Any questions or concerns about accessibility at St. Lawrence College can be directed to Student Wellness & Accessibility (SWA).

To request current course textbooks in an alternative format, please fill out this form. Students are still required to purchase their course materials and provide us with proof of purchase. Book receipt(s) or invoice(s) must contain the following: 

• book title(s)
• place of purchase
• date of purchase
• amount paid

SLC Libraries makes every effort to serve our communities and facilitate requests for new material or alternative formats for all of our patrons. If you have a request or recommendation for the library collection, please contact altmedia@sl.on.ca. However, individuals with a verified "perceptual disability" are eligible to use the provincial Accessible Content e-Portal (ACE) service to make library book requests.

What is ACE?

The Accessible Content e-Portal (ACE) is a collaborative project that supports users with print and perceptual disabilities at participating Ontario colleges and universities by making library collections accessible through an online platform. ACE contains a variety of library books which have been digitized and made available in accessible formats.

How do I access ACE?

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternative formats for print material held in our Library collection, including colour and black and white PDFs, DAISY, ePub and plain text. ACE is a service provided by Scholars Portal.

This service is limited to library users with a documented "perceptual disability" as per the Copyright Act. Contact altmedia@sl.on.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have received an ACE token:

• Log into ACE to access the portal
• Watch the getting started and searching the portal tutorials.
• Visit the ACE Portal Guide.

If the book you need is not available in ACE, contact  altmedia@sl.on.ca as we are able to initiate the digitization of unique items.

If you do not meet this eligibility, we will work with you to find library or other materials in different formats. We can also add different formats to our collection upon request and vendor/publisher availability. Not every publisher makes content available in alternate formats for us to acquire. 

Eligibility

In accordance with the Communication and Information Standards of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, St. Lawrence College Library will provide, upon request, an accessible or conversion ready format of print-based resources held in its collection* to registered students, faculty or staff with a verified “perceptual disability” in accordance with the definition provided in the Canadian Copyright Act.

The Canadian Copyright Act defines a “perceptual disability” as follows:

Canadian Copyright Act

“perceptual disability” means a disability that prevents or inhibits a person from reading or hearing a literary, musical, dramatic or artistic work in its original format, and includes such a disability resulting from

(a) severe or total impairment of sight or hearing or the inability to focus or move one’s eyes,
(b) the inability to hold or manipulate a book, or
(c) an impairment relating to comprehension;

*Special collections, archival materials, rare books and donations are exempt under this standard.

General

stlawrencecollege.libguides.com strives to ensure that its services are accessible to people with disabilities. stlawrencecollege.libguides.com has invested a significant amount of resources to help ensure that its website is made easier to use and more accessible for people with disabilities, with the strong belief that every person has the right to live with dignity, equality, comfort and independence.

Disclaimer

stlawrencecollege.libguides.com continues its efforts to constantly improve the accessibility of its site and services in the belief that it is our collective moral obligation to allow seamless, accessible and unhindered use also for those of us with disabilities.

Despite our efforts to make all pages and content on stlawrencecollege.libguides.com fully accessible, some content may not have yet been fully adapted to the strictest accessibility standards. This may be a result of not having found or identified the most appropriate technological solution.

Here For You

If you are experiencing difficulty with any content on stlawrencecollege.libguides.com or require assistance with any part of our site, please contact us during normal business hours and we will be happy to assist.

Contact Us

If you wish to report an accessibility issue, have any questions or need assistance, please contact stlawrencecollege.libguides.com as follows:

Email: kmcmillan@sl.on.ca

Colour contrasts via WebAIM contrast checker