AI for Marketing and Product Innovation by A. K. Pradeep; Andrew Appel; Stan SthanunathanGet on board the next massive marketing revolution AI for Marketing and Product Innovation offers creatives and marketing professionals a non-tech guide to artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML)--twin technologies that stand poised to revolutionize the way we sell. The future is here, and we are in the thick of it; AI and ML are already in our lives every day, whether we know it or not. The technology continues to evolve and grow, but the capabilities that make these tools world-changing for marketers are already here--whether we use them or not. This book helps you lean into the curve and take advantage of AI's unparalleled and rapidly expanding power. More than a simple primer on the technology, this book goes beyond the "what" to show you the "how": How do we use AI and ML in ways that speak to the human spirit? How to we translate cold technological innovation into creative tools that forge deep human connections? Written by a team of experts at the intersection of neuroscience, technology, and marketing, this book shows you the ins and outs of these groundbreaking technological tools. Understand AI and ML technology in layman's terms Harness the twin technologies unparalleled power to transform marketing Learn which skills and resources you need to use AI and ML effectively Employ AI and ML in ways that resonate meaningfully with customers Learn practical examples of how to reinvest product innovation, brand building, targeted marketing and media measurement to connect with people and enhance ROI Discover the true impact of AI and ML from real-world examples, and learn the thinking, best practices, and metrics you need to capture this lightning and take the next massive leap in the evolution of customer connection. AI for Marketing and Product Innovation shows you everything you need to know to get on board.
Call Number: HF5410 .P73 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-06
LGBTQ Youth and Education by Cris Mayo; James A. Banks (Series edited by)This second edition is essential reading for educators and other school community members who are navigating the increasingly complicated laws and legal rulings related to LGBTQ students, employees, and community members. It combines historical, contemporary, theoretical, and practical information to help educators address exclusionary practices in schools related to gender identity, sexuality, racism, sexism, and other forms of bias that shape student experiences. To enable educators to better understand their obligations to students in relation to policy, staff training, daily school climate, pedagogy, and curriculum, the author has extensively revised this popular text to include updated information on the impact of same-sex marriage legalization and increasing federal recognition of transgender student rights. And because the legal terrain regarding transgender youth has been especially volatile, Mayo provides strategies that educators can use to maintain ethical trans-inclusive teaching, even when local regulations appear to impede transgender inclusivity. Book Features: An examination of the pedagogical, curricular, and policy changes that can improve school experiences for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning) and ally students. A new chapter on gender identity and transgender, nonbinary, and gender expansive student experiences. Current policy and legal information, data, and justification for LGBTQ-equitable and inclusive teaching.
Call Number: LC192.6 .M39 2022
Publication Date: 2022-02-04
Milady Standard Esthetics by Joel Gerson; MiladyMilady Standard Esthetics Fundamentals, 12th edition, is the essential source for basic esthetics training. This new edition builds upon Milady's strong tradition of providing students and instructors with the best beauty and wellness education tools for their future.The rapidly expanding field of esthetics has taken a dramatic leap forward in the past decade, and this up-to-date text plays a critical role in creating a strong foundation for the esthetics student. Focusing on introductory topics, including history and opportunities in skin care, anatomy and physiology, and infection control and disorders, it lays the groundwork for the future professional to build their knowledge.The reader can then explore the practical skills of a skin care professional, introducing them to the treatment environment, basic facial treatments, hair removal, and the technology likely to be performed in the salon or spa setting.
