Active Learning Strategies in Higher Education by ISBN: 1787149447Publication Date: 2018-04-06This book explores best practices for effective active learning in higher education. Experienced instructors from different disciplines and countries share their experiences and reflect on best practices, as well as on the theoretical underpinnings of active learning. Contributors share their thinking on strategies based on different active learning methods such as the use of ICTs, collaborative learning and experiential learning, as well as their implications for teaching, assessment, curriculum design and higher education administration. Active learning provides skills for real life problem solving and prepares students to become responsible and active citizens. This book will be a very significant resource for educators who are interested in making a difference in students' lives.
The Effective Facilitator's Handbook by ISBN: 9781416631699Publication Date: 2023-01-24A one-stop shop to answer your most pressing questions about what it takes to facilitate. Workshops, committees, teams, and study groups are a regular part of an educator's professional life, and any educator can find themselves in the facilitator role, with a responsibility to aid the group in achieving its goals. The Effective Facilitator's Handbook is here to help. Professional development expert Cathy A. Toll has written a guide for busy facilitators, starting with four simple rules for successful facilitation: listen, start with the end in mind, lead with productive tools, and stay organized.
Teach Happier This School Year by ISBN: 9781416631668Publication Date: 2023-01-05In this inventive new book-part professional development resource, part personal journal-educator, author, and podcaster Suzanne Dailey contends that small shifts bring big gifts: that is, small positive changes, practiced over time, will help you feel more balanced, content, and aligned. To help you on this path, Dailey provides 40 readings and reflections, aligned to the weeks of the school year and designed to ensure that you glean joy and insight from every moment inside and outside the classroom.
Applying Theory to Educational Research by ISBN: 9781119950851Publication Date: 2011-10-07Applying Theory to Educational Research provides new educational researchers with a uniquely accessible introduction to the process of selecting and applying theories in their own work. Written by a team of leading educationalists writing from the perspective of new researchers, clearly structured chapters introduce individual theorists and their ideas, present their applications and limitations, and provide extensive references and suggestion for further reading.
Applying the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Beyond the Individual Classroom by ISBN: 0253042852Publication Date: 2019-08-29A survey of exemplary SoTL research projects and the use of their results on a broader scale. This volume features examples of SoTL research conducted in, and applied to, a variety of contexts and disciplines, offering a theoretical framework for an expanded vision of SoTL--one that moves beyond the individual classroom.
The Contemplative Mind in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by ISBN: 0253033357Publication Date: 2017-12-11In The Contemplative Mind in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Patricia Owen-Smith considers how contemplative practices may find a place in higher education. By creating a bridge between contemplative practices and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL), Owen-Smith brings awareness of contemplative pedagogy to a larger audience of college instructors, while also offering classroom models and outlining the ongoing challenges of both defining these practices and assessing their impact in education.
The Educational Turn by ISBN: 9789811989506Publication Date: 2023-03-19This open access book explores how educational researchers working at the edges of innovations in languages and literacies, leadership, assessment, social and cultural transformation, and pedagogies rethink the educational turn in new sites. It engages with the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) for educational researchers to redefine ways of knowing about learning post-COVID and deepen collective understanding of student learning and teaching for next practices to emerge.
Learning from Each Other by ISBN: 9780520969032Publication Date: 2018-08-21Learning from Each Other includes 20 original chapters written by well-known experts in the field of teaching and learning. Conceived for both new and experienced faculty at community colleges, four-year institutions, and research-intensive universities, the volume also addresses the interests of faculty and graduate students in programs designed to prepare future faculty and campus individuals responsible for faculty professional development.
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by ISBN: 9780198821212Publication Date: 2018-07-03The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: A Guide for Scientists, Engineers, and Mathematicians shows college and university faculty members how to draw on their disciplinary knowledge and teaching experience to investigate questions about student learning. It takes readers all the way through the inquiry process beginning with framing a research question and selecting a research design, moving on to gathering and analyzing evidence, and finally to making the results public.
SoTL in Action by ISBN: 9781620366929Publication Date: 2018-10-09By unpacking SoTL processes through rich narratives that illustrate what they look like, this collection offers inspiration to anyone at any stage of engagement with SoTL. This book takes discussions of SoTL to a new level. Its subtitle reflects the microscopic lenses SoTL processes can apply to student learning experiences to understand how they happen, what they look like, what they mean, and what we can do about them. Going beyond definitions, how-to, theory, and debates about methods and standards, the contributors offer a SoTL primer documenting how practitioners have intentionally thought through key moments in their work.
Developing Faculty Learning Communities at Two-Year Colleges by ISBN: 9781579228453Publication Date: 2013-03-11This book introduces community college faculty and faculty developers to the use of faculty learning communities (FLCs) as a means for faculty themselves to investigate and surmount student learning problems they encounter in their classrooms, and as an effective and low-cost strategy for faculty developers working with few resources to stimulate innovative teaching that leads to student persistence and improved learning outcomes.
Reconceptualizing Faculty Development in Service-Learning/Community Engagement by ISBN: 1620366142Publication Date: 2018-09-04This edited volume provides educational developers and community engagement professionals an analysis of approaches to faculty development around service-learning and community engagement. Using an openly self-reflective approach, the contributors to this volume offer an array of examples and models, as well as realistic strategies, to empower readers to evolve their faculty development efforts in service-learning and community engagement on their respective campuses.
- Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and LearningAn open access online journal dedicated to publishing quality peer-reviewed articles and essays in French and English that address teaching and learning interests of universities and colleges across Canada.
- The Chronicle of Higher EducationIn addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, which are not archived
- Innovations in education and teaching internationalPromotes innovation and good practice in higher education and post-school education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices.
- Innovative higher educationFeatures research on current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action for higher education institutions, including innovations at the organization and policy level as well as innovations that improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in higher education. It also focuses on innovative approaches to teaching and learning and the potential influence of such innovations on students and faculty.
- Journal of faculty developmentPublishes research and scholarship on innovation in faculty development that is relevant for administrators, faculty members, and faculty development professionals.
- New directions for teaching and learningA unique blend of theory, research, and practice to leaders in postsecondary education
- Open Scholarship of Teaching and LearningThe journal aims to publish work in the area of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in all areas of higher education.
- Scholarship of teaching and learning in psychologyFeatures teacher-ready reviews of current research and contemporary theories as well as empirical research designed to foster systematic intentional changes to improve teaching and learning outcomes.
- Studies in higher educationA leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective
- Teaching & learning inquiryFeatures original research and commentary on the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education.
- Teaching in higher educationSeeks to develop a discourse of teaching and learning which transcends disciplinary boundaries and specialisms whilst drawing upon the rigour of a range of disciplines. It takes a view of learning which entails concepts of transformation and critique in relation to dominant traditions and visions
- Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning JournalA forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
- Faculty FocusA free newsletter and website, dedicated to teachers and instructors. Faculty Focus provides insight into what’s working (and what’s not) for in-person classrooms, online classrooms, and hybrid classrooms.
- International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and LearningThe International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Inc. serves faculty members, staff, and students who care about teaching and learning as serious intellectual work. Through building intellectual and collaborative infrastructure, the Society supports the associational life that fosters scholarly work about teaching and learning.
- POD NetworkNorth America’s largest educational development community
- Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Annotated Literature DatabaseAn annotated literature resource for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) with helpful summaries of key literature that will support your practice or research in postsecondary teaching and learning.
- Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher EducationSTLHE is a diverse and vibrant community composed of those committed to excellence in teaching and learning in higher education. The Society supports the collaboration of educators and students in sharing expertise, resources, and innovative ideas to develop skills and knowledge that enhance teaching and learning in classrooms, labs, and institutions across Canada
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
Members of the college community have access to everything with the CAMPUS icon and any free titles.
Features for faculty and staff:
- Study Guides
- Custom tools include:
- Create your own clips
- Create your own playlists
Faculty requiring access need to request a Token URL to register. Email us for the Token URL.
Presentation recordings are available on MS Stream. Slides from past workshops: