Featured Resources
Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health and health care delivery in Canada by Call Number: Reserves ; RA449 .T46 2024ISBN: 9780323872881Publication Date: 2024
Fundamentals of health information management by Call Number: Reserves ; RA976 .F85 2013ISBN: 9780987862914Publication Date: 2013
ICD-10-CA/CCI classification primer by Call Number: Reserves RB115 .F544 2022ISBN: 9781778190407Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Health Informatics: a Canadian perspective by Call Number: R858 .E46 2023ISBN: 9781773383545Publication Date: 2023-05-31
Medical Terminology and Anatomy for Coding by
Medical Terminology & Anatomy for Coding, 4th Edition is unlike any other medical terminology textbook on the market! With interspersed ICD-10 and CPT coding guidelines and notes, electronic medical records, and integrated exercises, it combines anatomy and physiology coverage with the latest medical terminology needed by coders and coding students. The ICD-10-CM classification system serves as the structure for organizing diseases and disorders, with carefully drawn, well-labelled illustrations to help you visualize the associated anatomy. A new Infectious Disease Process Basics appendix provides the terminology and physiology of infectious diseases. Updated CPT coding information indicates where physician coding differs from ICD-10 coding. UNIQUE! Anatomy and physiology content covers everything students need to know to code in ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, and CPT. UNIQUE! Pathology terms organized by ICD-10 disease and disorder categories allow students to learn terms in the same order they are presented in the coding manual. UNIQUE! Body Part key provides a complete list of body parts and how they should be coded in ICD-10. NEW and UNIQUE! Infectious disease appendix provides the basic information coders and coding students need to be able to understand infectious diseases and to code them correctly. NEW and UNIQUE! Additional CPT notes and updated ICD-10 guidelines highlight connections between terminology and codes.
Call Number: Reserves RB115 .S55 2021ISBN: 9780323722360Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide by Call Number: Reserves ; R852 .J33 2021ISBN: 9781284197570Publication Date: 2021
Administrative and clinical procedures for the Canadian health professional by Call Number: Reserves: R728.8 .T53 2021ISBN: 9780135831397Publication Date: 2021- Canadian medical transcription by
Canadian Medical Transcription is the first Canadian text/workbook designed to prepare students for working in the Canadian healthcare industry. It offers authentic dictation from real healthcare providers that includes Canadian medications and spelling. The workbook is designed to maximize the student’s training through interactive and comprehensive exercises in medical transcription and speech recognition core competencies.
Call Number: R728.8 .B47 2021ISBN: 9781989941010Publication Date: 2021
Exploring Medical Language by Call Number: R123 .L33 2021ISBN: 9780323711562Publication Date: 2021-03-15
The Language of Medicine by
Easily and effectively master medical terminology with Davi-Ellen Chabner's The Language of Medicine, 12th Edition! Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises. This new twelfth edition also features additional spotlight boxes on high-interest medical topics; updated medical scenario reports, laboratory tests, and clinical procedures; a new mini dictionary; additional in person stories, ADA-compliant resources, and more. No matter where your career path takes you, Chabner's proven method for med term mastery will help keep you grounded. Simple and easy-to-understand explanations of terms enables learners with little or no previous medical or science background to easily grasp medical terms and concepts. Wide variety of interactive exercises provides multiple opportunities to reinforce and remember content. Practical applications in each chapter (including case reports, operative and diagnostic tests, laboratory and x-ray reports) help leaners apply knowledge to situations you will encounter in the clinical environment. Anatomy, physiology, and pathology coverage is presented in detail with clear illustrations and brilliant images to orient learners to the structure and function of the body system. This format offers the best context for learning the medical terms by showing readers how it is used in practice. Actual clinical procedures and lab tests are provided within the body system or medical specialty chapters to further demonstrate medical terminology in action. Abbreviations are covered in every chapter to help learners master the medical shorthand used in clinical practice. Pronunciations of terms appear at the ends of chapters along with phonetic spellings. Comprehensive glossaries (word parts to English and English to word parts) and appendices (plurals, abbreviations, drug resource, and hematologic lab reference) appear at the end of the text and serve as quick references for use in class and on the job. Error-prone abbreviations list derived from the Joint Commission alerts reader to abbreviations that should not be used in the clinical setting. Interactive learner resources on companion website provide users with endless practice building, spelling, listening to, and understanding medical terms, while providing instant feedback. NEW! Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing (EAQ) is now available for separate purchase-Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing is a highly effective, formative evaluation tool that strengthens your knowledge and confidence with high-quality practice questions. Through personalized quizzing, you and your instructors can identify weak topic areas and develop simple strategies to improve your results. NEW! Updated medical scenario reports, exercises, laboratory tests, and clinical procedures give learners practice with medical terminology in current clinical settings. NEW! Mini-Dictionary gives simple, leveled definitions for each of the approximately 2,800 individual medical terms covered in the text. NEW! ADA compliant online student resources ensure learners with disabilities can take full advantage of the supplemental web-based learning tools. NEW! Additional Spotlight boxes focus on high-interest medical topics such as opioid addiction, immunotherapy, and chronic traumatic encephalopathy. NEW! Additional In Person stories bring medical terminology to life.
Call Number: R123 .C43 2021ISBN: 9780323551472Publication Date: 2020-03-23
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by
Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Call Number: R123 .C434 2023ISBN: 9780323479912Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Treating health care : how the Canadian system works and how it could work better by Call Number: RA395 .C3 D43 2018ISBN: 9781487521493Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to healthcare quality management by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781567939866Publication Date: 2018- Introduction to Health Informatics: a Canadian perspective by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781773383545Publication Date: 2023-05-31
Medical Terminology & Anatomy for ICD-10 Coding by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780323290784Publication Date: 2015- Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284197570Publication Date: 2021
Essentials of Healthcare Management by
Instructor Resources: This book's Instructor Resources include a test bank, presentation PowerPoint slides, answer guides to the in-book Mini Case Study questions, teaching guides for the part-opener case studies, and a transition guide to the new edition. Healthcare managers are tasked with ensuring an organization's mission is carried out, its goals are achieved, and its work is of high quality. Essentials of Healthcare Management: Cases, Concepts, and Skills provides a solid foundation for developing the skills managers need to help move their organization forward. This introductory book is for those preparing for entry- or midlevel healthcare management jobs. Aligned with the competency categorization developed by the Healthcare Leadership Alliance, it provides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing. The book is rich with compelling case studies depicting true events and situations. Every chapter opens with a case study to promote experiential learning and to anchor the chapter's subsequent coverage of theories and concepts. Examples include "Resisting Change," "Strange Behavior," "The Ethics Committee," and "A Longer Than Necessary Hospitalization." Wrapping up every chapter, mini-case studies such as "MedMan and Its Cultural Climate," "What Do We Do About Joe?," and "Developing the Budget for the Dialysis Center" give students the opportunity to apply the theories and concepts covered. Each major part of the book is introduced with a longer case study that instructors can use to highlight the significance of the material addressed in the part's chapters. End-of-chapter questions and exercises are equally well suited for in-class discussion or team assignments. Originally published as Essential Techniques for Healthcare Managers, this book has been extensively revised. All chapters have been significantly rewritten and updated. Particularly notable are enhancements to the coverage of strategy and marketing, operations, quality, and health information technology. The following chapters are entirely new and provide context and background for the subsequent chapters that address interpersonal and business skills: A Brief History of the Development of Healthcare in AmericaHealth Policy: Cost, Quality, and AccessThe Healthcare System TodayMedical and Healthcare Environments Blending theory and practical applications, Essentials of Healthcare Management equips future leaders with the skills, knowledge, and confidence they need to be successful healthcare managers.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781640550308Publication Date: 2019
Analytics in Healthcare: A Practical Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030045067Publication Date: 2019
Health Information Management Technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781584263524Publication Date: 2012
Schaum's Outline of Pathophysiology by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solvedproblems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you More than 250 fully solved problems Complete review of all course fundamentals Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Topics include: Pathology, Pathophysiology and the Different Types of Disease Causing Agents; Etiology and Epidemiology; Organization of Cells and Tissues; Stress, Trauma and Aging; Hereditary and Genetic Control of Cellular Function; Congenital Disorders; New Growths: Cell Division and Differentiation; Homeostasis of Fluid Balances; Stress and Responsiveness; Integumentary System; Skeletal System; Muscular System; Nervous System; Endocrine System; Ciculatory System; Cardiovascular System; Lymphatic System and Immunity; Respiratory System; Gastrointestinal System; Urinary System; Reproduction System; and The Diagnosis and Treatment of Disease Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071623681Publication Date: 2011
- Boundless Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, including titles for teens and children. Access is restricted to SLC students, faculty and staff. Note that all titles are 'one-copy, one-user' titles, each with a 3-week checkout/loan period. Please return titles you are done with before that time so that other users may check them out.
| Subject | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Medicine (General) | R |
| Public aspects of medicine | RA |
- Films on Demand Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
- CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
SLC Libraries. (2024). SLC Libraries Classroom Instruction [Video File]. Retrieved from: https://youtu.be/6Bz6uEaYFyI?si=MWAOGFQS-M0mBi3f [Closed captioning and transcripts are available via YouTube.]