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by Davi-Ellen ChabnerBuild a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Call Number: R123 .C434 2023
Publication Date: 2022-03-15
A brief introduction to law in Canada by Fairlie, John"The textbook will serve as a brief version of the comprehensive, all-in-one resource (Introduction to Law in Canada) and is aimed at Colleges that asked for a concise overview of Canada's legal system that meets LSO guidelines. "-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: KE444 .F35 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville; Timothy Baskerville; Serona EltonThe Thirteenth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David Baskerville, Tim Baskerville, and Serona Elton′s handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field. Music Business Handbook and Career Guide is ideal for introductory courses such as Introduction to the Music Business, Music and Media, and other survey courses as well as more specialized courses such as the Record Industry, Music Careers, Artist Management, and more. The fully updated Thirteenth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution, where this predominant form of music consumption stands today and is heading in the future. Rapid changes in music licensingare addressed and how they impact creators, musical work performance licensing, compulsory and negotiated mechanicals, and sound recording licenses. The new edition also analyzes the changing picture of music video and shows how music video has been upended by on-demand streaming. Lastly, there is all-new coverage of COVID-19and how the concert industry has been impacted as well as digital advances that have been made.
Potter and Perry's Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing by Barbara J. Astle; Wendy Duggleby; Patricia A. Potter; Anne Griffin Perry; Patricia A. Stockert; Amy HallGet the solid foundation you need to practise nursing in Canada! Potter & Perry''s Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition covers the nursing concepts, knowledge, research, and skills that are essential to professional nursing practice in Canada. The text''s full-colour, easy-to-use approach addresses the entire scope of nursing care, reflecting Canadian standards, culture, and the latest in evidence-informed care. New to this edition are real-life case studies and a new chapter on practical nursing in Canada. Based on Potter & Perry''s respected Fundamentals text and adapted and edited by a team of Canadian nursing experts led by Barbara J. Astle and Wendy Duggleby, this book ensures that you understand Canada''s health care system and health care issues as well as national nursing practice guidelines. More than 50 nursing skills are presented in a clear, two-column format that includes steps and rationales to help you learn how and why each skill is performed. The five-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for care, and is demonstrated in more than 20 care plans. Nursing care plans help you understand the relationship between assessment findings and nursing diagnoses, the identification of goals and outcomes, the selection of interventions, and the process for evaluating care. Planning sections help nurses plan and prioritize care by emphasizing Goals and Outcomes, Setting Priorities, and Teamwork and Collaboration. More than 20 concept maps show care planning for clients with multiple nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Model in each clinical chapter shows you how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to provide the best care for patients. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Exercises help you to apply essential content. Coverage of interprofessional collaboration includes a focus on patient-centered care, Indigenous peoples'' health referencing the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) Report, the CNA Code of Ethics, and Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) legislation. Evidence-Informed Practice boxes provide examples of recent state-of-the-science guidelines for nursing practice. Research Highlight boxes provide abstracts of current nursing research studies and explain the implications for daily practice. Patient Teaching boxes highlight what and how to teach patients, and how to evaluate learning. Learning objectives, key concepts, and key terms in each chapter summarize important content for more efficient review and study. Online glossary provides quick access to definitions for all key terms. NEW! Up-to-date content includes Canadian statistics, research, references and resources, guidelines including the 2019 Canada''s Food Guide, and 2020 Canadian Adult Obesity Clinical Practice Guidelines, assessment and screening tools, and topics such as Bill C-45 (the Cannabis Act), PICOT, COVID-19, and pandemic preparedness. NEW! UNIQUE! Real-life case studies include review questions, allowing you to critically apply what you have learned to the nursing role and to the implementation of care. NEW! Practical Nursing in Canada chapter is added to this edition. NEW! Revised chapters include an introduction to licensure examinations in Canada for RNs (NGN-RN®) and CPNRE® and REx-PN® for PNs, as well as an explanation of the NCSBN Clinical Judgement Model. NEW photos capture the latest updates in Canadian nursing skills and equipment and show how to perform nursing techniques. Expanded content is included throughout the text on health disparities, vulnerability, intersectionality, and social determinants of health. NEW! Customized tools - both in the text and on the Evolve website - encourage the development of clinical reasoning and judgement, helping you succeed on the Next Generation NCLEX®, REx-PN®, and CPNRE®. NEW! NGN-RN® book-specific case studies are provided on Evolve.
Call Number: RT41 .P68 2024
Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Arnold and Boggs's Interpersonal Relationships by Claire Mallette; Olive June Yonge; Elizabeth C. Arnold; Kathleen Underman BoggsNow more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Arnold and Boggs's Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Canadian Nurses helps you develop essential skills for communicating effectively with patients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-patient relationship through proven communication strategies, as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. With a uniquely Canadian approach, and a variety of case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-informed practice studies, this text ensures you learn how to apply theory to real-life practice. Engaging, comprehensive coverage presents the most current issues and communication concepts. Fully adapted content reflects Canada's unique health care context and cultural landscape. Canadian statistics, research, references and resources, guidelines, assessment and screening tools, and more are incorporated throughout the text. Canadian cultural and demographic considerations address issues related to race/ethnicity, Indigenous peoples, gender identity, LGBTQ2 community, family composition, recent immigrants, refugees, and vulnerable persons. Engaging with Humility: Authentic Interpersonal Communication in Partnership with Indigenous Peoples chapter increases awareness and knowledge of the impact of colonization on Indigenous peoples, in order to understand and develop practices which respectfully engage in cultural safety and humility through holistic communication with Indigenous peoples and communities. Rich art programme reflects Canada's cultural diversity in the health care setting. Emphasis on collaborative communication includes related evidence-informed case studies and analysis. Socio-cultural communication competencies coverage discusses how to reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Questions for Review and Discussion help students practise their reflective analysis skills and provide opportunities for thoughtful review of chapter content. Content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Simulation exercises enable students to practise, observe, and critically evaluate their professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help students learn to develop empathy for patients' perspectives and needs. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-patient relationship - all central components of holistic nursing. Nursing, behavioural, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Ethical Dilemma boxes with reflection questions at the end of each chapter help students absorb and retain key ethical content throughout the text. Evidence-Informed Nursing Practice boxes in each chapter offer a summary of research findings related to the chapter subject and are intended to strengthen awareness of the link between research and practice. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlight crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery.
Call Number: RT86.3 .M35 2022
Publication Date: 2021-12-14
Elsevier's Veterinary Assisting Textbook by Margi SiroisMaster the role and responsibilities of the veterinary assistant! From respected veterinary educator Margi Sirois, Elsevier's Veterinary Assisting Textbook, 3rd Edition covers everything you need to know to pass the Approved Veterinary Assistant (AVA) exam and succeed in clinical practice. With this comprehensive textbook students will learn to assist in laboratory and radiographic procedures, properly restrain animals, set up equipment and supplies, clean and maintain practice facilities, feed and exercise patients, collect samples, handle and dispense medications, groom patients, and record keeping. Updated content reflects the latest advances in veterinary assisting procedures, and new images illustrate key tasks. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Comprehensive coverage provides details on the tasks performed by veterinary assistants, and covers everything you need to know to pass the Approved Veterinary Assistant (AVA) exam and succeed in clinical practice. Step-by-step instructions and hundreds of full-color photographs show veterinary assisting tasks and clarify key concepts. Information on office procedures and client relations prepares you to be involved in many of the business aspects of veterinary practice and to work closely with management staff. Coverage of the workflow in a veterinary practice helps you understand your role as well as the roles of all the other members of the veterinary health care team. Critical Concept boxes highlight important points and provide useful tips to improve your knowledge and skills. A student workbook provides activities to help you apply concepts to veterinary practice, including definitions of key terms, review questions, crossword puzzles, illustration labeling, sample cases, and clinical applications. Available separately. NEW! Completely updated content throughout reflects the latest advances in veterinary assisting procedures for improved patient service. NEW! Fear-free handling coverage now included in Chapter 6: Animal Behavior and Restraint. NEW! Poultry Care section added to Chapter 13: Large Animal Nursing and Husbandry. NEW and UPDATED! Additional and revised images throughout accurately illustrate key veterinary assisting tasks.
Call Number: SF774.5 .S56 2021
Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians by Terry Lake; Nicola GreenLearn to easily master the types of veterinary nursing calculations you will face on the job with Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians, 4th Edition. From basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, this useful text covers all aspects of calculations as applied to veterinary nursing. Readers will benefit from the text's common-sense approach to clinical situations and complete the book knowing how to use calculations to determine dosage rates, anesthetic flow rates, radiography exposure rates, parenteral nutrition, and more. User-friendly features include simple language, detailed explanations, ample examples, and special author guidance so that content is easy to follow and understand. Plus, the text's abundance of learning features - such as self-assessment questions, clinical hints, and tips - help clarify important concepts and ensure that you have mastered everything you need to make calculations in the day-to-day clinical environment. Mathematical explanations using veterinary terms present all principles in a manner that directly pertains to the veterinary field. Comprehensive content covers everything from basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, so users have everything needed to succeed in calculations for veterinary nursing and technology. Dimensional analysis bridge method removes the necessity of memorizing formulae and takes advantage of simplifying equations so that calculators are often unnecessary. NEW! Reviewed and updated drugs throughout the book provide dosage calculations that coincide with drugs currently used in the field for the most clinical relevance. NEW! Additional math problems both in the text and on the Evolve companion website offer substantial additional practice. Self-test sections with clinical hints and tips ensure retention of core concepts.
Call Number: SF919 .L35 2023
Publication Date: 2022-07-17
Small Animal Clinical Techniques by Susan Meric TaylorLearn how to confidently care for small animal patients with Taylor's Small Animal Clinical Techniques, 3rd Edition. Filled with more than 60 of the most common procedures performed by veterinary technicians and assistants, this highly visual guide helps you easily master the diagnostic and therapeutic clinical techniques that are essential to small animal practice. Each procedure uses clear step-by-step instructions to walk you through the purpose, indications, contraindications and concerns, complications, special anatomy, equipment, restraint, and procedure techniques. This new edition also features a new chapter on physical examination, all-new physical examination procedure videos, and updated images throughout the text. And as with previous editions, Taylor's companion online learning modules will further hone your ability to logically think through procedures and properly perform skills. Coverage of the most common procedures performed by veterinary technicians and assistants are covered in a clear, concise, and highly visual way. Consistent approach includes step-by-step instructions, principles, and photographs for all procedures to show you how to think through the procedures in a logical manner and perform the skills well. Case studies help ground you in your understanding and reinforce clinical experience. Narrated videos located on the Evolve companion website provide visual, real-time demonstrations of clinical techniques and are a perfect review tool. NEW! New chapter on physical examination incorporates a comprehensive step-by-step photo essay to help you easily understand how to perform common techniques. NEW! Physical examination procedure videos on the Evolve companion website help you put techniques into practice. NEW! Updated images throughout the text are paired with procedures to better illustrate step-by-step technique instructions.
Call Number: SF981 .T39 2021
Publication Date: 2020-08-25
Veterinary Clinical Parasitology by Gary A. Conboy; Susan E. Little; Mason V. Reichard; Anne M. ZajacNew edition of the market-leading benchtop reference on the diagnosis of internal and external parasites in animals, including expanded coverage of parasites of reptiles, birds, and other exotic species Veterinary Clinical Parasitology, 9th Edition, allows for a quick and accurate reference to internal and external parasites found in a wide variety of domestic animals and laboratory animal host species. Focusing on the tests and information most relevant to daily veterinary practice, this classic benchtop manual contains a wealth of high-quality images to assist readers in diagnosing parasitic disease and identifying and treating relevant parasites. Contributions by leading experts in veterinary pathobiology and parasitology cover fecal examination for the diagnosis of parasitism, detection of parasites in the blood, diagnosis of arthropod parasites, and more. The latest edition contains fully revised material throughout, including new and expanded information on immunodiagnostic and molecular diagnostic tests, additional parasite-specific material on the benefits and limitations of different test modalities, and increased coverage of reptiles, birds, and other exotic and laboratory animals. New sections include up-to-date information on anthelmintics, antiprotozoals, and other antiparasitic drugs, and challenging case studies that provide insights on situations where identification of parasites is especially difficult. Published under the auspices of the American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists (AAVP), this indispensable clinical manual: * Describes accurate and cost-effective techniques for diagnosiing parasitic infections in animals * Presents clear and concise information on the distribution, life cycle, and significance of each parasite covered * Contains hundreds of color clinical images to enable rapid picture-matching and aid in diagnosis * Offers a spiral-bound format that allows the book to lie flat on the benchtop, ideal for regular use in daily practice * Features revised content throughout, including new chapters and images, an improved format, an enhanced color scheme, and an updated companion website Veterinary Clinical Parasitology, 9th Edition is an essential resource for practicing veterinarians, veterinary technicians, diagnosticians, researchers, and students in need of a timely and efficient reference on morphologic identification of parasites in different animal species.
