About
This guide provides links to selected resources available from the SLC Libraries on the topics of Global Learning, Internationalization, Study Abroad, Intercultural Competency, and supporting International students. This is not an exhaustive list of resources, but a starting point for exploration. Additional topic resources include: English Language Learners/ESL Guide, Equity/Diversity/Inclusion and Belonging, Anti-Racism and Discrimination, Indigenous, 2SLBGTQ+. More resources on teaching and learning are available on the Faculty Services page. To suggest resources please contact Libraries@sl.on.ca.
- Global Learning at SLC: Faculty-Led Global Learning OpportunitiesFaculty-led program is a short-term academic course that allows you to earn academic credits while experiencing new culture in order to further develop your global skills. A SLC faculty teaches the course and leads the trip to an oversea location to implement the experiential learning component of the course.
- Global Learning BursarySLC students interested in an exchange, overseas work placement and other global learning opportunities, may submit a Global Learning Bursary Application.
Suggested Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. - Hospitality and Tourism Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
- World History Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. - Oxford Dictionaries Premium (English) This link opens in a new window
A high-quality English language dictionary, thesaurus, grammar and usage guide. Also includes writing help and games.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Current complete version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and recommended Web sites, atlases, biographies, news, etc.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 10,000+ International newspapers. - Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content from four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Includes articles in French.
- CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
eBooks
Intercultural Transitions in Higher Education: International Student Adjustment and Adaptation by
Universities are among the most dynamic contemporary arenas for intercultural contact, and one of the most interesting phenomena for social interaction studies, both conceptually and empirically. There are around four million people worldwide studying abroad, with numbers growing. Theseinternational student sojourns are, first and foremost, social experiences, with social interaction being both a success factor for and outcome of intercultural transition. But what's it like being an "international" student? How is the experience different from studying "at home", and what mightmake it a success, or otherwise? This volume details how recent research has attempted to answer these questions and others related to the transition between different national learning environments, and shows how it is helping to inform debates, policy and practice on the international student experience.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781474431217Publication Date: 2020
The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education by
The movement away from teacher-centered toward student-centered learning and teaching (SCLT) in higher education has intensified in recent decades. Yet in spite of its widespread use in literature and policy documents, SCLT remains somewhat poorly defined, under-researched and often misinterpreted. Against this backdrop, The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education offers an original, comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the fundamentals of SCLT and its discussion and applications in policy and practice. Bringing together 71 scholars from around the world, the volume offers a most comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the fundamentals of SCLT and its applications in policy and practice; provides beacons of good practice that display how instructional expertise manifests itself in the quality of classroom learning and teaching and in the institutional environment; and critically discusses challenges, new directions and developments in pedagogy, course and study program design, classroom practice, assessment and institutional policy. An essential resource, this book uniquely offers researchers, educators and students in higher education new insights into the roots, latest thinking, practices and evidence surrounding SCLT in higher education.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429259371Publication Date: 2020-07-29
The Essential Guide to Studying Abroad by
This book is an indispensable how-to guide on flourishing when studying abroad, and how to use an international education to begin a fulfilling career after graduation. Written in an engaging and accessible style, using many examples, case studies, and links to resources, the book reduces the stress of studying abroad. Covering all aspects of the international student experience - inside and outside the classroom - the book encourages young people to perform their very best and succeed in their new environment. International students preparing for cross-cultural learning and recent graduates looking for employment will find this book both practical and inspiring.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780367235154Publication Date: 2019-08-19
The Art of World Learning: Community Engagement for a Sustainable Planet by
