Universal Design for Learning
- Universal design for learning (Udl) for inclusion, diversity, equity, and accessibility(Idea)A resource for post-secondary educators to help them understand their responsibilities under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). It will help instructors and others to incorporate principles of UDL and considerations of EDI and Indigenisation in their learning environments.
- Universal design for learning: One small stepA learning resource to help faculty and instructors reshape their teaching practices by using the principles and approaches of UDL.
- Addressing evolving needs with universal design for learningA resource that guides instructors of all levels, backgrounds, and teaching contexts to reflect on the evolving needs of students, and to implement UDL principles to create more supportive, inclusive, and accessible learning environments for all.
- UDL on campusA collection of resources geared towards multiple stakeholders within postsecondary institutions, including instructional designers, faculty, policy makers, and administrators. The site's purpose is to offer an understanding of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) in higher education and contains four sections: 1) UDL in Higher Education, 2) Course Design, 3) Media and Materials, and 4) Accessibility and Policy.
- Blended Learning in Schools: A Universal Design ApproachResources created to help instructors better understand how to implement UDL in the classroom
- UDL-Universe: A Comprehensive Faculty Development GuideA resource designed to be useful for individual inquiries related to small UDL topics, issues, or problems, and scalable to larger faculty development efforts (e.g., Faculty Learning Communities)
- Universal Design for LearningA tutorial where participants are empowered to create a classroom culture that supports students with diverse learning needs and provides equal opportunity for all students to the greatest extent possible.
- Universal Design for Learning: Designing Learning Experiences That Engage and Challenge All StudentsExamines the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) framework and discusses how educators can apply UDL to proactively design learning experiences that are flexible enough to challenge and engage all students and that promote learner agency
- Universal Design for LearningIncludes information for educators, implementation ideas, and useful resources.
- Equity-minded course review checklistA short course review checklist for college-level courses, this checklist integrates strategies for Universal Design for Learning, Culturally Responsive Teaching, and Open Pedagogy.
- Universal Design for Learning: A Rubric for Evaluating Your Course SyllabusA rubric designed to help instructors evaluate their course syllabus
Improving inclusive education through universal design for learning by ISBN: 3030806588Publication Date: 2021This open access international scientific study provides an analysis of how the educational strategy of Universal Design for Learning can stimulate the process of inclusive education in different educational-cultural contexts and different areas of the educational system.
Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone by ISBN: 9781946684608Publication Date: 2018-09-30Advocates for the rights of people with disabilities have worked hard to make universal design in the built environment "just part of what we do." We no longer see curb cuts, for instance, as accommodations for people with disabilities, but perceive their usefulness every time we ride our bikes or push our strollers through crosswalks. This is also a perfect model for Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a framework grounded in the neuroscience of why, what, and how people learn. Tobin and Behling show that, although it is often associated with students with disabilities, UDL can be profitably broadened toward a larger ease-of-use and general diversity framework.
Design and Deliver by ISBN: 1681254115Publication Date: 2021-03-10Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is the best way to teach all students effectively and break down barriers to learning--but how can busy teachers get started with UDL right now? Find the answers in the second edition of this bestselling, teacher-trusted primer, created by internationally recognized UDL expert Loui Lord Nelson.
Improving Inclusive Education Through Universal Design for Learning by ISBN: 9783030806576Publication Date: 2021-09-11This open access international scientific study provides an analysis of how the educational strategy of Universal Design for Learning can stimulate the process of inclusive education in different educational-cultural contexts and different areas of the educational system. The findings of the research deepen the conception of inclusive education and present an analysis of factors that are significant for developing the educational system as well as providing evidence-based recommendations for educational practice.
Meeting the Teaching and Learning Challenges in 21st Century Higher Education: Universal Design by ISBN: 9781527560154Publication Date: 2020Universal design has traditionally focused on learning spaces--that is, the physical buildings and areas that support teaching and learning. This book takes a broad interpretation of this concept to include a specific focus on teaching and learning practice in higher education
The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education by ISBN: 9780429521584Publication Date: 2020-07-28The movement away from teacher-centered toward student-centered learning and teaching (SCLT) in higher education has intensified in recent decades. Yet in spite of its widespread use in literature and policy documents, SCLT remains somewhat poorly defined, under-researched and often misinterpreted. Against this backdrop, The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education offers an original, comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the fundamentals of SCLT and its discussion and applications in policy and practice.
- Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and LearningAn open access online journal dedicated to publishing quality peer-reviewed articles and essays in French and English that address teaching and learning interests of universities and colleges across Canada.
- The Chronicle of Higher EducationIn addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, which are not archived
- Education SciencesAims to address current issues in education. Topics include educational administration and management, educational philosophy and theory of education, educational history, educational policy, curriculum studies, educational technology and educational technology systems, learning and teaching, pedagogies, the sociology of education, special education, teacher education, and student testing and evaluation.
- Innovations in education and teaching internationalPromotes innovation and good practice in higher education and post-school education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices.
- Innovative higher educationFeatures research on current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action for higher education institutions, including innovations at the organization and policy level as well as innovations that improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in higher education. It also focuses on innovative approaches to teaching and learning and the potential influence of such innovations on students and faculty.
- Journal of faculty developmentPublishes research and scholarship on innovation in faculty development that is relevant for administrators, faculty members, and faculty development professionals.
- Learning Disability QuarterlyResearch-based articles with an applied focus related to the field of learning disabilities
- New directions for teaching and learningA unique blend of theory, research, and practice to leaders in postsecondary education
- Open Scholarship of Teaching and LearningThe journal aims to publish work in the area of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in all areas of higher education.
- Remedial and Special EducationRemedial and Special Education (RASE) offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective.
- Scholarship of teaching and learning in psychologyFeatures teacher-ready reviews of current research and contemporary theories as well as empirical research designed to foster systematic intentional changes to improve teaching and learning outcomes.
- Studies in higher educationA leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective
- Teaching & learning inquiryFeatures original research and commentary on the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education.
- Teaching in higher educationSeeks to develop a discourse of teaching and learning which transcends disciplinary boundaries and specialisms whilst drawing upon the rigour of a range of disciplines. It takes a view of learning which entails concepts of transformation and critique in relation to dominant traditions and visions
- Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning JournalA forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- Teaching Online Master ClassA video series about using universal design for learning to improve your online teaching skills.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
Presentation recordings are available on MS Stream. Slides from past workshops: