Indigenous Health Collection
Aboriginal Health in Canada by
Numerous studies, inquiries, and statistics accumulated over the years have demonstrated the poor health status of Aboriginal peoples relative to the Canadian population in general. Aboriginal Health in Canadais about the complex web of physiological, psychological, spiritual, historical, sociological, cultural, economic, and environmental factors that contribute to health and disease patterns among the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. The authors explore the evidence for changes in patterns of health and disease prior to and since European contact, up to the present. They discuss medical systems and the place of medicine within various Aboriginal cultures and trace the relationship between politics and the organization of health services for Aboriginal people. They also examine popular explanations for Aboriginal health patterns today, and emphasize the need to understand both the historical-cultural context of health issues, as well as the circumstances that give rise to variation in health problems and healing strategies in Aboriginal communities across the country. An overview of Aboriginal peoples in Canada provides a very general background for the non-specialist. Finally, contemporary Aboriginal healing traditions, the issue of self-determination and health care, and current trends in Aboriginal health issues are examined.
Call Number: RA449 .W35 2006ISBN: 9780802085795Publication Date: 2006-07-30
American Indian Health and Nursing by
" A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
Call Number: RT86.54 .A44 2016ISBN: 9780826129840Publication Date: 2015-10-01
A Beginner's Guide to Native American Herbal Medicine by
Improve your well-being with Native American herbal medicine. Native American herbal medicine offers a powerful way to connect with the earth and heal naturally--and with this handbook of Native American herbs, you can learn all about herb uses and their restorative effects. Written by an Indigenous herbalist, this guide shows you how to responsibly use traditional plants to treat anxiety, colds, inflammation, and more. This standout among books about herbs and healing will help you: Learn about a time-honored practice--Discover the origins of Indigenous peoples' herbalism, its traditional and modern uses, and how tools like the medicine wheel teach us about our relationship with the natural world. Identify the essential herbs--Explore the healing properties of medicinal herbs for wellness, from anise hyssop to yerba santa. Make 75 natural remedies--Ease physical and emotional ailments with remedies like Memory Support Tea, Stress-Induced Headache Tincture, and Antibacterial Healing Herb Liniment. Tap into traditional wisdom today with this Native American herbal medicine book for health and well-being.
Call Number: RM666.H33 Q446 2023ISBN: 9798886501278Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Calling our families home : Métis peoples' experience with child welfare by
"This book is dedicated to informing social workers and other helping professionals in how Métis people are affected in the child welfare system. Métis peoples today negotiate a form of displacement that has occurred over generations although most Canadians are unaware of this history. The forced removal of children through child apprehension and adoption has been an integral part of displacement, perpetuating further family disruption and dislocation. There is scant literature on Métis experiences in child welfare systems, no national data is collected on the number of Métis children involved with child welfare systems, and there has never been a national study of these realities. The little research that does exist shows a very troubling picture: the misidentification of Métis children as simply "Aboriginal" or "White," and the mass movement of Métis children outside of their birth communities."-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: HV745.A6 C14 2017ISBN: 9781926476100Publication Date: 2016
A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundle by
With the rise of urban living and the digital age, many North American healers are recognizing that traditional medicinal knowledge must be recorded before being lost with its elders.A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundleis a historic document, including nearly 200 color photos and maps, in that it is the first in which a native healer has agreed to open his medicine bundle to share in writing his repertoire of herbal medicines and where they are found. Providing information on and photos of medicinal plants and where to harvest them, anthropologist David E. Young and botanist Robert D. Rogers chronicle the life, beliefs, and healing practices of Medicine Man Russell Willier in his native Alberta, Canada. Despite being criticized for sharing his knowledge, Willier later found support in other healers as they began to realize the danger that much of their traditional practices could die out with them. With Young and Rogers, Willier offers his practices here for future generations. At once a study and a guide,A Cree Healer and His Medicine Bundletouches on how indigenous healing practices can be used to complement mainstream medicine, improve the treatment of chronic diseases, and lower the cost of healthcare. The authors discuss how mining, agriculture, and forestry are threatening the continued existence of valuable wild medicinal plants and the role of alternative healers in a modern health care system. Sure to be of interest to ethnobotanists, medicine hunters, naturopaths, complementary and alternative health practitioners, ethnologists, anthropologists, and academics, this book will also find an audience with those interested in indigenous cultures and traditions.
