Libraries and Learning Centres: Personal Support Worker: Library Resources

Suggested Searches

Stuck? Try these search terms to get you started:

Therapeutics
Human anatomy
Alzheimer's disease
Cognitive impaired
Behavioral changes
Fall prevention
Palliative care
Long-term care
Physical assistance
Health care professional
Physical health
Patient care techniques

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Anatomia Collection - U of T This link opens in a new window
Anatomia is a collection of illustrations of human anatomy which are contained within published books, but the texts themselves are not included. The anatomical illustrations chosen for inclusion are, for the most part, full page plates but significant illustrations within the text are also included, as well as the title pages to the books themselves. The site is structured on two interconnected levels - the book level and the plate level.

Please click on "MORE" for important Copyright information.
https://anatomia.library.utoronto.ca/about

In keeping with its mission the University of Toronto Library provides access to the digital materials included in the Anatomia online collection. The images in the online collection are derived from works in the public domain.

Copyright and other rights in the digital images, underlying encoded text, indexing and display of the materials in the Anatomia online collection are held by the University of Toronto Library. The images may be used for the purposes of research, private study, or general interest. For these purposes the images may be viewed and printed without prior permission. Any other use, including publication, redistribution and/or broadcast in any form, including electronic, requires written permission. For reproduction requests please fill out the Digital Photography Order Form and send/fax your request to the address listed on the form.
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
These terms of use cover access via EBSCO and ProQuest's platforms.

A reasonable amount of content may be included in handouts and distributed via course management systems (2.1.1). However, use in electronic reserves is not permitted (2.1.4).
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 900+ full text journals for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative medicine, and consumer health. Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This website provides summaries only.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
The Coronavirus Research Database brings together trusted content from journals, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. This database brings together not only content from open-access journals, but also pre-prints and additional content being made freely available by major publishers from around the world. This versatile content set is designed to help students, researchers, and health care professionals investigate answers to pressing questions arising in the wake of the pandemic. The database will continue to grow as more is learned and new content is published.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides users with high-quality healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Includes 350+ videos.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS’s, and permalinks: these uses are only permitted “so long as each work is retrieved directly from the on-line database system in a manner that causes a ‘hit’ to be registered on the online system for each and every print or digital copy” (clause 3.8).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
PubMed Central® This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS's: abstracts, journal articles, and book chapters may be incorporated into such materials but must be deleted at the end of the academic term. Please consult your library for more information.

Library Instruction Handout