Assessment and Evaluation
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
- American Journal of EvaluationPublishes original papers about the methods, theory, practice, and findings of evaluation.
- Assessment and evaluation in higher educationAssessment & Evaluation in Higher Education is an established international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education. Its purpose is to advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development
- Assessment UpdateCovers the latest developments in the rapidly evolving area of higher education assessment. Assessment Update offers all academic leaders up-to-date information and practical advice on conducting assessments in a range of areas, including student learning and outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs and curricula, student services, and overall institutional functioning.
- Educational and psychological measurementEducational and Psychological Measurement (EPM) publishes referred scholarly work from all academic disciplines interested in the study of measurement theory, problems, and issues. Theoretical articles address new developments and techniques, and applied articles deal with innovation applications.
- Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and AccountabilityInvestigates and discusses the functions, theories, values, and practices of assessment, evaluation, and accountability as they impact schools, higher education, and educational systems, and looks further to their effects on homes and communities.
- Educational Evaluation and Policy AnalysisMultidisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly articles of theoretical, methodological, or policy interest to those engaged in educational policy analysis, evaluation, and decision making.
- International journal of testingThe International Journal of Testing (IJT) is dedicated to the advancement of theory, research, and practice in the area of testing and assessment in psychology, education, counseling, organizational behavior, human resource management, and related disciplines. IJT publishes original articles addressing theoretical issues, methodological approaches, and empirical research, as well as integrative and interdisciplinary reviews of testing-related topics and reports of current testing practices. All papers are peer-reviewed and are of interest to an international audience.
- Intersection: A Journal at the Intersection of Assessment and LearningThe official journal of f the Associations for the Assessment of Learning in Higher Education. It provides scholarship and professional development in assessment for learning.
- Journal of psychoeducational assessmentJournal of Psychoeducational Assessment (JPA) provides psychologists current information on psychological and educational assessment practices and instrumentation. JPA is known internationally for quality of assessment-related research, theory and position papers, practice applications, and book and test reviews.
- Practical Assessment, Research and EvaluationAn online journal supported by volunteer efforts. its purpose is to provide access to referred articles that can have a positive impact on assessment research, evaluation, and teaching practice.
- Research and Practice in AssessmentAn online journal dedicated to the advancement of scholarly discussion between researchers and practitioners in the field of student learning outcomes assessment in higher education
- Studies in educational evaluationStudies in Educational Evaluation publishes original reports of evaluation studies.
Four types of articles are published by the journal:
(a) Empirical evaluation studies representing assessment and evaluation practice in educational systems around the world;
(b) Empirical studies related to issues involved in the evaluation of educational programs, educational institutions, educational personnel and student assessment;
(c) Systematic syntheses, meta-analyses or qualitative reviews of studies in the field of educational evaluation and assessment;
(d) Articles summarizing the state-of-the-art concerning specific topics in evaluation in general or in a particular country or group of countries.
- On AssessmentAn exploration of emerging approaches to assessment for college educators
- Growing SuccessA guide to assessment, evaluation, and reporting in Ontario schools
- The classroom assessment standards for preK-12 TeachersA resource that guides instructors of all levels, backgrounds, and teaching contexts to reflect on the evolving needs of students, and to implement UDL principles to create more supportive, inclusive, and accessible learning environments for all.
- Standards for Educational and Psychological TestingProvides criteria for the development and evaluation of tests and testing practices and provides guidelines for assessing the validity of interpretations of test scores for the intended test uses.
- Fostering feedback dialogues A Faculty GuideSt Lawrence College School of Contemporary Teaching and Learning guide to feedback.
- Learning Outcomes Assessment: A practitioner's handbookA resource for faculty, staff, academic leaders, and educational developers engaged in program and course design/review, and the assessment of program level learning outcomes for program improvement.
- Alignment and Backwards DesignA video explanation of Alignment and Backward Design as it relates to course design.
- A guide to Basic Evaluation in Higher EducationA guide to assist practitioners to gain confidence in using basic forms of evaluations effectively in order to provide the fullest opportunities for all students to succeed.
- National Institute for Learning Outcomes AssessmentThe National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) is a research and resource-development organization, dedicated to documenting, advocating, and facilitating the systematic use of learning outcomes assessment to improve student learning.
Assessment, Evaluation, and Accountability in Adult Education by ISBN: 9781620368510Publication Date: 2020-07-09This book is intended to help practitioners in adult education become better informed about assessment, evaluation, and accountability as these are critical functions of administering and running adult education programs.
Authentic Assessment and Evaluation Approaches and Practices in a Digital Era by ISBN: 9789004501560Publication Date: 2021-09-09In this book, 37 international academics illustrate how authentic assessment is an effective measure of intellectual achievement as it requires the demonstration of deep understanding and complex problem solving through the performance of exemplary tasks. By exploring the concept of authentic assessment in both tertiary and school education, the authors in these chapters argue that authentic assessment is not only the measurement of significant intellectual accomplishments but also an important pedagogical structure.
Contemporary Perspectives on Research in Educational Assessment (hc) by ISBN: 9781641139380Publication Date: 2020-01-02Assessment and evaluation have always been an integral part of educational process. Quality and purposeful assessment can assist in students' learning and their achievement. While there has been a rapid growth in international, standardized student assessments in the past few decades, a large number of education systems participating in these assessments are now focusing their attention on developing new national, within-country assessments to evaluate educational standards and to modify the curriculum to better suit to the demands of the 21st century.
Assessment for Experiential Learning by ISBN: 9781000634600Publication Date: 2022-09-29This book explores the challenges in assessing experiential learning, deepens our understanding, and inspires readers to think critically about the purpose of assessment in experiential learning.
Giving Students a Say by ISBN: 1416629823Publication Date: 2021-01-26Assessment is an essential part of teaching and learning, but too often it leads to misleading conclusions--sometimes with dire consequences for students. How can educators improve assessment practices so that the results are accurate, meaningful, informative, and fair? Educator and best-selling author Myron Dueck draws from his firsthand experience and his work with districts around the world to provide a simple but profound answer: put student voice and choice at the center of the process.
We Have a Rubric for That by ISBN: 9780996140478Publication Date: 2019-01-23This book, 'We Have a Rubric for That: The VALUE Approach to Assessment,' explores the Valid Assessment of Learning in Undergraduate Education (VALUE) initiative developed by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AACU). It provides a comprehensive analysis of the VALUE methodology as an alternative to standardized tests for assessing student learning outcomes. The book highlights the development, application, and validity of VALUE rubrics, which focus on authentic student work to guide educational improvement. The authors advocate for a paradigm shift in education assessment, emphasizing the importance of faculty involvement and the use of diverse artifacts of student work. The intended audience includes educational professionals, assessment directors, and faculty members interested in enhancing educational quality and equity.
Assessment Strategies for Online Learning by ISBN: 9781771992329Publication Date: 2018-08-01In this book practitioners will find not only an indispensable introduction to new forms of assessment but also a number of best practices as described by experienced educators.