"[...] the following uses are Authorized Uses of the Products and Institution Content: (1) adding videos into the LMS or other electronic learning environments - either by embedding the video or linking; (2) displaying videos or creating and printing screenshots of videos for the purposes of internal marketing, testing, or training."
The Coronavirus Research Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. This database brings together not only content from open-access journals, but also pre-prints and additional content being made freely available by major publishers from around the world.
Research Companion is ProQuest’s flagship information literacy product. It was built to help students do more effective scholarly research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information. A series of short videos on choosing a topic, evaluating sources, and understanding peer-review.
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
**Apple devices** Our system is based on Google Chrome, in order to stream on Apple devices you need to download and install SWANK MEDIA PLAYER (available for FREE on the Apple Store).
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
The license terms for this product stipulate that usage is for educational purposes only. Screensharing content via online videoconferencing software is not permitted. Please contact your library for more information.
A collection of general interest digital magazines including Canadian Art, Parents, and National Geographic. For the best viewing experience, download the Flipster app for your mobile device (iOS and Android).
Access over 50,000 full-text ebooks for college programs. Subject areas covered include: accounting, business, career development and guidance, computers, criminology, engineering and technology, nursing and allied health, human resources, industrial management, project management, vocational education. New - view and request more than 1 million eBooks.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS’s, and e-reserves, and durable URLs: these uses are only permitted “so long as each work is retrieved directly from the on-line database system in a manner that causes a ‘hit’ to be registered on the on-line system for each and every print or digital copy” (clause 3.8).
Global Learning Centre
2000 Most Common Japanese Words in Context by Lingo MasteryHave you been trying to learn Japanese and simply can't find the simple way to discover new words?Are you tired of having to pore through boring textbooks and complicated material that you don't really understand?Are you looking for a way to learn the language more effectively without taking shortcuts?If you answered "Yes!" to at least one of those previous questions, then this book is for you! We've compiled the 2000 Most Common Words in Japanese, a list of terms that will expand your vocabulary to levels previously unseen.Did you know that - according to an important study - learning the top two thousand (2000) most frequently used words will enable you to understand up to 84% of all non-fiction and 86.1% of fiction literature and 92.7% of oral speech? Those are amazing stats, and this book will take you even further than those numbers!In this book:? A detailed introduction with tips and tricks on how to improve your learning - here, you will learn the basics to get you started on this marvelous list of Japanese terms!? A list of 2000 of the most common words in Japanese and their translations? An example sentence for each word - in both Japanese and English? Finally, a conclusion to make sure you've learned and supply you with a final list of tipsDon't look any further, we've got what you need right here!In fact, we're ready to turn you into a Japanese speaker? are you ready to become one?
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; PL539 .A15 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-08
Australia by Anthony Ham; Donna WheelerAustralia, situated between the Indian and Pacific Oceans, is rich in rainforest, deserts, and mountains. Geological wonders such as the Uluru, the Outback or the Great Barrier Reef characterize the country, as do the coastline of dream beaches and surfing paradises with offshore islands. This book shows in more than 500 pictures the uniqueness of the animal world above and under water along with the untouched nature and the cultural sides of the metropolises like Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, and Canberra.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; DU 93 .H36 2018
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Brazil by Katja SassmannshausenIt is difficult to define Brazil as a country; it is rather the sum of countries with very different characteristics such as the Amazon region with the longest river and the largest rainforest in the world, and Rio de Janeiro, with its legendary carnival and famous beaches. In addition there a natural wonders such as the mighty Iguaçu waterfalls on the border with Argentina and the marshland Pantanal, with its unique variety of plants and animals in the west, as well as the magical desert landscape Sertão in the northeast.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; F2517 .S65 2020
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
Canada by Karl-Heinz Raach; Bernhard MoggeCanada borders the United States to the south and the Arctic Circle to the north. This results in a landscape diversity with endless forest areas in the south and ice and rock areas in the north, beyond the Arctic tree line. In more than 500 pictures, this volume shows the multifaceted wilderness of Canada. These include the Banff National Park in the Rocky Mountains, famous for its numerous lakes, and Niagara Falls on the border with the United States. The metropolises like Toronto, Vancouver on the west coast, as well as the French-speaking cities Montreal or Quebec, and the capital, Ottawa, are also included.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; F1017 .R33 2018
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Celtic Folklore Cooking by Joanne AsalaA treasury of delectable recipes,Celtic Folklore Cookingby Joanne Asala will help you select foods to serve at your celebrations of the Sabbats and Esbats: the festivals and ritual times for Witches and Wiccans. It is also a terrific introduction to Celtic culture. The recipes in this book were gathered during four trips the author took to Ireland and Britain, as well as visits to Scotland and Wales. She searched for people who still cooked in the traditional of their ancestors, passing down recipes from generation to generation. The result is a book that is rich in Celtic tradition. And the foods are delicious any time, too! Like a well-stocked larder, Celtic Folklore Cookingoffers plenty of tempting choices for daily meals or special celebrations. Pick from more than 200 tasty traditional dishes, all nestled among colorful food-related proverbs, poems, tales, customs, and other nuggets of folk wisdom. Each recipe lists ancient and modern holidays associated with the dish so you can select the perfect fare to complement the season. Recipes include: Mushroom and Scallop Pie Heather Wine Pratie Oaten Beestings Pancakes Hot Cross buns Figgy Pudding Boxty on the Griddle Barm Brack Sweet Scones Scotch Eggs Colcannon Cockle Soup Flower Pudding Flummery Mead The ancient Celts celebrated their Sabbats with music, dance, games, food, and drink. Whether you are a solitary practitioner or a part of a larger group, food and drink should always be a part of your festivities, rituals, and ceremonies. This book can be the key to a wide variety of foods that will make you the talk of the town! If you are involved in Celtic traditions, this book is a must. If you simply like unique recipes for foods that are as tasty today as they were hundreds, even thousands of years ago, you'll want this book, too.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; TX717.2 .A83 1998
Publication Date: 2002-09-08
China by Katja SassmannshausenModern megacities, breathtaking natural backdrops and a varied cultural landscape with a long tradition - China captivates with its contrasts and unbelievable diversity. The most populous country in the world can be seen here in over 500 impressive photographs.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; DS712 .K36 2019
