Libraries and Learning Centres: About the Library: Collection Development

Demand-Driven Acquisition

Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) is a self-service model of library purchasing. SLC students, faculty, and staff can request readily available titles from within library collections. Access to these titles is usually available within 24 hours.

ProQuest College Complete eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access over 50,000 full-text ebooks for college programs. Subject areas covered include: accounting, business, career development and guidance, computers, criminology, engineering and technology, nursing and allied health, human resources, industrial management, project management, vocational education. New - view and request more than 1 million eBooks.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS’s, and e-reserves, and durable URLs: these uses are only permitted “so long as each work is retrieved directly from the on-line database system in a manner that causes a ‘hit’ to be registered on the on-line system for each and every print or digital copy” (clause 3.8).
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
The full kanopy website, we have 57 videos available. Faculty may request titles.
If experiencing issues, please use these screenshots as a guide and follow the YELLOW highlighted buttons as they appear on the Kanopy website:
1) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k1.png
2) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k2.png
3) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k3.png

"[...] the following uses are Authorized Uses of the Products and Institution Content: (1) adding videos into the LMS or other electronic learning environments - either by embedding the video or linking; (2) displaying videos or creating and printing screenshots of videos for the purposes of internal marketing, testing, or training."

Collection Development/Library Purchases

Library Purchase Request Form

The library welcomes suggestions and recommendations for additions to the collections tricampus from students, faculty, employees and the community.

The library primarily purchases resources to support the college curriculum but also offers general interest and leisure materials in its collection. We work with a variety of vendors to add titles that meet selection criteria:

Print Books
eBooks
Audio Books
Streaming Video

Exceptions

Generally, the library does not add the following items to the collection. Please contact us to find out more.

Apple/Kindle/Netflix content licensed for personal use
Print Journals and Magazines
Licensed Business Cases (eg. Harvard Business Review cases)
Content available through our partnership with Laurentian University
Content available through local public libraries

Are you looking for a journal article that's not available in the SLC databases? Email details to ill@sl.on.ca and we will request from our network of library partners on your behalf. There is no charge for Resource Sharing services for SLC students, faculty, and staff.