Career Services at SLC
Are you a student looking for part-time, summer or career position? Are you an employer looking to hire a career ready graduate? St. Lawrence College Career Services can offer you a variety of tools and resources to meet your needs. Check out their website for further information.
eBooks
Ask the Right Questions; Get the Right Job by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1637421060Publication Date: 2021-07-20
What Is Your Interview Identity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781787058156Publication Date: 2021-09-01
The Art of Finding the Job You Love by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1683509927Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Career Match by
Is your job just a way to pay the bills Are you a drudge Monday through Friday only so you can be more yourself on Saturday It doesn't have to be this way! Never before in history has there been such an eclectic variety of money-making opportunities and cutting-edge vocations than there are in today's marketplace. There is no need to settle! And when you find the career that fits your personality, you'll discover that the work hours you once begrudged with every fiber of your being now bring you tremendous satisfaction and success.Career Match contains the ten-minute self-assessment that can change your life! After a simple quiz to determine your personality style, turn to the corresponding chapter that reads as if it was written just for you and discover what ideal work options there are for you. In this invaluable resource for all personalities:* Identify career choices that will exhilarate you* Recognize the type of work environment and boss you need to thrive* Learn to leverage your natural strengths* Customize and speed your job searchThis second edition has been updated to include trending new careers in areas such as gaming, web design, alternative energy, cybersecurity, food science, and more. Whether you are a recent graduate looking for direction or a burned-out veteran seeking new inspiration, this indispensable guide will help you match who you are with what you're meant to do--with a success rate vastly greater than that of your typical match maker!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814438152Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Career Rehab: Rebuild Your Personal Brand and Rethink the Way You Work by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1613084129Publication Date: 2020-01-21
Hacks for Life and Career by
Being a millennial is not easy. While the average millennial struggles with low remuneration and motivation, there are others who become Instagram influencers and earn oodles of money and fame. This book aims to provide life hacks that can help millennials face the world professionally and personally. It discusses various topics along the lines of entrepreneurship, self-help, technological disruption and financial literacy. In this holistic guide for today's millennials, the author breaks down various day-to-day business concepts such as pricing, inflation, GDP and so on. The book also provides a glimpse of industries--FMCG, consulting, e-commerce, banking--to help readers understand the culture and demands of these industries. The book tries to speak to all kinds of millennials, be it the ones starting their slash careers or those beginning a new entrepreneurial venture. Hacks for Life and Career includes tips on managing difficult bosses and colleagues along with life hacks to upsell oneself in a corporate career. It also provides career-related assistance like creating an impactful resume and acing various rounds of job selection. The book answers the often-asked question of whether to pursue an Indian degree or an international degree. And finally, the secret sauce that will help them land that job with a nine-digit salary. The book will appeal to millennials who are trying to make a career in corporate India.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789353885519Publication Date: 2020-11-18
The Introvert's Complete Career Guide by
"Ready to change your life? Jane nails it in this informative and resource-rich book that guides introverts on a clear journey to an empowered career. If a tendency toward introversion makes you feel stuck, this book offers the keys to freedom!" --Dawn Graham, PhD, LP, Career Director at The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania What do Elon Musk, Warren Buffet, Marissa Mayer, and Bill Gates all have in common outside of being wildly successful? They are all introverts. In today's fast-paced, unstable workplace achieving success requires speaking up, promoting oneself and one's ideas, and taking initiative. Extroverts, fearless in tooting their own horns, naturally thrive in this environment, but introverts often stumble. If you question your ability to perform and succeed in this extroverted work culture, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide is custom fit for you. In this supportive, all-inclusive handbook, Jane Finkle demonstrates how to use your introverted qualities to their best advantage, then add a sprinkling of extroverted skills to round out a forceful combination for ultimate career success. Finkle shares the keys to navigating each stage of professional development--from self-assessment and job searching, to survival in a new position and career advancement. In The Introvert's Complete Career Guide you will learn to: Build confidence by evaluating your values, personality style, interests, and achievements Write the story of your career in resume and LinkedIn formats Use social media at your own comfort level to promote your career and expand your network Express yourself clearly and confidently in network meetings, interviews, and workplace situations Build strong professional relationships with colleagues and senior leaders Overcome fears that prevent you from embracing new challenges Equally applicable to the real or virtual workplace, The Introvert's Complete Career Guide provides strategies, tools, and success stories that win you the professional respect and recognition you deserve.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781632651310Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Entrepreneurship by
Strengthen skills, know where to start and reduce your risk. Growing in universities as a separate degree in itself, any business major or inspired self-starter will find a barrage of tools that create a road map to the American Dream. With a focus on doing it "lean", this 6-page guide by our author, successful entrepreneur and well-connected Babson College graduate can help steer the course. Suggested uses: * Students - quick reference tool for a major in entrepreneurship or business * Professors - supplemental reference for courses that focus on aspects of business and entrepreneurship * Personal - start your own business - for people who want to work for themselves and feel there is a better way to providing a service or product that they feel is meaningful, fulfilling and profitable * Consultants - provide as a supplemental reference and/or promotional give-away for entrepreneurship and start-up presentations, courses, conferences, training and the like
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781423225393Publication Date: 2015-05-31
Entrepreneurship As Empowerment by
Entrepreneurship as Empowermentfocuses on entrepreneurial theory and practice through the lens of knowledge spillovers and entrepreneurial ecosystems, enabling readers to gain a better understanding about emerging trends and developments. This edited collection widens the traditional field of entrepreneurship by discussing the way in which ecosystems facilitate the flow of knowledge, thereby creating new business opportunities globally. The current state of research on knowledge spillovers and entrepreneurial ecosystems is analysed with a view to highlighting research gaps that need further attention. Entrepreneurship as empowerment examines cultural and societal expectations and contextualises entrepreneurship across places and industries. Aimed at both academics and practitioners of entrepreneurship, Ratten uses expectancy theory to understand entrepreneurship and contributes to the burgeoning body of literature from a knowledge management and practice standpoint. Entrepreneurship as empowerment provides a unique approach to understand the cultural and social expectations that are tied into being an entrepreneur today.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781839825514Publication Date: 2020-08-14
Entrepreneur Voices on Careers by
Build the Career of Your DreamsAre you on the edge of a career burnout? Do you feel bored or uninspired by your business? Have you been thinking about that next step but are too afraid to take it? You are not alone.In this book, more than 30 successful entrepreneurs and career experts life the veil on what it takes to rise the ranks in your company, build a successful side gig, and set up your business for success. Divided into four parts and packed with game-changing insights, real-world stories, and spot-on advice, Entrepreneur Voices on Careers is the ultimate choose-your-own-adventure guide to help you:Make the career move that best fits your goals and lifestyleBuild a multimillion-dollar side hustle while working your 9-to-5Climb the corporate ladder with an entrepreneurial mindsetTake the leap from part-time gig to full-time business ownerLeverage your current skills to succeed in a brand-new industryPlus, read exclusive interviews and #DearEntrepreneur letter responses from coaches, founders, and executives who have seen it all.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781613084168Publication Date: 2019
The Science of Entrepreneurship by
In this entrepreneurial age, it's very tempting to leave your job to start your own business. Before you do, learn all you can from the best. This book is just that. World renowned bestselling author and business consultant Brian Tracy tells you about one of today's most needed skill sets, entrepreneurship, covering these important topics: MYTHS of entrepreneurship BEST business choice for you FINANCING the business SHIFTING from employee mindset to entrepreneurial mindset CREATING a realistic business plan HIRING the best and managing for success FUELING your business growth with sales and marketing This book is designed to help anyone who wants to start or grow a business. Let Brian Tracy teach you the science of entrepreneurship, tested and proven not just for years, but for millennia. If you simply study the ideas in this book, and apply them, you too, can become a successful entrepreneur. KIRKUS REVIEW A hard-line path to successful entrepreneurship for beginners...Aspiring entrepreneurs will benefit from Tracy's straightforward strategies.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781722510176Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Career and Family by
A renowned economic historian traces women's journey to close the gender wage gap and sheds new light on the continued struggle to achieve equity between couples at home A century ago, it was a given that a woman with a college degree had to choose between having a career and a family. Today, there are more female college graduates than ever before, and more women want to have a career and family, yet challenges persist at work and at home. This book traces how generations of women have responded to the problem of balancing career and family as the twentieth century experienced a sea change in gender equality, revealing why true equity for dual career couples remains frustratingly out of reach. Drawing on decades of her own groundbreaking research, Claudia Goldin provides a fresh, in-depth look at the diverse experiences of college-educated women from the 1900s to today, examining the aspirations they formed--and the barriers they faced--in terms of career, job, marriage, and children. She shows how many professions are "greedy," paying disproportionately more for long hours and weekend work, and how this perpetuates disparities between women and men. Goldin demonstrates how the era of COVID-19 has severely hindered women's advancement, yet how the growth of remote and flexible work may be the pandemic's silver lining. Antidiscrimination laws and unbiased managers, while valuable, are not enough. Career and Family explains why we must make fundamental changes to the way we work and how we value caregiving if we are ever to achieve gender equality and couple equity.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691201788Publication Date: 2021-10-12
The Development of Women and Young Professionals in STEM Careers by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1000702677Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Disrupters: Success Strategies from Women Who Break the Mold by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781613083802Publication Date: 2018
Her Way to the Top by
Award-winning Hira Ali examines the myriad of challenges women face on their road to professional success. Informed by her 13 years of coaching experience and survey responses from 300 working women, she reveals the universal internal and external roadblocks that can impede a woman's climb to the top, regardless of her culture or geography. This go-to guide for working women explores FOMO (the Fear of Missing Out), Imposter Syndrome, perfectionism and sexual harassment, among other issues.She moves beyond problems and empowers her readers with real solutions to help them break the glass ceiling. Written by a successful career woman for the benefit of career women around the world, Her Way to the Top demonstrates that women are all in this together, and together they can make a difference for each other.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784521516Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Nine Guiding Principles for Women in Higher Education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781421444970Publication Date: 2023-03-07
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with a library of more than 13,000+ courses taught by real-world experts.
Note: to create permanent links so students may authenticate directly to content, add the following text after the URL in the browser:
&auth=true
Example: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/information-literacy/welcome?u=56969921&auth=true
The Learning Portal
- Career HubThis hub will help you explore career options by identifying your skills, getting information about the labour market, and researching related college programs. It will also help you with the process of applying for jobs, including creating a resume and cover letter.
- Interview SkillsThe interview is a chance for the employer to learn more about you, your skills and experiences, and for you to learn more about the company. This module will provide you with a thorough understanding of what you need to know at every stage of the interview process.
- Resumes and Cover LettersYour resume and cover letter are often your first introduction to an employer, and they have to impress them enough that they want to meet with you. This module will show you how you can create effective resumes and cover letters.