Welcome

Welcome to the Nursing Library Guide for BScN @ SLC Faculty!

This guide is a resource for all St. Lawrence College faculty and staff during the implementation of the standalone Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BScN) degree at St. Lawrence College. Information is intended as a reference for faculty and staff in current and forthcoming BScN programs (Laurentian University and St. Lawrence College); however, this guide may be useful to faculty in nursing and allied health programs at SLC including but not limited to Practical Nursing, Paramedic, Pre-Health Sciences, Personal Support Worker, and Critical Care Nursing.

This guide is under construction and will be updated frequently. Are you looking for something else? Let us know! For inquiries please contact the Library Team at Libraries@sl.on.ca.

Information about access to Laurentian University Library Collections

NOTICE: Access to Laurentian University (LU) Library online collections is restricted to current registered and authorized Laurentian BScN students only (i.e. Year 3/4 in Fall 2022). This access restriction is based on publisher licensing models.

New BScN students in the standalone degree program from St. Lawrence College DO NOT have access to Laurentian University (LU) Library's online collections for Fall 2022. Students in the second year of the standalone also do not have LU library access.

All copyright-protected content in use for a Fall 2022 Y1/2 course must be licensed and available from SLC Libraries.

Databases A-Z List (LU)
CINAHL database (direct link to LU version)
MEDLINE (OVID) (direct link to LU version)
Watch the OVID video below prior to searching this database for the first time. This will save you time when using this complex database!
Article Finder (search by citation/article title)
Off-campus Services (LU)
Interlibrary Loans (RACER)
Laurentian students in BScN and BBA programs, may access full interlibrary loan and distance delivery services from Laurentian via RACER, including retrieval of articles in the OCUL system. We (SLC Library) are not able to submit requests library-to-library but students are eligible for this service.
Nursing Research Guide (LU)
Library Research Skills Tutorial (LU)
Evidence-Informed Sources Guide (LU)

For help with your Laurentian login, contact IT help:

it@laurentian.ca
1-800-461-4030 x2200

Don't forget to add "Library Links" in Google Scholar for both SLC & LU! This gives you off-campus access to both libraries in one search. Adding our libraries to your Google Scholar settings allows you to access Full Text articles from on and off campus!