Libraries and Learning Centres: Veterinary Studies: Library Resources

Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Regarding use in course packs, CMS's: abstracts, journal articles, and book chapters may be incorporated into such materials but must be deleted at the end of the academic term. Please consult your library for more information.
VetFolio (Registration Required) This link opens in a new window
Online educational resources from the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC). Students can register for a free account by providing proof of enrollment in a Veterinary Technology or Assistant program.
In order to qualify for a Student Subscription to VetFolio, you must provide Proof of Enrollment that you are actively enrolled at a degree seeking institution for one of the following roles:

Veterinarian
Veterinary Technician/Nurse
Veterinary Assistant

Proof of Enrollment that will be accepted includes:
A letter from the College Dean or Department Head confirming active enrollment
A screenshot of your online learning portal showing your name, active courses and dates of enrollment

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Support@VetFolio.com

Please allow up to 48 business hours for your request to process.

Towel Wrap Techniques for Handling Cats with Skill and Ease by Yin, Sophia A.
Call Number: SF446.5 .Y56 2013
ISBN: 0983789266
Publication Date: 2013
Creating a pet-friendly hospital, animal shelter, or petcare business by Yin, Sophia A. "Creating a "pet-friendly" hospital, shelter or petcare business is a simple, inexpensive path to improved efficiency, increased staff safety, happy pets, and clients who feel a bond with your business. Learn how in this DVD taken from a half-day seminar given by veterinarian and animal behaviorist Dr. Sophia Yin."-- container.
Call Number: SF433 .Y56 2013
ISBN: 9780983789253
Publication Date: 2013

Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
**Apple devices** Our system is based on Google Chrome, in order to stream on Apple devices you need to download and install SWANK MEDIA PLAYER (available for FREE on the Apple Store).
Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
The license terms for this product stipulate that usage is for educational purposes only. Screensharing content via online videoconferencing software is not permitted. Please contact your library for more information.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first.
This license covers the following resources: Master Academic Collection, Master Career and Technical Education Collection, Nursing Collection, Technical Education Collection, Vet Collection

“Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website [...] Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, link to, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided within Films On Demand.”

“Participating Institutions and their staff may display, download, or print sections of Collection, including screenshots, for the purpose of internal marketing or testing, or for training Authorized Users or groups of Authorized Users.”
Films on Demand Veterinary Science This link opens in a new window
Includes basic veterinary procedures, anatomy, physiology, and behaviour.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first.
This license covers the following resources: Master Academic Collection, Master Career and Technical Education Collection, Nursing Collection, Technical Education Collection, Vet Collection

“Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website [...] Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, link to, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided within Films On Demand.”

“Participating Institutions and their staff may display, download, or print sections of Collection, including screenshots, for the purpose of internal marketing or testing, or for training Authorized Users or groups of Authorized Users.”
National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.

Library Instruction Handout