Home

SLC Student and Employee Users

Current full-time and part-time students and employees at St. Lawrence College have full access to our libraries free of charge. Online collections are accessed through slc.me. A valid student or staff card is required to borrow library materials.

  • Information about Student ID Cards is here.

SLC students are responsible for all items borrowed under their library account.

Alumni and Community Users

Alumni Borrowers

Alumni borrowers are graduates of St. Lawrence College certificate, graduate certificate, diploma, collaborative degree and applied degree programs. We welcome St. Lawrence College Alumni to use a variety of library services after graduation. Only current SLC students may access full text subscription databases from off-campus.

Borrowing

Alumni can borrow any item from the circulating general collection. To borrow items from the collection, register for an Alumni Borrower Card at no charge. You can apply for a library card at the service desk at any library location. Photo ID confirming your home address must be shown. 

Students (Queen's, RMC, Other Ontario Colleges)

SLC Library has reciprocal borrowing relationships in place with Queen's University, Royal Military College (RMC), and the 24 Ontario Colleges. Students at these other institutions may apply for a Borrower Card at the library service desk. Valid student ID must be presented as well as valid Photo ID with current/permanent address.

Community Borrowers

Community borrowers are the residents of the areas surrounding St. Lawrence College's three campuses who are not affiliated with St. Lawrence College or another institution as a student, alumnus or staff member. You can apply for a Community Borrower card at the circulation desk at any library location. Photo ID confirming your home address must be shown. 

Borrowing

Community borrowers can use all library items except those in the reserve collection. Borrowing restrictions may apply.

Community/Alumni Services

Available

  • Reference service
  • Inter-campus book loan (Borrowing items from Brockville, Cornwall, or Kingston libraries)
  • Use of library computers during non-peak times (30 minute limit per day)
  • Access to the library's licensed online databases (Access is restricted to on-site visitors only; off-campus access is not available).

Unavailable

  • Off-campus access to the library's licensed databases
  • Inter-library loans (Borrowing items from other institutions)
  • Access to the My Account feature of the library catalogue
  • Placing items on hold
  • Group Space Bookings

Library Services for Community & Alumni

Other Libraries

Queen's University Full-time St. Lawrence College students may purchase a Queen's Library card for $10.00 per academic term ($20 per year for fall and winter semesters) on presentation of a current SLC student card.

Kingston Frontenac Public Library Information about the services and materials provided at the branches of KFPL. The catalogue is available for online searching, and there are also some great Internet links on this site.

Brockville Public Library Information about the services of the Brockville Public Library, and access to their catalogue.

Cornwall Public Library Information about the services and materials provided by the Cornwall Public Library. The catalogue is available for online searching.

Library and Archives Canada Access to the LAC catalogue as well as information about the Library, and good links to sources of Canadian information on the Internet.

Federal Science Library The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place.