- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Canadian Journal of Medical Laboratory Science is available online in this database. - MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The database includes reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Bailey and Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology by Call Number: QR67 .B37 2022ISBN: 9780323681056Publication Date: 2021-02-25One copy is available for a 3-hour short-term loan.
Genetically Modified Foods by Call Number: TP248.65 .F66 M344 2016ISBN: 9781482242812Publication Date: 2015-06-24- Laboratory safety : CSMLS guidelines. byCall Number: Q183 .A1 S43 2022ISBN: 9781989042014Publication Date: 2022
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by
Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Call Number: R123 .C434 2023ISBN: 9780323479912Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Me Medicine vs. We Medicine by Call Number: RA427.25 .D53 2013ISBN: 9780231159746Publication Date: 2013-06-18
Phlebotomy Essentials, Enhanced Edition with Navigate 2 Premier Access by Call Number: RB45.15 .M33 2021ISBN: 9781284209945Publication Date: 2021
Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by Call Number: QR67 .T49 2023ISBN: 9780323829977Publication Date: 2023-01-17
Tietz fundamentals of clinical chemistry and molecular diagnostics by
"Master clinical lab testing skills with the condensed version of the Tietz Textbook! Designed for use by CLS students, Tietz Fundamentals of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics, 9th Edition provides a streamlined guide to the clinical chemistry knowledge you need to work in a real-world, clinical lab. Coverage ranges from laboratory principles to analytical techniques and instrumentation, analytes, pathophysiology, and more. New content keeps you current with the latest developments in molecular diagnostics. From highly respected clinical chemistry educator Nader Rifai, this textbook shows how to select and perform diagnostic lab tests, and how to accurately evaluate results." -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RB40 .T54 2024ISBN: 9780323935838Publication Date: 2024
Rodak's hematology : clinical principles and applications by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323549639Publication Date: 2022
Clinical Hematology Atlas by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323322492Publication Date: 2016-01-19One print copy is also available for a short-term loan.
Phlebotomy Essentials by ISBN: 1284537188Publication Date: 2021One print copy is also available for a short-term loan.
Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory by
Master the skills you'll need to perform accurate clinical laboratory calculations! Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory, 4th Edition demonstrates the calculations used in the analysis of test specimens. It begins by explaining basic mathematical principles and then covers the types of calculations needed in specific areas of the clinical lab including urinalysis, hematology, and microbiology. Finally, it focuses on the statistical calculations used in quality assurance and quality control. Step-by-step examples reinforce your understanding, and calculation templates and practice problems ensure that you make correct calculations every time. Step-by-step examples explain basic mathematical principles and show you exactly how to perform each type of calculation. Sample problems with answers can also be used as templates for solving laboratory calculations. Practice problems at the end of each chapter provide a self-assessment tool, helping you determine what you need to review. Summaries of important formulas are included at the end of the text's major sections. Coverage of statistical calculations includes standard deviation, as well as calculations associated with quality assurance and quality control. Quick tips and notes make it easier to understand and remember pertinent information. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the chapter material. Full-color design includes 100 illustrations. Useful appendix of Greek symbols provides a quick reference to turn to when studying. Glossary at the back of the textbook includes definitions of important mathematical terms. New! Updated content and calculations reflect the latest procedures used in today's laboratories.
Call Number: RB38.3 .D68 2021ISBN: 9780323554824Publication Date: 2020-08-25
Frederick Novy and the Development of Bacteriology in Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813585093Publication Date: 2017-04-30
A Practical Guide to Transmission Electron Microscopy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1606507044Publication Date: 2015-12-04
- Boundless Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, including titles for teens and children. Access is restricted to SLC students, faculty and staff. Note that all titles are 'one-copy, one-user' titles, each with a 3-week checkout/loan period. Please return titles you are done with before that time so that other users may check them out.
To assist you in browsing the library collection, the following chart provides a breakdown of the Med Lab sections:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
|---|---|
| Genetic Engineering | QH 401-442 |
| Molecular Biology | QH 506 |
| Plant tissue culture | QK 725 |
| Biochemistry | QP 514 |
| DNA Methylation | QP 624 |
| Microbiology | QR |
| Forensic Genetics | RA 1057 |
| Clinical pathology. Laboratory techniques | RB 37 - 56.5 |
| Viruses | RC 150 |
| Pharmaceutical biotechnology | RS 380 |
| Bioremediation / Phytoremediation | TD 192 |
| Chemical Biomedical Engineering | TP 248 |
- CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
The full kanopy website, we have 57 videos available. Faculty may request titles.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.