Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.
-
Criminal Behaviour & Mental HealthOnline: 2000-present
Contains research papers on the causes of crime and delinquency, the treatment of mentally abnormal offenders, the police, the probation service, the courts, the legal process, and the social services. -
International Journal of Law, Crime & JusticeThe International Journal of Law, Crime and Justice is an international and fully peer reviewed journal which welcomes high quality, theoretically informed papers on a wide range of fields linked to criminological research and analysis.
Online: 2008-present -
Safer CommunitiesOnline: 2003-present
-
Victims and OffendersOnline: 2006-present
Provides an international and interdisciplinary forum of research, outcome studies, and evidence-based policies and practices on victimization, victim assistance, offender rehabilitation and treatment, and restorative justice.
-
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
-
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
-
Mini-Lesson for The Silence: The Victims of SilenceRenée Blanchar’s documentary The Silence reveals the extent to which the silence surrounding the sexual abuse perpetrated against children by Catholic priests in New Brunswick created lasting trauma, not just for the victims, but also for their families, friends and community.
- Victims, Consequences, Criminal Justice, Social Reaction