Call Number: E99.C88 Y68 2015ISBN: 9781583949030Publication Date: 2015-06-09
Cultural Safety in Trauma-Informed Practice from a First Nations Perspective by
This book provides an accessible resource for conducting culturally safe and trauma-informed practice with First Nations' peoples in Australia. Designed by and for Australian Indigenous peoples, it explores psychological trauma and healing, and the clinical and cultural implications of the impacts of colonization, through an Indigenous lens. It is a companion for anyone who works or will work with our families and communities. The authors recognise trauma at the heart of all Indigenous disadvantage, and explore types of trauma in the context of Indigenous, collective cultures. The chapters take an Indigenous 'Yarning' approach to sharing knowledge, and encourage readers to challenge their unconscious, long-held beliefs and worldviews. Nicole Tujague and Kelleigh Ryan identify the differences between mainstream systems and more holistic Indigenous understandings of social and emotional health and wellbeing and outline a meaningful practice framework for practitioners. They analyse types of complex trauma, including intergenerational, institutional, collective and historical trauma; and discuss the impacts of racism and the concept of 'cultural load'. They also address vicarious, or "compassion" trauma experienced by front line workers and carers; and offer insights into their experience of working with collective healing programs. This book is essential reading for Indigenous practitioners and service providers to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It is also a valuable resource for students likely to work with First Nations' peoples within a broad range of health and social science disciplines.
Call Number: RC552.T7 T85 2023ISBN: 9783031131370Publication Date: 2023-03-13
Decolonizing Data by
Decolonizing Dataexplores how ongoing structures of colonialization negatively impact the well-being of Indigenous peoples and communities across Canada, resulting in persistent health inequalities. In addressing the social dimensions of health, particularly as they affect Indigenous peoples and BIPOC communities, Decolonizing Dataasks, Should these groups be given priority for future health policy considerations? Decolonizing Data provides a deeper understanding of the social dimensions of health as applied to Indigenous peoples, who have been historically underfunded in and excluded from health services, programs, and quality of care; this inequality has most recently been seen during the COVID-19 pandemic. Drawing on both western and Indigenous methodologies, this unique scholarly contribution takes both a sociological perspective and the "two-eyed seeing" approach to research methods. By looking at the ways that everyday research practices contribute to the colonization of health outcomes for Indigenous peoples, Decolonizing Dataexposes the social dimensions of healthcare and offers a careful and respectful reflection on how to "unsettle conversations" about applied social research initiatives for our most vulnerable groups.
Call Number: H62.5.C22 Q56 2022ISBN: 9781487523336Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Decolonizing Methodologies by
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Call Number: GN380 .S65 2022ISBN: 9781350346086Publication Date: 2022-05-05
Decolonizing Research by
From Oceania to North America, indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term 'indigenous storywork' has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of indigenous culture and identity. But such traditions have too often been relegated to the realm of myth and legend, recorded as fragmented distortions, or erased altogether. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship. By bringing together their own indigenous perspectives, and by treating indigenous storywork on its own terms, the contributors illuminate valuable new avenues for research, and show how such reworked scholarship can contribute to the movement for indigenous rights and self-determination.
Call Number: GN 380 .S65 2022ISBN: 9781350348172Publication Date: 2022-04-21
Decolonizing Trauma Work by
In Decolonizing Trauma Work, Renee Linklater explores healing and wellness in Indigenous communities on Turtle Island. Drawing on a decolonizing approach, which puts the "soul wound" of colonialism at the centre, Linklater engages ten Indigenous health care practitioners in a dialogue regarding Indigenous notions of wellness and wholistic health, critiques of psychiatry and psychiatric diagnoses, and Indigenous approaches to helping people through trauma, depression and experiences of parallel and multiple realities. Through stories and strategies that are grounded in Indigenous worldviews and embedded with cultural knowledge, Linklater offers purposeful and practical methods to help individuals and communities that have experienced trauma. Decolonizing Trauma Work, one of the first books of its kind, is a resource for education and training programs, health care practitioners, healing centres, clinical services and policy initiatives.
Call Number: RC451.5 .I5 L55 2014ISBN: 9781552666586Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Everyday Exposure by
Surrounded by Canada's densest concentration of chemical manufacturing plants, members of the Aamjiwnaang First Nation express concern about a declining male birth rate and high incidences of miscarriage, asthma, cancer, and cardiovascular illness. Everyday Exposure uncovers the systemic injustices they face as they fight for environmental justice. Exploring the problems that conflicting levels of jurisdiction pose for the creation of effective policy, analyzing clashes between Indigenous and scientific knowledge, and documenting the experiences of Aamjiwnaang residents as they navigate their toxic environment, this book argues that social and political change requires a transformative "sensing policy" approach, one that takes the voices of Indigenous citizens seriously.
Call Number: GE240 .C3 W53 2016ISBN: 9780774832649Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Fighting for a Hand to Hold by
Launched by healthcare providers in January 2018, the #aHand2Hold campaign confronted the Quebec government's practice of separating children from their families during medical evacuation airlifts, which disproportionately affected remote and northern Indigenous communities. Pediatric emergency physician Samir Shaheen-Hussain's captivating narrative of this successful campaign, which garnered unprecedented public attention and media coverage, seeks to answer lingering questions about why such a cruel practice remained in place for so long. In doing so it serves as an indispensable case study of contemporary medical colonialism in Quebec. Fighting for a Hand to Hold exposes the medical establishment's role in the displacement, colonization, and genocide of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Through meticulously gathered government documentation, historical scholarship, media reports, public inquiries, and personal testimonies, Shaheen-Hussain connects the draconian medevac practice with often-disregarded crimes and medical violence inflicted specifically on Indigenous children. This devastating history and ongoing medical colonialism prevent Indigenous communities from attaining internationally recognized measures of health and social well-being because of the pervasive, systemic anti-Indigenous racism that persists in the Canadian public health care system - and in settler society at large. Shaheen-Hussain's unique perspective combines his experience as a frontline pediatrician with his long-standing involvement in anti-authoritarian social justice movements. Sparked by the indifference and callousness of those in power, this book draws on the innovative work of Indigenous scholars and activists to conclude that a broader decolonization struggle calling for reparations, land reclamation, and self-determination for Indigenous peoples is critical to achieve reconciliation in Canada.
Call Number: RA450.4.I53 S53 2020ISBN: 9780228003601Publication Date: 2020-09-23
Genetic Resources, Justice and Reconciliation by
When the oral history of a medicinal plant as a genetic resource is used to develop a blockbuster drug, how is the contribution of indigenous peoples recognized in research and commercialization? What other ethical, legal, and policy issues come into play? Is it accurate for countries to self-identify as users or providers of genetic resources? This edited collection, which focuses on Canada, is the result of research conducted in partnership with indigenous peoples in that country, where melting permafrost and new sea lanes have opened the region's biodiversity, underscoring Canada's status as a user and provider of genetic resources and associated indigenous knowledge. This work is an important resource for scholars, corporations, indigenous peoples, policymakers, and concerned citizens as Canada and other countries take on the implementation of Access and Benefit Sharing policies over genetic resources and associated indigenous knowledge. This book is also available as Open Access.
Call Number: QH430 .G45685 2019ISBN: 9781108470766Publication Date: 2018-12-20
Globalization and the Health of Indigenous Peoples by
In 70 countries worldwide, there is an estimated 370 million indigenous peoples, and their rich diversity of cultures, religions, traditions, languages and histories has been significant source of our scholarships. However, the health status of this population group is far below than that of non-indigenous populations by all standards. Could the persisting reluctance to understand the influence of self-governance, globalization and social determinants of health in the lives of these people be deemed as a contributor to the poor health of indigenous peoples? Within this volume, Ullah explores the gap in health status between indigenous and non-indigenous peoples by providing a comparative assessment of socio-economic and health indicators for indigenous peoples, government policies, and the ways in which indigenous peoples have been resisting and adapting to state policies. A timely book for a growing field of study, Globalization and the Health of Indigenous Peoples is a must read for academics, policy-makers, and practitioners who are interested in indigenous studies and in understanding the role that globalization plays for the improvement of indigenous peoples' health across the world.
Call Number: GN477 .U55 2017ISBN: 9780367869502Publication Date: 2019-12-10
Healing Traditions by
Aboriginal peoples in Canada have diverse cultures but share common social and political challenges that have contributed to their experiences of health and illness. This collection addresses the origins of mental health and social problems and the emergence of culturally responsive approaches to services and health promotion. Healing Traditions is not a handbook of practice but a resource for thinking critically about current issues in the mental health of indigenous peoples. Cross-cutting themes include: the impact of colonialism, sedentarization, and forced assimilation; the importance of land for indigenous identity and an ecocentric self; and processes of healing and spirituality as sources of resilience.
Call Number: RC451.5 .I5 H45 2009ISBN: 9780774815246Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Health and Health Care in Northern Canada by
Accounting for almost two-thirds of the country's land mass, northern Canada is a vast region, host to rich natural resources and a diverse cultural heritage shared across Indigenous and non-Indigenous residents. In this book, the authors analyse health and health care in northern Canada from a perspective that acknowledges the unique strengths, resilience, and innovation of northerners, while also addressing the challenges aggravated by contemporary manifestations of colonialism. Old and new forms of colonial programs and policies continue to create health and health care disparities in the North. Written by individuals who live in and study the region, Health and Health Care in Northern Canadautilizes case studies, interviews, photographs, and more, to highlight the lived experiences of northerners and the primary health issues that they face. In order to maintain resilience, improve the positive outcomes of health determinants, and diminish negative stereotypes, we must ensure that northerners - and their cultures, values, strengths, and leadership - are at the centre of the ongoing work to achieve social justice and health equity.
Call Number: R463.N65 H43 2021ISBN: 9781487521790Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Held by the Land by
Author Leigh Joseph, an ethnobotanist and a member of the Squamish Nation, provides a beautifully illustrated essential introduction to Indigenous plant knowledge. *Honorable Mention, 2023 Foreword INDIE Book Award* Plants can be a great source of healing as well as nourishment, and the practice of growing and harvesting from trees, flowering herbs, and other plants is a powerful way to become more connected to the land. The Indigenous Peoples of North America have long traditions of using native plants as medicine and for food. Held by the Land honors and shares some of these traditions, offering a guide to: Harvesting herbs and other plants and using them topically North American plants that can treat common ailments, add nutrition to your diet, become part of your beauty regime, and more Stories and traditions about native plants from the author's Squamish culture Using plant knowledge to strengthen your connection to the land you live on Early chapters introduce you to responsible ways to identify and harvest plants in your area and teach you how to grow a deeper connection with the land you live on through plants. In the plant profiles section, common plants are introduced with: Elegant, line-drawn botanical art for each plant Information on their characteristics and range How to grow and/or harvest them How to use them topically and as food Special features with recipes for food and beauty products along with stories and traditions around the plants This beautiful, full-color guide to Indigenous plants will give you new insights into the power of everyday plants.
Call Number: E99.S7 J67 2023ISBN: 9781577152941Publication Date: 2023-03-07
Held by the Land Deck by
The beautifully illustrated Held by the Land Deck includes 45 cards and a 48-page booklet to guide you through the traditional uses and properties of a selection of Indigenous plants.
Call Number: https://librarysearch.stlawrencecollege.ca/permalink/01OCLS_STLAW/1vggncg/alma991000946307707324ISBN: 9781577154440Publication Date: 2024-04-09
The Hollow Tree by
Before discovering native healing methods, Herb Nabigon could not imagine a life without alcohol. His powerful autobiography, The Hollow Tree, tells the story of his struggle to overcome addiction with the help of the spiritual teachings and brotherly love of his elders. Nabigon had spent much of his life wrestling with self-destructive impulses, feelings of inferiority and resentment, and alcohol abuse when Eddie Bellerose, an Elder, introduced him to the ancient Cree teachings. With the help of healing methods drawn from the Four Sacred Directions, the refuge and revitalization offered by the sweat lodge, and native cultural practices such as the use of the pipe Nabigon was able to find sobriety. The Hollow Tree is one person's testament to the power of indigenous culture to heal. Herb Nabigon's healing journey guided him to a life of kindness, honesty, courage, and humility.
Call Number: E78.C2 N23 2006ISBN: 9780773531321Publication Date: 2006-08-08
Indigenous Health and Justice by
Colonial oppression, systemic racism, discrimination, and poor access to a wide range of resources detract from Indigenous health and contribute to continuing health inequities and injustices. These factors have led to structural inadequacies that contribute to circular challenges such as chronic underfunding, understaffing, and culturally insensitive health-care provision. Nevertheless, Indigenous Peoples are working actively to end such legacies. In Indigenous Health and Justice contributors demonstrate how Indigenous Peoples, individuals, and communities create their own solutions. Chapters focus on both the challenges created by the legacy of settler colonialism and the solutions, strengths, and resilience of Indigenous Peoples and communities in responding to these challenges. It introduces a range of examples, such as the ways in which communities use traditional knowledge and foodways to address health disparities. Indigenous Health and Justice is the fifth volume in the Indigenous Justice series. The series editors have focused on different aspects of the many kinds of justice that affect Indigenous Peoples. This volume is for students, scholars, activists, policymakers, and health-care professionals interested in health and well-being.
Call Number: RA448.5.I5 I543 2024ISBN: 9780816553167Publication Date: 2024-06-04
Indigenous health and well-being in the COVID-19 pandemic by
"This book investigates the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the health and well-being of Indigenous Peoples and assesses the policy responses taken by governments and Indigenous communities across the world. Bringing together innovative research and policy insights from a range of disciplines, this book investigates the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the health and well-being of Indigenous Peoples across the world, with coverage of North America, Central America, Africa, and Oceania. Further, it explores the actions taken by governments and Indigenous communities in addressing the challenges posed by this public health crisis. The book emphasises the social determinants of health and well-being, reflecting on issues such as self-governance, human rights law, housing, socioeconomic conditions, access to health care, culture, environmental deprivation, and resource extraction. Chapters also highlight the resilience and agency of Indigenous Peoples in combating the COVID-19 pandemic, despite the legacy of colonialism, patterns of systemic discrimination, and social exclusion. Providing concrete pathways for improving the conditions of Indigenous Peoples in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, this book is essential reading for researchers across indigenous studies, public health, and social policy"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RA644.C67 I5425 2023ISBN: 9781032115436Publication Date: 2023
Indigenous Methodologies by
Indigenous Methodologiesis a groundbreaking text. Since its original publication in 2009, it has become the most trusted guide used in the study of Indigenous methodologies and has been adopted in university courses around the world. It provides a conceptual framework for implementing Indigenous methodologies and serves as a useful entry point for those wishing to learn more broadly about Indigenous research. The second edition incorporates new literature along with substantial updates, including a thorough discussion of Indigenous theory and analysis, new chapters on community partnership and capacity building, an added focus on oracy and other forms of knowledge dissemination, and a renewed call to decolonize the academy. The second edition also includes discussion questions to enhance classroom interaction with the text. In a field that continues to grow and evolve, and as universities and researchers strive to learn and apply Indigenous-informed research, this important new edition introduces readers to the principles and practices of Indigenous methodologies.
Call Number: E76.7 .K68 2021ISBN: 9781487525644Publication Date: 2021-07-12
Indigenous Peoples and Dementia by
Dementia is on the rise around the world, and health organizations in Canada, the United States, and New Zealand are increasingly responding to the urgent need - voiced by communities and practitioners - for guidance on how best to address memory loss in Indigenous communities. Indigenous Peoples and Dementia responds to this call by bringing together, for the first time, research on three key areas of concern: prevalence, causes, and public discourse; Indigenous perspectives on care and prevention; and the culturally safe application of research to Elder care. The discussions are organized thematically and are complemented by teaching stories that impart Indigenous knowledge about memory loss and memory care. Presenting strategies for health practice and effective collaborative research informed by Indigenous knowledge and worldviews, this book is a valuable resource for researchers, practitioners, students, and educators who seek a better understanding of memory loss and memory care.
Call Number: RC521 .I53 2019ISBN: 9780774837842Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Introduction to determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples' health in Canada by
"Offering an introductory overview of the determinants of health for Indigenous peoples in Canada, this critical volume cultivates an understanding of the presence of coloniality in healthcare and how it determines First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples' health and well-being. Each part contains a comprehensive and holistic approach to understanding the many factors, historical and contemporary, that are significant in shaping the life and health of Indigenous Peoples in Canada and beyond. Compiled by experienced editors associated with the National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health, this collection draws together the work and writings of primarily Indigenous authors, including academics, community leaders, and healthcare practitioners. This accessible and timely resource will be invaluable for undergraduate courses and will introduce key concepts and ideas to students new to the field."
Call Number: RA408.I49 G74 2022ISBN: 9781773383194Publication Date: 2022
Journey to healing : Aboriginal people with addiction and mental health issues : what health, social service and justice workers need to know by
"Journey to Healing is a comprehensive and practical evidence-based resource. It was written to help prepare students and professionals to provide counselling and social services to Aboriginal people with mental health and addiction issues in urban, rural and isolated settings. Many of the authors are Aboriginal and all are respected experts in their fields. Each author shares his or her scholarly learning, insight, wisdom and experience of addressing addiction and mental health issues in Aboriginal populations. The guide is intended to serve as a course text for health, social service and justice programs in universities and community colleges. It will also be of interest to social workers, addiction and mental health service providers, and prison, probation, parole and police officers working with Aboriginal communities"-- Publisher's website.
Call Number: RC451.5 .I5 J68 2014ISBN: 9781771141598Publication Date: 2014
Kaandossiwin, 2nd Ed by
Indigenous methodologies have been silenced and obscured by the Western scientific means of knowledge production. In a challenge to this colonialist rejection of Indigenous knowledge, Anishinaabe re-searcher Kathleen Absolon describes how Indigenous re-searchers re-theorize and re-create methodologies. Indigenous knowledge resurgence is being informed by taking a second look at how re-search is grounded. Absolon consciously adds an emphasis on re with a hyphen as a process of recovery of Kaandossiwin and Indigenous re-search. Understanding Indigenous methodologies as guided by Indigenous paradigms, worldviews, principles, processes and contexts, Absolon argues that they are wholistic, relational, inter-relational and interdependent with Indigenous philosophies, beliefs and ways of life. In exploring the ways Indigenous re-searchers use Indigenous methodologies within mainstream academia, Kaandossiwin renders these methods visible and helps to guard other ways of knowing from colonial repression. This second edition features the author's reflections on her decade of re-search and teaching experience since the last edition, celebrating the most common student questions, concerns, and revelations.
Call Number: RA450.4.I53 B69 2014ISBN: 9781773635170Publication Date: 2022-07-19
The Medicine Chest by
An examination of the barriers facing Indigenous people within the healthcare system from the perspective of an empathetic settler physician After leaving her medical practice in Pennsylvania in 2011, Jarol Boan returned to her childhood home in Saskatchewan, Canada to practice medicine. There she found a healthcare system struggling with preventable chronic diseases and institutional racism. Shocked by the high rate of preventable diseases in her patients, Boan realized that a paternalistic deficit model does not support Indigenous communities. Through working to provide medical services in Indigenous communities and learning firsthand from her Indigenous patients, Boan embarked on a road to enlightenment and reconciliation. In The Medicine Chest, Boan exposes the healthcare disparities in a country that prides itself on an equitable healthcare system and examines the devastating effects of diabetes, the myth of "the drunken Indian," the inner workings of hospitals, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, epidemics on reserves, and residential school trauma. Exploring the intersectionality of common diseases and social determinants of health gained from her experience of caring for Indigenous patients, Boan weaves historical data, comments on health policy, and jurisdictional gaps into the narrative while investigating how Canada's healthcare system is failing those most in need.
Call Number: RA450.4.I53 B63 2024ISBN: 9780889779730Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Medicine Women by
Winner of the 2019 Southwest Book Award from the Border Regional Library Association Winner of the 2020 New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for History-Arizona After the Indian wars, many Americans still believed that the only good Indian was a dead Indian. But at Ganado Mission in the Navajo country of northern Arizona, a group of missionaries and doctors--who cared less about saving souls and more about saving lives--chose a different way and persuaded the local parents and medicine men to allow them to educate their daughters as nurses. The young women struggled to step into the world of modern medicine, but they knew they might become nurses who could build a bridge between the old ways and the new. In this detailed history, Jim Kristofic traces the story of Ganado Mission on the Navajo Indian Reservation. Kristofic's personal connection with the community creates a nuanced historical understanding that blends engaging narrative with careful scholarship to share the stories of the people and their commitment to this place.
Call Number: RT80.A62 K75 2019ISBN: 9780826360670Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Moving Aboriginal Health Forward by
There is a clear connection between the health of individuals and the legal regime under which they live, particularly Aboriginal peoples. From the early ban on traditional practices to the constitutional division of powers (including who is responsible for off-reserve Indians under the Constitution), this is an historical examination of Canadian legal regimes and the impact they have had on the health of Aboriginal peoples. With an emphasis on the social determinants of health, Boyer outlines how commitments made regarding Aboriginal rights through treaties and Supreme Court of Canada rulings can be used to advance the health of Aboriginal peoples.
Call Number: RA450.4.I53 B69 2014ISBN: 9781895830798Publication Date: 2015-02-15
Neglected No More by
It took the coronavirus pandemic to open our eyes to the deplorable state of so many of the nation's long-term care homes: the inhumane conditions, overworked and underpaid staff, and lack of oversight. In this timely new book, esteemed health reporter Andre Picard reveals the full extent of the crisis in eldercare, and offers an urgently needed prescription to fix a broken system. When COVID-19 spread through seniors' residences across Canada, the impact was horrific. Along with widespread illness and a devastating death toll, the situation exposed a decades-old crisis: the shocking systemic neglect towards our elders. Called in to provide emergency care in some of the hardest-hit facilities in Ontario and Quebec, the military issued damning reports of what they encountered. And yet, the failings that were exposed - unappetizing meals, infrequent baths, overmedication, physical abuse and inadequate personal care - have persisted for years in these institutions. In Neglected No More, Andre Picard takes a hard look at how we came to embrace mass institutionalization, and lays out what can and must be done to improve the state of care for our elders, a highly vulnerable population with complex needs and little ability to advocate for themselves. Picard shows that the entire eldercare system - fragmented, underfunded and unsupported - is long overdue for a fundamental rethink. We need to find ways to ensure seniors can age gracefully in the community for longer, with supportive home care and respite for family caregivers, and ensure that long-term care homes are not warehouses of isolation and neglect. Our elders deserve nothing less.
Call Number: HV1475.A3 P53 2021ISBN: 9780735282247Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Research Is Ceremony by
Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information. I'm an Opaskwayak Cree from northern Manitoba currently living in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales, Australia. I'm also a father of three boys, a researcher, son, uncle, teacher, world traveller, knowledge keeper and knowledge seeker. As an educated Indian, I've spent much of my life straddling the Indigenous and academic worlds. Most of my time these days is spent teaching other Indigenous knowledge seekers (and my kids) how to accomplish this balancing act while still keeping both feet on the ground.
Call Number: GN380 .W554 2008ISBN: 9781552662816Publication Date: 2008-09-01
The Return of the Sun by
Inuit have among the highest suicide rates in the world - ten times the national average. Inuit narratives of suicide provide clues as to what can and in some cases has been done to combat the problem, but until recently they have not circulated far beyond Inuit communities themselves. At the same time, academic researchers have studied suicide among Indigenous peoples, but have stopped short of analyzing narrative accounts for their themes of cultural survival. Based on two decades of participatory action and ethnographic research, The Return of the Sun is a historical and anthropological examination of suicide among Inuit youth in Arctic Canada. Conceptualizing suicide among Inuit as a response to colonial disruption of family and interpersonal relationships and examining how the community has addressed the issue, Kral draws on research from psychology, anthropology, Indigenous studies, and social justice to understand and address this population. Central to the book are narrative accounts by Inuit of their experiences and perceptions of suicide, and the lives of youth and their community action for change. As these Indigenous community success stories have not previously been widely retold, The Return of the Sun gives voice to a historically ignored community. Kral also locates this community action within the larger Inuit movement toward self-determination and self-governance. This important volume will be of interest to a broad range of social scientists, as well as researchers and practitioners in the mental health fields.
Call Number: E99.E7 K73 2019ISBN: 9780190269333Publication Date: 2019-08-01
The Science of the Sacred by
Indigenous naturopathic doctor Nicole Redvers pairs evidence-based research with traditional healing modalities, addressing modern health problems and medical processes Modern medical science has finally caught up to what traditional healing systems have known for centuries. Many traditional healing techniques and medicines are often assumed to be archaic, outdated, or unscientific compared to modern Western medicine. Nicole Redvers, a naturopathic physician and member of the Deninu K'ue First Nation, analyzes modern Western medical practices using evidence-informed Indigenous healing practices and traditions from around the world--from sweat lodges and fermented foods to Ayurvedic doshas and meditation. Organized around various sciences, such as physics, genetics, and microbiology, the book explains the connection between traditional medicine and current research around epigenetics and quantum physics, for example, and includes over 600 citations. Redvers, who has traveled and worked with Indigenous groups around the world, shares the knowledge and teachings of health and wellness that have been passed down through the generations, tying this knowledge with current scientific advances. Knowing that the science backs up the traditional practice allows us to have earlier and more specific interventions that integrate age-old techniques with the advances in modern medicine and technology.
Call Number: R733 .R424 2019ISBN: 9781623173364Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Separate beds : a history of Indian hospitals in Canada, 1920s-1980s by
"Separate Beds is the shocking story of Canada's system of segregated health care. Operated by the same bureaucracy that was expanding health care opportunities for most Canadians, the 'Indian Hospitals' were underfunded, understaffed, overcrowded, and rife with coercion and medical experimentation. Established to keep the Aboriginal tuberculosis population isolated, they became a means of ensuring that other Canadians need not share access to modern hospitals with Aboriginal patients. Tracing the history of the system from its fragmentary origins to its gradual collapse, Maureen K. Lux describes the arbitrary and contradictory policies that governed the 'Indian Hospitals, ' the experiences of patients and staff, and the vital grassroots activism that pressed the federal government to acknowledge its treaty obligations. A disturbing look at the dark side of the liberal welfare state, Separate Beds reveals a history of racism and negligence in health care for Canada's First Nations that should never be forgotten."-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: RA450.4 I53 L89 2016ISBN: 9781442645578Publication Date: 2016
Seven Fallen Feathers by
Winner, 2017 Shaughnessy Cohen Writers' Trust Prize for Political Writing Winner, 2017 RBC Taylor Prize Winner, 2017 First Nation Communities Read: Young Adult/Adult Winner, 2024 Blue Metropolis First Peoples Prize, for the whole of her work Finalist, 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction The groundbreaking and multiple award-winning national bestseller work about systemic racism, education, the failure of the policing and justice systems, and Indigenous rights by Tanya Talaga. Over the span of eleven years, seven Indigenous high school students died in Thunder Bay, Ontario. They were hundreds of kilometres away from their families, forced to leave home because there was no adequate high school on their reserves. Five were found dead in the rivers surrounding Lake Superior, below a sacred Indigenous site. Using a sweeping narrative focusing on the lives of the students, award-winning author Tanya Talaga delves into the history of this northern city that has come to manifest Canada's long struggle with human rights violations against Indigenous communities.
Call Number: E98 .S67 T35 2017ISBN: 9781487002268Publication Date: 2017-09-30
Somacultural Liberation by
Two-Spirit Indigiqueer psychotherapist and cultural theorist Dr. Roger Kuhn illuminates the ways our bodies offer portals to our own liberation. Experience somacultural liberation- A revolutionary ideology to explore how our bodies offer portals to personal and collective freedom. What role does dominant culture play in how we experience the sensations, thoughts, feelings, and deeper existential mysteries of our bodies? Dr. Roger Kuhn, a Poarch Creek Two-Spirit Indigequeer activist, artist, sex therapist, and somacultural theorist, believes that Two-Spirit people hold a unique perspective-and that viewing our bodies through a somacultural lens can help us better understand how dominant culture informs and, all too often, misinforms our relationship to it. Somacultural liberation is an embodied practice that helps people connect with the intersections of their identity. Kuhn's revolutionary mode of inquiry illuminates the full impact of our cultural reality in shaping both our individual and shared sense of self. The history and experiences of Native American peoples and those who identify as Two-Spirit offer the reader a path to access the full brilliance of their body. Including growth work activities, cultural assessment exercises, mindfulness practices, and nervous system regulation techniques, Somacultural Liberation provides readers with the tools and skills needed to transcend any challenges they may face in their lives. Straddling colonial imposition and tribal significance, Two-Spirit identity offers a powerful decolonizing framework to achieve freedom and navigate the toxic systems of domination that impose upon the precious truth of who we are.
Call Number: RC489.M66 K84 2024ISBN: 9781623178826Publication Date: 2024-02-06
Strong Helpers' Teachings by
The thoroughly updated third edition of Strong Helpers' Teachings skillfully illustrates the importance of Indigenous knowledges in the human services. Making space for the voices of many Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars, practitioners, and service users, Cyndy Baskin's text models possible pathways toward relationship building and allyship. With practical examples and case studies, Baskin places Indigenous perspectives at the centre of the social work disciplines and covers topics such as spirituality, research, justice, and healing. Robust updates include new chapters on decolonization and reconciliation, as well as expanded content on holistic healing implementation, skill building, land-based practice, and child welfare. With concise theoretical content, illustrative practical applications, rich pedagogical features, and a focus on centering Indigenous worldviews, knowledge, and helping practices, this text is foundational for educators, practitioners, and students of human services, social work, child and youth care, and more.
Call Number: HV40 .B327 2022ISBN: 9781773383309Publication Date: 2022-09-02
The Sweet Bloods of Eeyou Istchee by
The second edition of the groundbreaking collection The Sweet Bloods of Eeyou Istchee includes an epilogue with an update on each storyteller. Ruth DyckFehderau and twenty-seven storytellers offer a rich and timely accounting of contemporary life in Eeyou Istchee, the territory of the James Bay Cree of Northern Quebec. The stories are connected by diabetes, but they are not records of illness as much as they are deeply personal accounts of life in the North: the fine, swayingbalances of living both in town and on the land, of family and work and studies, of healing from relocations and residential school histories while building communities of safety and challenge and joy, of hunting and hockey, and much more. Sweet Bloods is essential reading for anyone who knows anyone with diabetes, and for anyone interested in a contemporary rendering of one of Canada's vibrant, thriving, and highly adaptive Indigenous communities. This book is published by Cree Board of Health and Social Services of James Bay and distributed by WLU Press.
Call Number: RA645.D5 D93 2020ISBN: 9780973054248Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Thriving Postpartum by
From ancestral healing expert Pānquetzani comes traditional Indigenous wisdom for helping women thrive in, rather than merely survive, the postpartum experience. Though we now have more resources for ancestral birthing and self-care practices than ever, postpartum care is still largely stuck in an outdated, patriarchal paradigm that fails to serve mothers and newborns. "Slowing down, recovering fully, and giving your baby the best start isn't a privilege--it's a basic human need," says Pānquetzani, a leading expert in Indigenous health care for women. In Thriving Postpartum, she shares the sacred ritual of la cuarentena (or quarantine) that honors, nurtures, and empowers a birthing person's transition into their new life. Here, you'll find guidance on: * Herbal recipes and 25 yerbas for postpartum healing * Newborn and immediate postpartum care * Sacred foods in la cuarentena * Bodywork * Your emotional body in la cuarentena * Sex, pleasure, and intimacy postpartum Pānquetzani teaches this 40-day journey as a spiritual rite of passage, one that has endured colonization and supported women in Mesoamerican, Mexican, and Central American communities. She shares everything you'll need--from ancestral recipes for lactation and replenishing, to prayers and somatic practices for physical, emotional, and sexual recovery. Through traditional stories and practical guidance, she also helps you engage your support network, become your own best advocate, and lay a healthy foundation for the years to come. "This wisdom has come from my familia and is a direct inheritance from our collective body of knowledge," says Pānquetzani. Imparted with love, tenderness, and respect, here is an invitation to participate in a rich tradition that celebrates birth and motherhood as sacred acts of creation.
Call Number: RG801 .P35 2024ISBN: 9781649631756Publication Date: 2024-09-24
Wisdom Engaged by
"I listened to my mum, my dad, my gramma, that is why I am still here. That is how you stay alive." --Mida Donnessey Wisdom Engaged demonstrates how traditional knowledge, Indigenous approaches to healing, and the insights of Western bio-medicine can complement each other when all voices are heard in a collaborative effort to address changes to Indigenous communities' well-being. In this collection, voices of Elders, healers, physicians, and scholars are gathered in an attempt to find viable ways to move forward while facing new challenges. Bringing these varied voices together provides a critical conversation about the nature of medicine; a demonstration of ethical commitment; and an example of building successful community relationships. Contributors: Alestine Andre, Janelle Marie Baker, Robert Beaulieu, Della M. Cheney, Stakawas, Katsawa, Mida Donnessey, Mabel English, Christopher Fletcher, Fort McKay Berry Group, Annie B. Gordon, Celina Harpe-Cooper, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Leslie Main Johnson, Thea Luig, Art Mathews, Sim'oogit T'enim Gyet, Linda G. McDonald, Ruby E. Morgan, Bernice Neyelle, Morris Neyelle, Keiichi Omura, Mary Teya, Nancy J. Turner, Walter Vanast, Darlene Vegh.
Call Number: E98.M4 W57 2019ISBN: 9781772124101Publication Date: 2019-07-21
Yatdjuligin by
Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care introduces students to the fundamentals of health care of Indigenous Australians, encompassing the perspectives of both the client and the health practitioner. Written for all nurses and midwives, this book addresses the relationship between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and mainstream health services and introduces readers to practice and research in a variety of healthcare contexts. This new edition has been fully updated to reflect current research and documentation, with an emphasis on cultural safety. Three new chapters cover Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing, social and emotional wellbeing in mainstream mental health services and quantitative research. Chapter content is complemented by case study scenarios, author reflections and reflection questions. These features illustrate historical and contemporary challenges, encourage students to reflect on their own attitudes and values, and provide strategies to deliver quality, person-centred health care.
Call Number: RA563.A26 Y38 2021ISBN: 9781108794695Publication Date: 2021-08-25
