ISBN: 9780443121210Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by
Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323551106Publication Date: 2019-06-27
NCLEX-RN for Dummies with Online Practice Tests by
Ace the NCLEX-RN exam with this comprehensive guide The rigorous NCLEX-RN nursing exam can be painful--and many don't pass on the initial attempt. So why not beat the odds and drastically improve your chances of acing your first time with NCLEX-RN For Dummies, 2nd Edition with Online Practice? This fully updated and revised edition is tracked to the latest NCLEX-RN exam, and comes complete with deep content review, study tips, and top test-taking strategies. You also get access to online flashcards and two practice exams with answer explanations to flesh out your technique and study. Practice with hundreds of test questions Go online for vocabulary flashcards and practice exams Find full coverage of the medical, surgical, pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetric subjects schools require for the test Written by an instructor with 38 years of hands-on nursing practice under her belt, this popular, plain-English exam prep is best-in-class and will deliver the results you want--the first time.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119692805Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy by
Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®. Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols: NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781975177553Publication Date: 2022-05-19
- Boundless Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, including titles for teens and children. Access is restricted to SLC students, faculty and staff. Note that all titles are 'one-copy, one-user' titles, each with a 3-week checkout/loan period. Please return titles you are done with before that time so that other users may check them out.
Notes on Nursing: What It Is, and What It Is Not by Florence Nightingale by
Notes on Nursing: What it is and What it is Not is a book first published by Florence Nightingale in 1859. A 76-page volume with 3 page appendix published by Harrison of Pall Mall, it was intended to give hints on nursing to those entrusted with the health of others. Florence Nightingale stressed that it was not meant to be a comprehensive guide from which to teach one's self to be a nurse but to help in the practice of treating others. A True Classic for all Nurses, Medical Professionals, and Feminists!
ISBN: 9781679588280Publication Date: 2020-01-08
- Clinical Nursing Skills Collection (2021)You must be logged in to SLC.me to view these videos. Updated from the 2009 Mosby's nursing Skills 4th edition; Basic, Intermediate, and Advanced.
- Films on Demand Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first.
- Math Vitals for Nurses (SERIES 6 Titles)
This series explains basic math for healthcare professionals, teaching nurses how to perform the vital conversions and calculations that they need in their day-to-day work in patient care. It discusses dosage calculation methods and takes a look at the use of graphs and charts in the healthcare environment
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
| Subject | Call Number |
|
Psychology (psychological testing, psychotropic drugs and other substances, developmental psychology, etc.) |
BF |
|
Medicine (history of medicine, medical education, etc.) |
R |
|
Gynecology and obstetrics (operative, pregnancy, labor, material care, etc.) |
RG |
|
Pharmacology (prescribing, drug guides, therapies, etc.) |
RM |
|
Nursing (medical-surgical nursing, NCLEX review, etc.) |
RT |
- Literature Search TemplateLibrary version, example only, do not use.
To access the video below, please ensure you are logged into SLC.me, then refresh this page.
- Citation and Research Hub (Learning Portal) In this hub you will find tips on effective search and critical evaluation techniques, as well as information specific to citing and academic integrity.
- Finding Evidence-based Information for Health Sciences Students Health sciences research in the context of this hub refers to finding and using information found in journal articles, books, and other sources. This type of health sciences research requires skills and tools that are specific to the field. This hub will help you navigate the process of finding evidence-based health sciences information. It will help you plan your search, use appropriate databases to find information, evaluate information, and write an academic paper. It also includes a glossary of important terms.