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Costa Rica by Petra Ender; Ellen SpielmannCosta Rica captivates with tropical rain forest, high mountain ranges, volcanoes and fertile high valleys with coffee and fruit plantations. The two coasts of the country boast fine white sandy beaches, coral reefs and palm groves. Of special fascination is the versatile fauna and flora which is protected in twenty-seven natural parks. In 280 photographs, this illustrated book shows the impressive beauty of this green oasis.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; F1544 .E53 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Easy Spanish Phrase Book by Lingo MasteryWhat is the hardest challenge you've faced as a student of the Spanish language?You can work hard on your grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation, but being able to communicate naturally isn't easy.In fact, the toughest part of learning Spanish is knowing how to speak like a native.Most textbooks are made to teach you the traditional rules and structures of a language and are great for getting around the grammar and spelling questions you may have.However, how many of them provide you the tools necessary to have a common conversation with a best friend or someone you've just met? Not many at all. Language learners often complain about this - a lack of material that can help you familiarize yourself with the most common phrases used in everyday conversation and in native surroundings.For this reason, we at Lingo Mastery have developed Easy Spanish Phrase Book: Over 1500 Common Phrases for Everyday Use and Travel for you, our favorite language-learner, so that you may find the best expressions for common usage in Spanish speaking countries and communicate with your Spanish friends, colleagues and client without any issue!In this book:? An introduction with a detailed guide on how to pronounce vowels and consonants (as well as their combinations) in the Spanish tongue.? A list of over 1,500 common phrases in Spanish, with an accurate translation in English for your understanding.? A phonetics pronunciation guide of each and every word in the phrases, included after every translation.? Finally, a conclusion to make sure you've learned and supply you with a final list of tips.Your days struggling with natural communication with natives is finally over. Our Easy Spanish Phrase Book is here.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; PC4121 .E27 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-21
Iceland by Petra Ender; Bernhard Mogge; Christian NowakIceland's spectacular landscape is characterized by volcanism and abundance of water. Volcanoes, geysers, thermal springs, and lava fields are typical for the Nordic island state. This illustrated book shows over 350 images of glaciers, rugged peaks, weathered coastline, and Icelandic fjords.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; DL307 .E53 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
India by Katja Sassmannshausen; Thilo ScheuSnow-capped Himalayan mountains, palm-fringed sandy beaches, impenetrable tropical jungles and majestic tigers, wild elephants and brilliant birds are just some of the attractions India has to offer in over 400 photographs in this splendid volume. Besides the scenic beauty, the cultural aspects and the people make this country very special.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; DS406 .S27 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Irish Curses, Blessings, and Toasts by Nicholas NigroThe Irish are renowned for their unrivaled capacity to spin a yarn and tell a story. They have a singular gift for gab and delight in the art of conversation. Being Irish means finding both humor and insight on life's roller coaster ride of highs and lows. Indeed, the Irish narrative is chock-full of wit, fellowship, and merriment, but it is also deeply rooted in a revolutionary past of severe hardship. This volume is an Irish treasure trove of words and sentiments for any and all occasions that both entertains and informs. Here are over 500 quotes that fall into the following categories: Blessings and Toasts; Drinking, Humorous, and Specialty Toasts; Saint Patrick, Saint Brigid, and Special Prayers, Curses, Proverbs, and Sayings; Poetry and Rhymes; He Said, She Said; and Ballads and Songs.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; GR153.5 .N54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Japanese Proverbs by David Galef; Jun Hashimoto (Illustrator); Edward G. Seidensticker (Foreword by)"Destroy a nation, but its mountains and rivers remain."--Japanese proverb This is a collection of 200 Japanese proverbs with illustrations and explanations for each saying. Japanese Proverbs: Wit and Wisdom is a delightfully illustrated compilation of traditional Japanese sayings and maxims. Some of the classic Japanese quotes and quotations, like "Fall down seven times, get up eight," capture the dogged perseverance of the Japanese heart. Others, such as "A red lacquer dish needs no decoration" illuminate both a universal truth and Japan's unique, aesthetic traditions. Japanese Proverbs: Wit and Wisdom has proverbs of great cultural significance as well as proverbs on matters of daily life and customs. Pleasing to expert and new-comer alike, the 200 traditional proverbs in this unique collection are presented in Japanese calligraphy form, along with direct English translations. Similar proverbs are given from English, and the sumi-e style ink drawings are a delight in their own right. Amateurs and Japanese language enthusiasts alike will speak Japanese with the verve and nuance of a native when they use these apt and witty expressions.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; PN6519.J3 G37 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-10
