Libraries and Learning Centres: Mechanical Technician: Library Resources

Featured Resources

Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.

CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
CSA OnDemand™ provides 24/7 online access to standards collection from the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Group, in English and French, for current and historical standards. St. Lawrence subscribes to 1,861 standards. Note: Create an account (optional) to annotate documents. Printing is restricted. Downloading is restricted on select codes. Watch our short how-to video: https://youtu.be/J2s5dk0hXr8
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A large selection of 200,000+ multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects.
ProQuest College Complete eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access over 50,000 full-text ebooks for college programs. Subject areas covered include: accounting, business, career development and guidance, computers, criminology, engineering and technology, nursing and allied health, human resources, industrial management, project management, vocational education. New - view and request more than 1 million eBooks.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS’s, and e-reserves, and durable URLs: these uses are only permitted “so long as each work is retrieved directly from the on-line database system in a manner that causes a ‘hit’ to be registered on the on-line system for each and every print or digital copy” (clause 3.8).
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science. 900+ open access eBooks and a limited number of SLC-licensed eBooks.
Home Improvement Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. Content can meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The database includes reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS's: abstracts, journal articles, and book chapters may be incorporated into such materials but must be deleted at the end of the academic term. Please consult your library for more information.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first.
This license covers the following resources: Master Academic Collection, Master Career and Technical Education Collection, Nursing Collection, Technical Education Collection, Vet Collection

“Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website [...] Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, link to, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided within Films On Demand.”

“Participating Institutions and their staff may display, download, or print sections of Collection, including screenshots, for the purpose of internal marketing or testing, or for training Authorized Users or groups of Authorized Users.”
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
The full kanopy website, we have 57 videos available. Faculty may request titles.
If experiencing issues, please use these screenshots as a guide and follow the YELLOW highlighted buttons as they appear on the Kanopy website:
1) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k1.png
2) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k2.png
3) https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/3698/images/k3.png

"[...] the following uses are Authorized Uses of the Products and Institution Content: (1) adding videos into the LMS or other electronic learning environments - either by embedding the video or linking; (2) displaying videos or creating and printing screenshots of videos for the purposes of internal marketing, testing, or training."
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true
National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
Members of the college community have access to everything with the CAMPUS icon and any free titles.
Features for faculty and staff:
- Study Guides
- Custom tools include:
  - Create your own clips
  - Create your own playlists
Faculty requiring access need to request a Token URL to register. Email us for the Token URL.

Library Instruction Handout