Administering for Quality by
This sixth edition of Administering for Quality: Leading and Collaborating in Canadian Early Childhood Education Programs is intended to facilitate early childhood educators' understanding of leadership, professional, and advocacy responsibilities. Considering that each educator's influence on young children and families is so lasting, it is important to be prepared for this commitment.
Call Number: Q778.7.C3 C373 2018ISBN: 9780134755625Publication Date: 2018
Child development by
The Second Canadian edition of Santrock Child Development is topically organized, appropriate for a one-semester course, and designed to engage students. This is achieved by delivering content that is diverse, inclusive, and uniquely Canadian. Diversity and inclusion are core to the new Second Canadian Edition, with broader perspectives integrated throughout. Care was taken to ensure the latest Canadian research, statistics and examples are included. This thoughtful Canadian presence allows students to engage and relate to material in the context of child development that's relevant and current. Also new to this edition is an increased focus on mental health, as well as a gentle introduction to neuroscience.
Call Number: RJ131 .S264 2022ISBN: 9781260884777Publication Date: 2022
Close Relations :An Introduction to the Sociology of Families by Call Number: HQ560 .M82 2019ISBN: 9780134652290Publication Date: 2019
Conscious Discipline Expanded and Updated by Call Number: LB 3013 .B265 2021ISBN: 9781889609515Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale by
This title is in the Environment Rating Scale ® Family of Products. Featuring a spiral binding, the updated Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, ® ECERS-R, offers more practical assistance in the form of an Expanded Score Sheet (which contains a worksheet) and additional notes for clarification to improve accuracy in scoring. However, the items and indicators remain the same as in the original ECERS-R. Designed for preschool, kindergarten, and child care classrooms serving children 2½ through 5 years of age, this widely used program quality assessment instrument can be used by program directors for supervision and program improvement, by teaching staff for self-assessment, by agency staff for monitoring, and in teacher training programs. The established reliability and validity of the ECERS-R make it particularly useful for research and program evaluation. Convenient Organization in seven subscales Space and Furnishings Personal Care Routines Language-Reasoning Activities Interaction Program Structure Parents and Staff Each of the 43 items is expressed as a 7-point scale with indicators for 1 (inadequate), 3 (minimal), 5 (good), and 7 (excellent). Notes for clarification and sample questions are included to improve accuracy in scoring. An introductory section gives detailed information about the rationale for the ECERS-R, the process of revision, and the reliability and validity of the scale. Full instructions for administration and scoring, as well as an Expanded Scoresheet and Profile that may be photocopied, are included with the scale.
Call Number: LB3011.5 .H37 2005ISBN: 9780807745496Publication Date: 2004-12-02
Family Matters : An Introduction to Family Sociology in Canada by
Now in its fourth edition, Family Matters offers an enriched discussion on a variety of substantive issues experienced by diverse Canadian families across the life course. Adopting a feminist sociological approach throughout, this popular textbook explores family dynamics through a critical life course theoretical lens. This over-arching perspective is used to examine how social, economic, and historical processes related to gender roles, age and generational location, ethnicity and race, geographical location, and social change shape contemporary family life. As a leading name in sociology, Barbara Mitchell has thoroughly updated the previous edition to reflect timely current events, recent census data, and cutting-edge research. Providing more detailed and nuanced discussions of many areas including life course and other styles of critical theorizing on families, this new edition examines the history of slavery and Black family life in Canada, Indigenous families, foreign/temporary workers, intersectional and racialized processes influencing families, youth activism, transgender children, technology and social media, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on aging families. Approachable, concise, and filled with discussion questions, activities, and resources for further reading, Family Matters is the perfect resource for students enrolled in introductory or advanced level courses in family sociology and gender studies. FEATURES: Up-to-date material featuring current events, recent research studies and statistics, including census and other national data setsnew and expanded content on a wide range of timely topics, such as Indigenous and racialized family life, transgender children, technology and social media, and the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic Includes updated instructor supplement package equipped with PowerPoint slides, video resource suggestions, and a test bank
Call Number: HQ560 .M58 2021ISBN: 9781773382494Publication Date: 2021-08-23
Foundations and Best Practices in Early Childhood Education by Call Number: LB1139.23 .F66 2019ISBN: 9780134747989Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Healthy foundations in early childhood settings by
Healthy Foundations introduces students to the integral role educators play in creating and maintaining a healthy environment, which helps foster growth and development in children. The text promotes and encourages a healthy living philosophy and reinforces the concept that educators play an integral role in maintaining and improving children’s overall health.
Call Number: HQ778.7.C3 P55 2025ISBN: 9781778415388Publication Date: 2025
Learning Language and Loving It by Call Number: LB 1140.5.L3 W45 2002ISBN: 9780921145189Publication Date: 2002-01-01
LGBTQ Youth and Education by
This second edition is essential reading for educators and other school community members who are navigating the increasingly complicated laws and legal rulings related to LGBTQ students, employees, and community members. It combines historical, contemporary, theoretical, and practical information to help educators address exclusionary practices in schools related to gender identity, sexuality, racism, sexism, and other forms of bias that shape student experiences. To enable educators to better understand their obligations to students in relation to policy, staff training, daily school climate, pedagogy, and curriculum, the author has extensively revised this popular text to include updated information on the impact of same-sex marriage legalization and increasing federal recognition of transgender student rights. And because the legal terrain regarding transgender youth has been especially volatile, Mayo provides strategies that educators can use to maintain ethical trans-inclusive teaching, even when local regulations appear to impede transgender inclusivity. Book Features: An examination of the pedagogical, curricular, and policy changes that can improve school experiences for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning) and ally students. A new chapter on gender identity and transgender, nonbinary, and gender expansive student experiences. Current policy and legal information, data, and justification for LGBTQ-equitable and inclusive teaching.
Call Number: LC192.6 .M39 2022ISBN: 9780807766712Publication Date: 2022-02-04
Outdoor and Nature Play in Early Childhood Education by Call Number: LB1139.35.P55 D54 2018ISBN: 9780134742083Publication Date: 2018
Creativity and the Arts in Early Childhood by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1785926144Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Game On! Screen-Free Fun for Children Two and Up by
It appears the days of fun and games for children have been replaced with apps and screen time. Electronic games promote individual play and connect us to screens, not people. Game On! is a collection of 300+ screen-free, traditional games and activities for children and adults that require minimal materials other than people and their brains to play. All games and activities are adaptable according to the players age, their interests, and their abilities. Unplug from screened, individual play and connect with Game On!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781605545486Publication Date: 2018
Nurturing Habits of Mind in Early Childhood by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1416627111Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Yoga and Mindfulness for Young Children: Poses for Play, Learning, and PeaceCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781605546674Publication Date: 2020
To assist you in browsing the library collection, the following chart provides a breakdown of the Early Childhood Education sections:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
|---|---|
| Developmental psychology (including infant and child development) |
BF712 – 724.85 |
| Children’s games and amusements | GV1203 – 1220.8 |
| Children; Child development (including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children’s rights) |
HQ767.8 – 792.2 |
| Sign language | HV2471 – 2476 |
| Child study | LB1101 – 1139 |
| Early childhood education | LB1139.2 – 1139.5 |
| Preschool education; Nursery schools | LB1140 – 1140.5 |
| Kindergarten | LB1141 – 1489 |
| Primary education | LB1501 – 1547 |
| Elementary or public school education | LB1555 – 1602 |
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
- Videatives This link opens in a new window
Early childhood and child development streaming video collection
- CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
The full kanopy website, we have 57 videos available. Faculty may request titles.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.