Welcome New & Returning Students!

The Library Team is here to help you!

Using a library can be intimidating for anyone, but we're here to guide you. If you're feeling overwhelmed with the research process, picking a topic, or trying to find articles, you are not alone. It's important to know that research is a challenge, and struggling with your search is very normal - the process is much different from a quick Google search to find a fact. 

Remote Library Assistance 

  • Online Chat/IM: no login required, just connect using the library website. Chat allows link-sharing. This is a great option to test out the library as the service is anonymous. 
  • Texting Service  (613-707-3542 or 613-707-3LIB): this service is best for quick questions.
  • e-Appointments using Teams: SLC students may request a library research appointment with a Library Technician. Teams allows video, chat, and screen-sharing and is best for help with research-based class assignments. These appointments are intended to be friendly and informal at any point in the research process. Don't be shy; we're so excited to meet with you and hear about your topic!

How to get started

How to Find Help in the Library

There are many different ways to find help in the library:

  • The service desk at the entrance to the library will help you with your library account, borrowing, reference assistance or renewing books. Our library website will allow you to search the library catalogue, databases or help you with reference assistance.
    • If trying to access off-campus, you can go through SLC.me and click on the LibGuides - Resources icon to avoid multiple log-ins
  • Library email – will allow you to contact your campus library with any issues regarding your library account or help answer reference questions.
  • Chat live with one of our library technicians for quick assistance from anywhere on or off-campus.
  • Help with writing, math, science, and accounting: The Academic Support Centre can be found within the Brockville and Kingston campus libraries. The tutors will help to improve/enhance your writing, math, or science skills. They offer free one-on-one or group tutoring sessions for any program at St. Lawrence College. In Cornwall, the Academic Support Centre can be found in Aultsville on the 3rd floor: Room A343.

Library Spaces

There are a lot of different places to study that accommodate group and quiet individual study:

  • Group Study – each campus has study rooms for groups of two or larger that may be booked for up to 2 hours a day, 6 hours per week.
    • Smartboard pens and HDMI cables may be signed out from the circulation desk.
  • Quiet Study– study carrels are available for quiet individual study. These carrels are meant to be quiet and are monitored in order to maintain that silence.
    • Earplugs and headphones are available at the circulation desk
  • Computers are available for all students. They are meant for individual or quiet group work unless otherwise signed. Please note that in order to print from computers your student card is required.
  • Lounge furniture can be found throughout each campus library. The furniture may be referred to as "comfy seats" that can be used for either individual or group study.
    • Please help us keep the furniture clean by using it appropriately.

How do I use Library Databases?

The SLC Libraries provides off-campus access to more than 100 vendor-provided and open-access databases. A database is a general or subject-specific collection of information sources, most often containing scholarly or peer-reviewed research articles. Click on the Video Tutorials tab at the top of this page to find easy to understand video tutorials on searching our most popular databases. Most of our subject-specific databases are from the vendor Ebsco, so the Ebsco search tutorial is a great start for learning search strategies to apply to many research databases. For additional assistance, please contact the library using email, text, and chat. 

Multilingual Glossary of Library Terms

Policies in Our Library

St. Lawrence College Library has the following policies and procedures that are expected to be followed by all students, staff, alumni, and community members.

Welcome to the Library

Brockville Campus Library

Kingston Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library – Silent Student & Group Study Rooms

Brockville Campus Library

Brockville Campus Library

Brockville Campus Library

Brockville Campus Library – Silent Study Room

Brockville Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library

Cornwall Campus Library

Cornwall Campus

Kingston Campus Library

Kingston Campus Library

Kingston Campus

Kingston Campus Library

Kingston Campus Library – Quiet Study Carrels

Kingston Campus Library – Quiet Study Carrels

Kingston Campus

Academic Integrity

It is your responsibility as an SLC student to understand the academic policy.

Academic Integrity: The upholding of the fundamental values of honesty, trust, fairness, respect, and responsibility in the performance of all academic activities. Ethical conduct in teaching, learning and research according to the conventions of academic integrity builds credibility, trust, and respect for all students, staff and the college as a whole.

Academic Misconduct includes, but is not limited to:

    • Cheating
    • Copyright Infringement
    • Fabrication or Misrepresentation of research
    • Forging or Falsification of Information
    • Impersonation
    • Intentionally damaging the work of another
    • Plagiarism
    • Procurement

SLC Libraries Tutorial - How to Search

SLC Libraries and Academic Support Centres. (2020, September 11). SLC Libraries Tutorial - How to Search [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/jgcNRdoQmUA