This is a visionary, consciousness-raising book that asks us to rethink the purposes and design of study away and study abroad experiences in the context of a broadened set of global threats, including climate disruption, soaring inequality, ecosystem breakdown, the dying off of distinct languages and cultural communities, and the threat of a nuclear catastrophe. As we ask students to truly comprehend this world from the privileged perspective of the global North, Rich Slimbach asks us to consider two fundamental questions: What and how should we learn? And having learned, for what should we use what we know? A panoply of pedagogies and methods of inquiry - from study away/abroad and service-based learning to diversity programming, environmental education, and community-based research - aim to develop students who both understand the challenges faced by global communities and act in ways that advance their social and environmental health. What temperaments, social habits, and intellectual abilities will they need to help heal their corner of creation? And what pedagogical perspectives, principles, and procedures can best support them in this creative challenge? Rich Slimbach argues that transforming student consciousness and life choices requires a global learning curriculum that integrates multi disciplinary inquiry into the structural causes of problems that riddle the common good, along with mechanisms that bid students to cross borders, to pay attention, and to listen to those unlike themselves. At its heart, this book proposes a truly transformative approach to community-engaged global learning.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781579229658Publication Date: 2020
Putting the Local in Global Education by
The position taken in this volume is that domestic off-campus study can be just as powerful a transformative learning experience as study overseas, and that domestic programs can equally expand students' horizons, their knowledge of global issues and processes, their familiarity and experience with cultural diversity, their intercultural skills, and sense of citizenship. This book presents both the rationale for and examples of "study away", an inclusive concept that embraces study abroad while advocating for a wide variety of domestic study programs, including community-based education programs that employ academic service-learning and internships. With the growing diversification--regionally, demographically, culturally, and socio-economically--of developed economies such as the US, the local is potentially a "doorstep to the planet" and presents opportunities for global learning. Moreover, study away programs can address many of the problematic issues associated with study abroad, such as access, finance, participation, health and safety, and faculty support. Between lower costs, the potential to increase the participation of student cohorts typically under-represented in study abroad, the lowering of language barriers, and the engagement of faculty whose disciplines focus on domestic issues, study at home can greatly expand the reach of global learning. The book is organized in five sections, the first providing a framework and the rationale for domestic study way programs; addressing administrative support for domestic vs. study abroad programs; exploring program goals, organization, structure, assessment and continuous improvement; and considering the distinct pedagogies of experiential and transformative education. The second section focuses on Semester Long Faculty Led Programs, featuring examples of programs located in a wide variety of locations - from investigations into history, immigration, culture, and the environment through localities in the West and the Lowcountry to exploring globalization in L.A and New York. Section three highlights five Short Term Faculty Led Programs. While each includes an intensive immersive study away experience, two illustrate how a 7 - 10 day study away experience can be effectively embedded into a regular course taught on campus. The fourth section, on Consortium Programs, describes programs that are either sponsored by a college that makes its program available to consortium members and non-members, or is offered by an independent non-for-profit to which institutions send their students. The final section on Community Engagement and Domestic Study Away addresses the place of community-based education in global learning and provides examples of academic programs that employ service-learning as a tool for collaborative learning, focusing on issues of pedagogy, faculty development and the building long-term reciprocal relationship with community partners to co-create knowledge. The book is intended for study abroad professionals, multicultural educators, student affairs professionals, alternative spring break directors, and higher education administrators concerned about affordably expanding global education opportunities.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781620361696Publication Date: 2015
Improving Library Services in Support International Students by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780838946251Publication Date: 2019
International Students' Challenges, Strategies and Future Vision by
Study abroad is now both an international industry and an experience that can have a deep impact on students' linguistic, cultural and personal development. This book explores 'the social turn' in the fields of study abroad and language learning strategies. The longitudinal qualitative study reported in this volume investigates the international educational experiences of Arab university students from diverse countries (Iraq, Libya, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Syria and the United Arab Emirates) and represents one of the few empirical studies to capture an in-depth understanding of the study abroad experiences of newly-arrived international students in higher education. Particular attention is paid to their changing learning goals, underlying motivations and strategy uses during their attendance on both short and long academic programmes in a study abroad context. It also examines their past language learning experiences in their homelands retrospectively. Readers will gain a better understanding of international students' study abroad experiences in terms of their expectations, aspirations, diverse difficulties and the strategies they deploy to deal with these difficulties.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781788922234Publication Date: 2018
Cultural Intelligence: Surviving and Thriving in the Global Village by
Succeed in Any Culture, in Every Situation In today's global economy, the ability to interact effectively across cultures is a fundamental job requirement for just about everyone. But it's impossible to learn the customs and traits of every single culture. David Thomas and Kerr Inkson present a universal set of techniques and people skills that will allow you to adapt quickly to, and thrive in, any cultural environment. You'll learn to discard your own culturally based assumptions and pay careful attention, in a mindful and creative way, to cues in cross-cultural situations. The authors show how to apply cultural intelligence in a series of specific situations- making decisions; communicating, negotiating, and resolving conflicts; leading and motivating others; and designing, managing, and contributing to multicultural groups and teams. This extensively revised third edition has been updated with new stories showing cultural intelligence in action. Thomas and Inkson have broadened the focus beyond business to include organizations of all kinds-nonprofits, governments, educational institutions, and more. And they include a reliable and valid measure of cultural intelligence based on a decade of research by an international team of scholars.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781626568655Publication Date: 2017
Multiculturalism on Campus by
As the diversity of the students on campus increases, the importance for everyone in authority to understand students' distinct cultures and how they perceive our institutions, and equally, to understand our own privilege, and often unconscious cultural assumptions, has never been greater. This book presents a comprehensive set of resources to guide students of education, faculty, higher education administrators, and student affairs leaders in creating an inclusive environment for under-represented groups on campus. It is intended as a guide to gaining a deeper understanding of the various multicultural groups on college campuses for faculty in the classroom and professional staff who desire to understand the complexity of the students they serve, as well as reflect on their own values and motivations. The contributors introduce the reader to the relevant theory, models, practices, and assessment methods to prepare for, and implement, a genuinely multicultural environment. Recognizing that cultural identity is more than a matter of ethnicity and race, they equally address factors such as gender, age, religion, and sexual orientation. In the process, they ask the reader to assess his or her own levels of multicultural sensitivity, awareness, and competence. The book approaches multiculturalism from three perspectives, each of which comprises a separate section: awareness; cultural populations; and cultural competence practice. Section One defines multiculturalism and multicultural competence, considers changing student demographics, explores the impact environment has on culture, and provides the readers with criteria for assessing their cultural competence and awareness of their own racial identity. Section Two addresses the cultural characteristics of specific ethnic or cultural populations, emphasizing their commonalities, and describing programs and practices that have successfully promoted their development. Each chapter includes discussion questions, and/or suggested activities that practitioners can undertake on their own campuses. Individual chapters respectively cover the culture and experiences of African Americans, Asian and Pacific Island Americans, Latinas/os, Native Americans, biracial and multiracial students, the disabled, international students, non-traditional students, students of faith, women, lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, and analyze White Americans' attitudes to issues of privilege, racial identity, and social justice. The inclusion of a chapter on the cultural characteristics of White students provides an opportunity for members of the majority culture to perceive of themselves in a cultural sense, and to appreciate their own culture as a first step in allowing them to recognize and appreciate other cultures. The concluding section offers suggestions on how to use the book's insights to achieve systemic change in the college environment. The book is intended as a text for students, and as a practical guide for faculty, academic administrators, student affairs professionals, and others who want to foster an environment in which all students can succeed. It includes case studies, discussion questions, examples of best practice, and recommends resources to use in the classroom.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781579224639Publication Date: 2011
Culture Crossing by
Thrive in the multicultural communities where you work and live People, money, and information are flowing faster than ever across international borders, putting us all just one step away from a culture crash--that moment when you unintentionally confuse, frustrate, or offend someone from another culture. Are you struggling with trying to learn the customs, nuances, and hot buttons of every culture you might come into contact with? Michael Landers guides you toward a better solution: becoming aware of your own cultural "baggage." You'll learn to sidestep the knee-jerk reactions that can get you into trouble and develop the agility to adjust your behaviors and expectations as needed. Through a mix of entertaining and instructive stories, valuable insights, and eye-opening self-assessments, Culture Crossing offers an essential primer for improving all your interactions with people from any background.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781626567122Publication Date: 2017-01-09
