Libraries and Learning Centres: Communicative Disorders Assistant: Library Resources

Featured Resources

Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
These terms of use cover access via EBSCO and ProQuest's platforms.

Regarding use in content management systems, course packs, and electronic reserve collections:
- A reasonable amount of content may be included in handouts and distributed via course management systems. (2.1.1)
- Use in electronic course packs is permitted, as well as in non-electronic non-print perceptible form (such as audio or Braille) when necessary, but use in “print, CD-ROM, DVD, or any other physical means shall be prohibited.” (2.1.4)
- Access to course packs and e-reserves must be secure and restricted to Authorized Users who are registered students of the relevant course. (2.1.4)
- Copies of course packs and e-reserves must be deleted when they are no longer in use for the relevant course. (2.1.4)
- Use in course packs and e-reserves must include attribution, “;listing title and author of the extract, title and author of the work, and the name of the publisher.” (2.1.4)
APA PsycBooks® This link opens in a new window
Full text PDF chapters from over 4000 books. Includes over 1500 entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
These terms of use cover access via EBSCO and ProQuest's platforms.

Regarding use in content management systems, course packs, and electronic reserve collections:
- A reasonable amount of content may be included in handouts and distributed via course management systems. (2.1.1)
- Use in electronic course packs is permitted, as well as in non-electronic non-print perceptible form (such as audio or Braille) when necessary, but use in "print, CD-ROM, DVD, or any other physical means shall be prohibited." (2.1.4)
- Access to course packs and e-reserves must be secure and restricted to Authorized Users who are registered students of the relevant course. (2.1.4)
- Copies of course packs and e-reserves must be deleted when they are no longer in use for the relevant course. (2.1.4)
- Use in course packs and e-reserves must include attribution, "listing title and author of the extract, title and author of the work, and the name of the publisher." (2.1.4)
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
These terms of use cover access via EBSCO and ProQuest's platforms.

A reasonable amount of content may be included in handouts and distributed via course management systems (2.1.1). However, use in electronic reserves is not permitted (2.1.4).
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.

Library Instruction Handout
Sound Skills
from Peel School Board
390 pages, black and white