- Journal Search
Search all online journals available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
- Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National and leading regional newspapers, such as the National Post, the Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the Calgary Herald, the Edmonton Journal, the Montreal Gazette, and the Ottawa Citizen.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
- SocINDEX with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database that also includes some full text books and conference papers.
101 Mindful Arts-Based Activities to Get Children and Adolescents Talking by Call Number: RJ505 .A7 A15 2017ISBN: 9781785927317Publication Date: 2016
Doing Ethics in Child and Youth Care by Call Number: HV10.5 .D65 2021ISBN: 9781773382760Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Essentials of Abnormal Psychology by Call Number: RC454 .E88 2018ISBN: 9780134048703Publication Date: 2018
Family matters : an introduction to family sociology in Canada by
Now in its fourth edition, Family Matters offers an enriched discussion on a variety of substantive issues experienced by diverse Canadian families across the life course. Adopting a feminist sociological approach throughout, this popular textbook explores family dynamics through a critical life course theoretical lens. This over-arching perspective is used to examine how social, economic, and historical processes related to gender roles, age and generational location, ethnicity and race, geographical location, and social change shape contemporary family life. As a leading name in sociology, Barbara Mitchell has thoroughly updated the previous edition to reflect timely current events, recent census data, and cutting-edge research. Providing more detailed and nuanced discussions of many areas including life course and other styles of critical theorizing on families, this new edition examines the history of slavery and Black family life in Canada, Indigenous families, foreign/temporary workers, intersectional and racialized processes influencing families, youth activism, transgender children, technology and social media, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on aging families. Approachable, concise, and filled with discussion questions, activities, and resources for further reading, Family Matters is the perfect resource for students enrolled in introductory or advanced level courses in family sociology and gender studies. FEATURES: Up-to-date material featuring current events, recent research studies and statistics, including census and other national data setsnew and expanded content on a wide range of timely topics, such as Indigenous and racialized family life, transgender children, technology and social media, and the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic Includes updated instructor supplement package equipped with PowerPoint slides, video resource suggestions, and a test bank
Call Number: HQ560 .M58 2021ISBN: 9781773382494Publication Date: 2021-08-23
LGBTQ Youth and Education by
This second edition is essential reading for educators and other school community members who are navigating the increasingly complicated laws and legal rulings related to LGBTQ students, employees, and community members. It combines historical, contemporary, theoretical, and practical information to help educators address exclusionary practices in schools related to gender identity, sexuality, racism, sexism, and other forms of bias that shape student experiences. To enable educators to better understand their obligations to students in relation to policy, staff training, daily school climate, pedagogy, and curriculum, the author has extensively revised this popular text to include updated information on the impact of same-sex marriage legalization and increasing federal recognition of transgender student rights. And because the legal terrain regarding transgender youth has been especially volatile, Mayo provides strategies that educators can use to maintain ethical trans-inclusive teaching, even when local regulations appear to impede transgender inclusivity. Book Features: An examination of the pedagogical, curricular, and policy changes that can improve school experiences for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer or questioning) and ally students. A new chapter on gender identity and transgender, nonbinary, and gender expansive student experiences. Current policy and legal information, data, and justification for LGBTQ-equitable and inclusive teaching.
Call Number: LC192.6 .M39 2022ISBN: 9780807766712Publication Date: 2022-02-04
Positive Child Guidance by Call Number: HQ769 .M5325 2016ISBN: 9781305088993Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Social Work and Family Violence, Second Edition by Call Number: HV6626.2 .M42 2017ISBN: 9780826133489Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Terminology of Communication Disorders by
The leading dictionary/sourcebook of terms for speech, language, and hearing pathology, Terminology of Communication Disorders is intended for students in speech, language, and hearing disorders programs, faculty, and practitioners. Terms are listed alphabetically and cross-referenced for synonyms and related terms, accommodating the sometimes complex classifications of Speech, Language, and Hearing disorders.
Call Number: RC423 .N52 2004ISBN: 9780781741965Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Treating Trauma and Traumatic Grief in Children and Adolescents, Second Edition by Call Number: RJ506.P55 C66 2017ISBN: 9781462528400Publication Date: 2017-02-16
What Happened to You? by Call Number: RC 455.4 .N3 P47 2021ISBN: 9781250223180Publication Date: 2021-04-27
A Tapestry of Relational Child and Youth Care Competencies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781773380346Publication Date: 2019
Necessary but Not Sufficient : Improving Community Living for Youth After Residential Mental Health Programs by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781487507282Publication Date: 2020
Child Abuse: Overview and Evaluation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610022903Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Creative Ideas for Solution Focused Practice by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784504977Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Promoting Mental Health in Children and Adolescents by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610022279Publication Date: 2018-10-01
- Videatives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early childhood and child development streaming video collection - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
- Boundless Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, including titles for teens and children. Access is restricted to SLC students, faculty and staff. Note that all titles are 'one-copy, one-user' titles, each with a 3-week checkout/loan period. Please return titles you are done with before that time so that other users may check them out.
| Subject | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Developmental psychology | BF713-724 |
| Social service-social work | HV40-69 |
| Children | HV713 |
| Young adults-Youth | HV1421-1441 |
| Homelessness | HV4505 |
| Alcoholism | HV5132 |
| Juvenile delinquency | KE9445 |
| Child psychiatry | RJ506 |