- Boundless Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, including titles for teens and children. Access is restricted to SLC students, faculty and staff. Note that all titles are 'one-copy, one-user' titles, each with a 3-week checkout/loan period. Please return titles you are done with before that time so that other users may check them out.
- APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
- APA PsycBooks® This link opens in a new window
Full text PDF chapters from over 4000 books. Includes over 1500 entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
- APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
Core Psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Offers a summary of all past studies on psychometric properties of a published test.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The journal Behaviour Research and Therapy can be found in this database.
Contemporary Behavior Therapy by Call Number: RC489 .B4 S68 2016ISBN: 9781305269217Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Learning Cognitive-Behavior Therapy by Call Number: RC489 .C63 W74 2017ISBN: 9781615370184Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Criminal Psychology: a Manual for Judges, Practitioners, and Students by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781536168761Publication Date: 2019-11-26
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct by
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Seventh Edition, provides a psychological and evidence-informed perspective of criminal behavior that sets it apart from many criminological and mental health explanations of criminal behavior. Drawing upon the General Personality and Cognitive Social Learning theory, James Bonta and Donald Andrews provide an overview of the theoretical context and major knowledge base of the psychology of criminal conduct, discuss the eight major risk/need factors of criminal conduct, examine the prediction and classification of criminal behavior along with prevention and rehabilitation, and summarize the major issues in understanding criminal conduct. This book also offers the Risk-Need-Responsivity (RNR) model of assessment and treatment that has guided developments in the subject throughout the world. Bonta carefully maintains the book's original contributions while presenting core concepts succinctly, clearly, and elegantly. Appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners, The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Seventh Edition, further extends and refines the authors' body of work. The book is extended and enhanced by a website that includes: A curated selection of videos, webinars and podcast episodes, bringing together diverse voices from leaders across the field of corrections and criminal psychology Technical notes providing additional context and detail to concepts explored in the book Interactive quizzes to test understanding and support study Lecture slides, exercises and test banks designed to save instructors time
Call Number: HV6080 .A667 2024ISBN: 9781032272856Publication Date: 2023-09-01
ACT and Applied Behavior Analysis by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781684035823Publication Date: 2023-10-01
Clinician's Guide to Sexuality and Autism by
Clinician's Guide to Sexuality and Autism: A Guide to Sex Education for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders is the first book to provide clinicians with comprehensive curriculum of sexuality education skills for people with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). Starting with the importance of teaching sexuality skills to people with autism, this book provides an outline and overview of the recommended teaching strategies (e.g., Behavioral Skills Training, Cool vs. Not Cool, video modeling). This book also reviews the fourteen skill domains directly related to sexuality, including the key skills one should acquire in each domain.A timeline focusing on what skills should be targeted at what age and what skills to teach across the lifespan are also discussed. The curriculum covers domains that are often neglected in sex education for people with different disabilities in general (e.g. values, types of relationships, gender identity, or preferences). Additionally, this curriculum addresses component skills of sexuality in a way that allows early teaching to build upon areas of learning systematically over time, thus likely to have an improvement in teaching over time.- Identifies the importance of sex education for autistic treatment- Provides curriculum for teaching sex education to this clientele- Includes skills relating to hygiene, online safety and abuse prevention
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0323957447Publication Date: 2023-10-14
Ethics in Action : Personal Reflections of Canadian Psychologists
This is the story of the King?s Own Calgary Regiment. Beginning in the last years of collective innocence before the Great War, it follows the regiment to Vimy Ridge, through the short years of peace to Dieppe and the Italian Campaign, through the establishment and maintenance of militia and reserve forces, and into the Cold War.
Onward is a soldier?s story: mundane, heroic and tragic. This book explores not only the actions of the regiment but also the efforts of civilians to become warriors, to maintain their ties to home during the rigours of war, and the often-rocky return to civilian life. It explores peacetime, when the regiment struggled to maintain active reserves with aging equipment and minimal support. It places the King?s Own Calgary Regiment within the context of Canada?s army, tracing its relationships with brigade mates, supporting artillery and engineers to provide a complete and fascinating history.
Regimental history does not begin with the first shot of a battle, nor does the story end when the fighting stops. Onward is a thoroughly researched and captivating chronicle of the Kings Own Calgary Regiment and its soldiers in peace and war.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1773856006Publication Date: 2024
The Essential First Step by
The landscape of Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) therapy is ripe for transformation, particularly when it comes to the application of clinical documentation. Jennifer Fitzpatrick and Christina Imgrund aren't merely observing - they're leading the charge with "The Essential First Step: Clinical Documentation of Session Notes in ABA Therapy." This seminal volume is the beginning of a series that passionately seeks to remedy the challenges plaguing ABA therapy, starting with the revamping of clinical documentation. While session notes have historically been relegated to the periphery, this work brings them to the forefront, revealing their potential to be more than just records. These notes become critical instruments, pivotal in reforming and elevating the standards of ABA therapy. A harmonious blend of theoretical foundation and actionable practice ensures that practitioners are equipped with an in-depth, holistic understanding. The series doesn't just identify problems - it presents solutions. Adopting rigorous documentation practices, starting with session notes, is a powerful lever to improve staff expertise, achieve financial sustainability, and most crucially, enhance patient care and outcomes. The focus isn't just on knowing the best practices but mastering them, reinforcing the essence of evidence-based practices in the ABA sector. Key Takeaways from the Book: Documentation Reimagined: Understand the transformative role of standardized session notes in the broader context of clinical documentation. Excellence in Staff Training: Provide staff with consistent, standardized training methodologies, setting the stage for unmatched therapeutic results. Integrating Theory and Practicality: Grasp the intersection of standardized session notes and their potential to merge cutting-edge research with everyday ABA practices. Forging Ahead: Navigate the nuances of promoting transparency, ensuring consistency, and evolving processes, thereby guiding ABA therapy towards a sustainable and ethical future. This book is more than a guide - it's a call to arms; a movement. Serving as the trailblazer in a transformative series, it challenges the current norms and sparks a new era in how ABA therapy documentation is approached. This journey promises not just evolution but a revolution in ABA clinical documentation. Join the movement; be part of the solution.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9798822930094Publication Date: 2024-01-23
The Palgrave Handbook of Positive Education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030645373Publication Date: 2021-06-25
Writing Skills for Behavior Analysts by
Writing Skills for Behavior Analysts provides a practical guidebook for students and clinicians. The book focuses on the importance of balancing technical information with compassionate delivery, providing guidance on writing that is meaningful across the scientific and human sides of the field. Written by a group of clinicians, supervisors, and teaching faculty, the book targets eight key writing skills: writing as a human, writing as a student, writing as a clinician, writing as a leader, writing as a supervisor, writing as faculty, writing as a researcher and, finally, writing with artificial intelligence. By addressing each of these writing skills individually, the book is able to provide clear dos, don'ts, and examples in an easy-to-digest format. This book will be an essential guide for any student of behavior analysis, as well as clinicians looking to hone their professional writing skills.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781032732879Publication Date: 2024-07-11
Unequal relations : a critical introduction to race, ethnic, and Aboriginal dynamics in Canada by Call Number: FC104 F55 2017ISBN: 9780133761788Publication Date: 2017
Make It Meaningful by
Outcomes in adulthood for individuals with autism spectrum and related disorders are overall poor when it comes to independent living, employment, personal relationships, integration into the community, and other measures that greatly contribute to quality of life. Despite large, dedicated fields of practitioners committed to serving these individuals, adult outcomes have remained poor for decades. This is largely in part to the relatively little education and training provided to practitioners when it comes to what skills to teach and how in order to positively contribute to a meaningful adult life. While many skills-based assessments and curricula exist already, Make it Meaningful is intended to fill the void that exists for information guiding practitioners to create individualized programming to ensure each learner maximizes their instructional time to adequately prepare them for the rest of their lives. Key features of this book include:- Overall guidance in choosing what skills to teach and the value of adaptive behavior domains - Direction on writing goals with long-term considerations as well as specifically individualizing each learner's curricular path- A review of how applied behavior analysis (ABA) and other specific teaching considerations should be used to provide instruction on meaningful skills, particularly for older learners - Evidence-based methods for teaching important community-based and employment skills- Practical processes to guide the development of goals of both quality and sound structure- Systems to ensure quality and guide leadership of meaningful programs- Specific elements to guide practice include...P 12 unique tools to guide program developmentP 8 templated, customizable forms/datasheetsP 11 visual job aids to influence performanceThe goal of Make it Meaningful is to help ensure that individuals with autism spectrum and related disorders have a meaningful life in adulthood by ensuring practitioners teach them the right skills, the right way, in the right environments.
Call Number: LC5225.L42 G47 2024ISBN: 9798218264437Publication Date: 2023-12-01
Parent Training for Autism Spectrum Disorder by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1433829711Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Sleep Difficulties and Disorders in Autism Spectrum Disorder by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781648020940Publication Date: 2020-08-04
Substance Use Counseling by
This is the bound book only and does not include access to MyLab Coundeling with Pearson eText. To order MyLab Counseling with Pearson eText packaged with the bound book, use ISBN 0134479408 . ALERT: Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition, you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products. Students can use the URL and phone number below to help answer their questions: http://247pearsoned.custhelp.com/app/home 800-677-6337 Substance Use Counseling is intended for use in Substance Abuse Counseling and Drugs and Behavior courses or for practicing counselors and clinicians as an on-the-job resource. A step-by-step guide through the process of working with substance-abuse and/or behavioral addiction clients. Recognized for its clear, practical approach, Substance Use Counseling offers prospective and practicing clinicians and counselors a sound base of knowledge about alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD), and practical help for working with individuals and families who seek assistance for substance abuse and/or behavioral addiction. While the chapters build on each other as they take readers through the counseling process, each chapter can also be used as a stand-alone resource. Illustrative case studies with critical-thinking questions give readers opportunities to examine and discuss a wide variety of cases. This popular guide also features individual chapters on special populations to delve further into the topic of substance abuse and address ways to measure the problem. To keep readers up to date with the most current practices and trends shaping the field, the Sixth Edition reflects the changes in the DSM-5 related to the criteria for assessment and diagnosis of substance use disorders (including a new chapter on behavioral addictions and extensively updated terminology); the changing face of substance use; new effective treatment assessments, methods, and settings; and new chapter cases. Also available with MyLab Counseling This title is also available with MyLab Counseling- an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with the text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students see key concepts demonstrated through authentic video footage, practice what they learn, test their understanding, and receive feedback to guide their learning and ensure they master key learning outcomes.
Call Number: RC564 .S765 2018ISBN: 9780134055930Publication Date: 2017-04-19
Effective Writing in Psychology by Call Number: BF 76.7 .B45 2021ISBN: 9781119722885Publication Date: 2020
Reporting quantitative research in psychology: How to meet APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1433833425Publication Date: 2020
The thesis writing survival guide : research and write an academic thesis or dissertation with less stress by
Outcomes in adulthood for individuals with autism spectrum and related disorders have remained poor for decades in the areas of independent living, employment, personal relationships, integration into the community, and other measures that greatly contribute to quality of life. This is largely in part due to the relatively little education and training provided to practitioners when it comes to what skills to teach and how in order to positively contribute to a meaningful adult life. While many skills-based assessments and curricula exist already, Make it Meaningful is intended to fill the void that exists for information guiding practitioners in creating individualized programming to ensure each learner maximizes their instructional time to adequately prepare them for the rest of their lives. -- Amazon.
Call Number: LB2369 .S74 2023ISBN: 9783903386167Publication Date: 2023
- Behavior Analysis in PracticeBehavior Analysis in Practice provides science-based, best-practice information relevant to service delivery in behavior analysis.
- Behavior ModificationBehavior Modification (BMO) presents insightful research, reports, and reviews on applied behavior modification.
- Journal of Positive Behavior InterventionsSound, research-based principles of positive behavior support for use in school, home and community settings with people with challenges in behavioral adaptation.
- Music and medicine
Our aim is to promote the sharing and building of research and practice across a wide range of fields including but not strictly limited to music medicine, music therapy, arts medicine, performance arts medicine, music psychology, medical humanities, medical ethnomusicology, music cognition, and music neurology.
- CBC Curio.ca (CBC - Radio-Canada) This link opens in a new window
Curio is a digital video streaming service that allows you to view educational programs, news and documentaries from CBC-Radio Canada. Choose from a wide selection of high-quality educational titles in a dozen subject areas. Also includes CBC's News in Review Archive (1990-2019).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
General collection - all subjects.
iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/films-on-demand/id1475123089?ls=1
Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.infobase.fod
To use the apps, an account with your SLC email address must be created first. - Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
The full kanopy website, we have 57 videos available. Faculty may request titles.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true - National Film Board (NFB) This link opens in a new window
In addition to being a public producer and distributor of Canadian content, a talent incubator and a showcase for the country’s filmmakers and artists, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is the caretaker of an accessible, living audiovisual heritage that belongs to all Canadians. The NFB is also a key driver of Canada’s audiovisual industry and creative economy. The organization produces or co-produces more than 50 works every year, from thought-provoking documentaries to outstanding animated films to groundbreaking interactive and immersive works. To date it has produced more than 14,000 works, 7,000 of which are available free of charge on nfb.ca. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars.
Faculty requiring access to a particular title are asked to contact us.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Audio Cine Films Inc. is one of the largest film rights representatives in Canada, with exclusive rights to one of the largest film libraries available. Watch brand new releases and popular movies including Disney and Marvel content.
- Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand is currently hosting over 2,600 feature film & documentary titles from a wide variety of major producers, including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., 20th Century Fox, Alliance Films, Entertainment One, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and many more! These titles include English, French and Subtitled/Captioned versions. Please note: Criterion on Demand does not work on a mobile device.