The Lore of Scotland by Jennifer Beatrice Westwood; Sophia KingshillScotland's rich past and varied landscape have inspired an extraordinary array of legends and beliefs, and in The Lore of Scotland Jennifer Westwood and Sophia Kingshill bring together many of the finest and most intriguing: stories of heroes and bloody feuds, tales of giants, fairies, and witches, and accounts of local customs and traditions. Their range extends right across the country, from the Borders with their haunting ballads, via Glasgow, site of St Mungo's miracles, to the fateful battlefield of Culloden, and finally to the Shetlands, home of the seal-people. More than simply retelling these stories, The Lore of Scotland explores their origins, showing how and when they arose and investigating what basis - if any - they have in historical fact. In the process, it uncovers the events that inspired Shakespeare's Macbeth, probes the claim that Mary King's Close is the most haunted street in Edinburgh, and examines the surprising truth behind the fame of the MacCrimmons, Skye's unsurpassed bagpipers. Moreover, it reveals how generations of Picts, Vikings, Celtic saints and Presbyterian reformers shaped the myriad tales that still circulate, and, from across the country, it gathers together legends of such renowned figures as Sir William Wallace, St Columba, and the great warrior Fingal. The result is a thrilling journey through Scotland's legendary past and an endlessly fascinating account of the traditions and beliefs that play such an important role in its heritage.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; GR144 .W47 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Mexico by Stephen West; Marion TrutterMexico stands for barren landscapes and cacti, pyramids and palm beaches, indigenous cultures and scorching sun. The country impresses with its imposing scenery, fascinating archaeological sites and picturesque colonial towns. This volume shows the variety and beauty of Mexico in over 500 stunning photographs.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; F1209 .W47 2018
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs by Jennifer Speake (Editor)This unique and authoritative dictionary contains over 1,100 of the most widely used proverbs in English, utilizing the latest research from Oxford Dictionaries to source them. This edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, broadening the cultural range of the proverbs selected, andcovering sayings of international origins. With a strong emphasis on concisely explaining the meaning of the proverbs described, the dictionary also provides additional examples of usage, and includes a fascinating history for many entries.Arranged in A-Z order and with a useful thematic index, A Dictionary of Proverbs is ideal for browsing and perfectly suited for quick reference. Look up your old favourites, learn punchy new expressions to get your point across, and find the answer to that crossword clue. It is never too late tolearn: find proverbs relevant to every aspect of life in this entertaining and informative collection.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; PN6421 .O94 2015
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Portugal by Susanne Mack; Ralf JohnenPortugal has developed a special cultural landscape due to its location between the Atlantic Ocean and neighboring Spain. North African, Moorish influences have shaped a special cultural landscape that combines with a multi-faceted landscape. In Portugal you will find impressive mountain ranges, dry plains, gentle hills, and rocky cliffs. In over 450 pictures, this volume shows Portugal's extraordinary diversity.
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; DP526 .M33 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Scottish Proverbs by Colin S. K. WalkerProverbs, once described as 'the wisdom of many and the wit of one', offer unique insights the way of life and the social mores of past generations.This book features an introduction which explores the role of proverbs in Scottish culture and over 1,000 proverbs arranged in easily accessible A-Z format. Many have been commonly used for hundreds of years, but modern sayings are also included. The addition of a comprehensive glossary will help you fully appreciate these colourful and often humorous nuggets of wisdom and advice. Jock's a mislear'd imp, but ye're a rum deilJock may be mischievous, but he's well behaved by your standards The fish that sooms in a dub will aye taste o' mudYou can never change your upbringing When ye can suit yer shanks to my shoon, ye may speakDon't speak about me until you've been in a similar situation yourself
Call Number: GLOBAL LEARNING CENTRE ; PN6425.S4 W35 2021