Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Advancing Assessment for Student Success by
This book is about student success and how to support and improve it. It takes as its point of departure that we--as faculty, assessment directors, student affairs professionals, and staff--reflect together in a purposeful and informed way about how our teaching, curricula, the co-curriculum, and assessment work in concert to support and improve student learning and success. It also requires that we do so in collaboration with our colleagues and our students for the rich insights that we gain from them. Conversational in style, this book offers a wide variety of illustrations of how your peers are putting assessment into practice in ways that are meaningful to them and their institutions, and that lead to improved student learning. The authors provide rich guidance for activities ranging from everyday classroom teaching and assessment to using assessment to improve programs and entire institutions. The authors envisage individual faculty at four-year institutions and community colleges as their main audience, whether those faculty are focused on their own classes or support their colleagues through leadership roles in assessment. If you plan to remain focused on your own courses and students, you will find that those sections of this book will help you better understand why and how assessment leaders do what they do, which in turn will make your participation in assessment more engaging and increase your expertise in facilitating student learning. Because the authors also aim to strengthen connections between the curriculum and co-curriculum and include examples of co-curricular assessment, student affairs professionals and staff interested in doing the same will also find ideas in this book relevant to their work. Opening with a chapter on equity in assessment practice, so critical to learning from and benefitting our diverse students, the authors guide you through the development and use of learning outcomes, the design of assignments with attention to clear prompts and rubrics, and the achievement of alignment and coherence in pedagogy, curriculum, and assessment to better support student engagement, achievement and success. The chapter on using student evidence for improvement offers support, resources, and recommendations for doing so, and demonstrates exciting uses of student wisdom. The book concludes by emphasizing the importance of reflection in assessment practices--offering powerful examples and strategies for professional development--and by describing appropriate, creative, and effective approaches for communicating assessment information with attention to purpose and audience.
Call Number: LB 2822.75 .D75 2021ISBN: 9781620368718Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Assessment by Design by
Written with faculty in mind, Assessment by Designis a practical resource that will also be useful to student affairs staff and administrators dedicated to using assessment to improve learning in curricular and co-curricular settings. This book presents the Cycle of Assessment as a framework that supports assessment in service of improving student learning. The framework consists of the following stages: Developing Your Assessment Question; Planning Decisions to Consider; Collecting and Scoring the Data; Analyzing and Discussing Assessment Data; and Report and Act on Assessment Findings. After an introductory chapter that provides an overview of the cycle, the book devotes a chapter to each stage of the cycle. After a concluding chapter, four appendices include helpful rubrics, forms, and exercises. This book uses Action Research ideas to inform local classroom and institutional practices. While the theoretical framework is explained, each part follows through by offering immediate application: Hands-on activities for the readers to perform that directly support the practice of assessment in context, allowing readers to consider and apply the framework in their own programs, classes, and activities. The book emerged from a workshop the author developed and led for many years in both face-to-face and online settings while she was Director of Assessment, Evaluation and Institutional Outcomes at Johnson County Community College (JCCC). Initially developed for JCCC faculty, it was later offered to participants from a variety of schools around the country, 4-year as well as 2-year, and private as well as public.
Call Number: LB 2331.63 .B38 2023ISBN: 9781642675573Publication Date: 2023-02-28
Innovative Assessment in Higher Education by
Contextualising why assessment is still the single most important factor affecting student learning in higher education, this second edition of Innovative Assessment in Higher Education: A Handbook for Academic Practitioners offers a critical discourse about the value of assessment for learning alongside practical suggestions about how to enhance the student experience of assessment and feedback. With 17 new chapters this edition: contextualises assessment within the current higher education landscape; explores how student, parent and government expectations impact on assessment design; presents case studies on how to develop, incorporate and assess employability skills; reviews how technology and social media can be used to enhance assessment and feedback; provides examples and critical review of the use and development of feedback practices and how to assess professional, creative and performance-based subjects; offers guidance on how to develop assessment that is inclusive and enables all students to advance their potential. Bridging the gap between theory and the practical elements of assessment, Innovative Assessment in Higher Education: A Handbook for Academic Practitioners is an essential resource for busy academics looking to make a tangible difference to their academic practice and their students' learning. This practical and accessible guide will aid both new and more experienced practitioners looking to learn more about how and why assessment in higher education can make such a difference to student learning. e assessment and feedback; provides examples and critical review of the use and development of feedback practices and how to assess professional, creative and performance-based subjects; offers guidance on how to develop assessment that is inclusive and enables all students to advance their potential. Bridging the gap between theory and the practical elements of assessment, Innovative Assessment in Higher Education: A Handbook for Academic Practitioners is an essential resource for busy academics looking to make a tangible difference to their academic practice and their students' learning. This practical and accessible guide will aid both new and more experienced practitioners looking to learn more about how and why assessment in higher education can make such a difference to student learning.
Call Number: LB 2367 .G7 I56 2019ISBN: 9781138581197Publication Date: 2019-04-17
Navigating Tensions and Transitions in Higher Education by
With a focus on skills development, this book provides guidance on how to navigate transitions between career stages in higher education and how to maintain wellbeing in the process. In a fast-paced and ever-changing environment, a career path in higher education can demand rapid transition. This book provides comprehensive coverage of the kinds of transitions one may face in higher education and how to navigate them successfully while focusing on wellbeing and self-care. Centred around first-person accounts, the chapters illustrate the key issues around transitions, their impacts and provide suggestions for how to adapt through self-care. The authors offer insights from their own personal experiences, enabling the reader to develop an action plan of their own, or to share with and guide students and early career mentees. The tools and strategies outlined in the book make up a library of resources that can be called upon at any stage of the journey. Written with all career stages in mind, this book will be an essential resource for new and experienced researchers alike.
