Find Articles - Subject Guide - Visual and Fine Arts - Libraries and Learning Centres at St. Lawrence College

What is Peer Reviewed?

Peer review is the process of having an academic paper reviewed by experts to ensure that it meets the standards for the given discipline. Peer reviewed articles are also called scholarly or refereed articles.

What is an article? Journal? Database?

Lehmanlibrary. (2012). Academic journal? Scholarly article? Article database? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qIjfsMgG20

Suggested Databases

Artists in Canada This link opens in a new window
List that identifies the location of documentation files on Canadian artists but includes some links to full-text artist biographies
Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Subjects include: archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
Indigenous Collective This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Collective is an ongoing video series that collaborates with Indigenous artists, musicians, performers, and storytellers in order to celebrate their creativity and vibrancy of life! Our production team has been travelling across the country, visiting cities and their homeland to conduct interviews, learn about diverse cultures, and capture stories and performances on camera.
Pop Culture Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.