Call Number: LB2806 .H327 2025ISBN: 9781032701363Publication Date: 2024-09-30
The Online Teaching Survival Guide by
A timely update to the best-selling, practical, and comprehensive guide to online teaching The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. This Third Edition is a practical resource for educators learning to navigate the online teaching sector. It presents a framework of simple, research-grounded instructional strategies that work for any online or blended course. This new edition is enhanced with hints on integrating problem-solving strategies, assessment strategies, student independence, collaboration, synchronous strategies, and building metacognitive skills. This book also reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes. New and experienced online teachers alike will appreciate this book's exploration of essential technologies, course management techniques, social presence, community building, discussion and questioning techniques, assessment, debriefing, and more. With more and more classes being offered online, this book provides a valuable resource for taking your course to the next level. Understand the technology used in online teaching and discover how you can make the most of advanced features in the tech you use Learn specialized pedagogical tips and practices that will make the shift to online teaching smoother for you and your students Examine new research on cognition and learning, and see how you can apply these research findings your day-to-day Adopt a clear framework of instructional strategies that will work in any online or blended setting Learn how to make the most of your synchronous online class meetings using flipped model techniques integrated with asynchronous conversation Recently, schools across the globe have experienced a shift to online courses and teaching. The theories and techniques of synchronous virtual online teaching are vastly different from traditional educational pedagogy. You can overcome the learning curve with this theory-based, hands-on guide.
Call Number: LB 1044.87 .B64 2021ISBN: 9781119765004Publication Date: 2021-06-09
Planning Programs for Adult Learners by
Strengthen your adult education program planning with this essential guide Planning Programs for Adult Learners: A Practical Guide, 4th Edition is an interactive, practical, and essential guide for anyone involved with planning programs for adult learners. Containing extensive updates, refinements, and revisions to this celebrated book, this edition prepares those charged with planning programs for adult learners across a wide variety of settings. Spanning a variety of crucial subjects, this book will teach readers how to: Plan, organize, and complete other administrative tasks with helpful templates and practical guides Focus on challenges of displacement, climate change, economic dislocation, and inequality Plan programs using current and emerging digital delivery tools and techniques including virtual and augmented reality Planning Programs for Adult Learners provides an international perspective and includes globally relevant examples and research that will inform and transform your program planning process. Perfect for adult educators and participants in continuing education programs for adults, the book will also be illuminating for graduate students in fields including education, nursing, human resource development, and more.
Call Number: LC 5225 .A34 C34 2021ISBN: 9781119577409Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Active Learning Strategies in Higher Education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1787149447Publication Date: 2018-04-06
Applying Theory to Educational Research by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119950851Publication Date: 2011-10-07
Applying the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Beyond the Individual Classroom by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0253042852Publication Date: 2019-08-29
Classroom Assessment Essentials by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781416632528Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Classroom Assessment Techniques by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119860181Publication Date: 2024-06-11
The Contemplative Mind in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0253033357Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Developing Faculty Learning Communities at Two-Year Colleges by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781579228453Publication Date: 2013-03-11
The Effective Facilitator's Handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781416631699Publication Date: 2023-01-24
Reconceptualizing Faculty Development in Service-Learning/Community Engagement by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1620366142Publication Date: 2018-09-04
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198821212Publication Date: 2018-07-03
- Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and LearningAn open access online journal dedicated to publishing quality peer-reviewed articles and essays in French and English that address teaching and learning interests of universities and colleges across Canada.
- The Chronicle of Higher EducationIn addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, which are not archived
- Innovations in education and teaching internationalPromotes innovation and good practice in higher education and post-school education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices.
- Innovative higher educationFeatures research on current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action for higher education institutions, including innovations at the organization and policy level as well as innovations that improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in higher education. It also focuses on innovative approaches to teaching and learning and the potential influence of such innovations on students and faculty.
- Journal of faculty developmentPublishes research and scholarship on innovation in faculty development that is relevant for administrators, faculty members, and faculty development professionals.
- New directions for teaching and learningA unique blend of theory, research, and practice to leaders in postsecondary education
- Open Scholarship of Teaching and LearningThe journal aims to publish work in the area of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in all areas of higher education.
- Scholarship of teaching and learning in psychologyFeatures teacher-ready reviews of current research and contemporary theories as well as empirical research designed to foster systematic intentional changes to improve teaching and learning outcomes.
- Studies in higher educationA leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective
- Teaching & learning inquiryFeatures original research and commentary on the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education.
- Teaching in higher educationSeeks to develop a discourse of teaching and learning which transcends disciplinary boundaries and specialisms whilst drawing upon the rigour of a range of disciplines. It takes a view of learning which entails concepts of transformation and critique in relation to dominant traditions and visions
- Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning JournalA forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- Faculty FocusA free newsletter and website, dedicated to teachers and instructors. Faculty Focus provides insight into what’s working (and what’s not) for in-person classrooms, online classrooms, and hybrid classrooms.
- International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and LearningThe International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Inc. serves faculty members, staff, and students who care about teaching and learning as serious intellectual work. Through building intellectual and collaborative infrastructure, the Society supports the associational life that fosters scholarly work about teaching and learning.
- POD NetworkNorth America’s largest educational development community
- Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Annotated Literature DatabaseAn annotated literature resource for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) with helpful summaries of key literature that will support your practice or research in postsecondary teaching and learning.
- Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher EducationSTLHE is a diverse and vibrant community composed of those committed to excellence in teaching and learning in higher education. The Society supports the collaboration of educators and students in sharing expertise, resources, and innovative ideas to develop skills and knowledge that enhance teaching and learning in classrooms, labs, and institutions across Canada
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
Presentation recordings are available on MS Stream. Slides from past workshops: