This is the "Library Information" page of the "St. Lawrence College Library - Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

St. Lawrence College Library - Databases  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2017 URL: http://stlawrencecollege.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Notice of Change

Changes to access modes for online resources. For more information click here.

 

A-Z Databases List by Title

A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P R S T V W

A
Academic Onefile Interdisciplinary database, includes peer-reviewed full-text articles as well as podcasts and videos. Less content than Academic Search Premier.
   SLC.me Access
Academic Search Complete Best starting point for most topics. Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed full-text articles. Indexes more than 4600 journals.
   SLC.me Access
Agricola Open Access Open Access agriculture database from USDA.
Agriculture Collection Articles range from farming to cutting edge research in horticulture, animal welfare and global warming.
   SLC.me Access
Alt HealthWatch Includes complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
   SLC.me Access
Artists in Canada Open Access List that identifies the location of documentation files on Canadian artists – but includes some links to full-text artist biographies
Audiobook Collection Search audiobooks, listen to samples, and download your selection. Fiction, nonfiction, self-help, children’s, business etc.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
B
Biodiversity Heritage Library Open Access Open access database containing literature on biodiversity, natural history, botany, and taxonomy.
Business Collection Business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
   SLC.me Access
Business Economics & Theory Collection Academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. Emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
   SLC.me Access
Business Source Premier Core business database – includes all disciplines in business as well as country overviews, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports and videos from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series.
Video tutorials: Basic or Advanced
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
C
Canada in Context Magazines, journals, news articles, images, videos, and audio files with reference works such as the Worldmark Encyclopedia of Canadian Provinces, Discovering Authors Canadian Edition, and the Native North American Almanac.
Video tutorial from Toronto Public Library
   SLC.me Access
Canadian Encyclopedia Open Access Online version of the Canadian Encyclopedia – comprehensive, accurate source of information on Canadian topics.
Canadian Major Dailies National and leading regional newspapers, such as the National Post, the Globe and Mail, the Calgary Herald, the Edmonton Journal, the Montreal Gazette and, the Ottawa Citizen.
   SLC.me Access
Canadian Music Periodical Index Open Access Index to Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines. Covers all aspects of musical activity in Canada.
Canadian Patent Database Open Access Access from CIPO to 147 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,270,000 patent documents.
Canadian Periodical Index Canadian and Canadian-focused journals, magazines, and newspapers.
   SLC.me Access
Canadian Reference Centre Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books, as well as leading international magazines. Also includes full text biographies and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
   SLC.me Access
CanLII Open Access Provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions. Maintained by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.
CanSIM Open Access
(formerly E-Stat)
Socioeconomic database from Statistics Canada.
CARD
Canadian Advertising Rates & Data
Canadian advertising rates and related data on significant media in Canada and selected international media.
   SLC.me Access
CBCA
Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Content from four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Includes articles in French.
   SLC.me Access
Chilton Auto Repair Repair procedures, service bulletins, service recalls, wiring diagrams and quick tips for cars produced from 1941 to present.
   SLC.me Access
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Core nursing database. Subjects covered include nursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative medicine, and consumer health. Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Video tutorials: Basic or Advanced
   SLC.me Access
Communications & Mass Media Collection Academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field including advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics etc.
   SLC.me Access
Computer Database Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
   SLC.me Access
Consultant Open Access
(Veterinary Medicine)
From Cornell, diagnostic support system used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause.
Criminal Justice Collection Academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
   SLC.me Access
Culinary Arts Collection Academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
D
Directory of Open Access Journals Open Access DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Diversity Studies Collection Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
E
Early Canadiana Online Open Access Open online collection of rare books, magazines and government publications including local history, health, women’s studies and aboriginal studies. Coverage: 1600s to 1940s
Educators eCollection Perfect for educating future teachers and administrators, this set covers the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs.
   SLC.me Access
Educator's Reference Complete Academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
   SLC.me Access
E-Journals Provides article-level access for thousands of e-journals available through EBSCO Subscription Services. When possible, EBSCO's SmartLinks technology provides direct links to publishers' content.
   SLC.me Access
Encyclopedia Britannica Online Current complete version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and recommended Web sites, atlases, biographies, news, etc.
   SLC.me Access
Energy & Power Source Articles on many aspects of the energy and power industries, including research, exploration, extraction, processing, production, distribution, marketing, selling, and more.
   SLC.me Access
Environment Complete Scholarly journals, trade journals and magazines covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Also contains select books and reports.
   SLC.me Access
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
   SLC.me Access
ERIC
Education Resources Information Center
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Also includes research reports.
   SLC.me Access
Expanded Academic ASAP Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. Subject areas include the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
F
Fine Arts & Music Collection Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
   SLC.me Access
First Nations Periodical Index Open Access Index only – List of Journals Indexed
Food Science Source Full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to the food industry. Includes journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are available.
   SLC.me Access
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
G
Gardening, Landscape & Horiculture Collection Academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Provides biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
   SLC.me Access
Gender Studies Collection Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
   SLC.me Access
General Reference Center Gold Provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books. Provides the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
   SLC.me Access
General Science Collection Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
   SLC.me Access
GREENR The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
H
Health Source - Consumer Edition Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
   SLC.me Access
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
   SLC.me Access
Health & Wellness Resource Center including Alt Health Provides alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
   SLC.me Access
Home Improvement Collection Provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. Content can meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.
   SLC.me Access
Humanities International Index A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Subjects include: archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
I
Information Science & Library Issues Collection Scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers. Coverage of topics includes information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.
   SLC.me Access
Insurance & Liability Collection Academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. Content will be of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
K
Knotia CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB) and International Financial Reporting Standards.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
L
LabourSource Brown & Beatty Canadian Labour Arbitration, Canadian Labour Law, LAC, CLAS and more.
   SLC.me Access
LexisNexis Academic Full-text articles from US, Canadian and international newspapers, magazines and journals; company financial data and directories, SEC filings, industry and market news & reports etc.
   SLC.me Access
Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
M
MAS Ultra - School Edition This database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. Also provides full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
   SLC.me Access
MasterFILE Elite This multidisciplinary database provides full text for general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Also includes full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
   SLC.me Access
MEDLINE Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
   SLC.me Access
Mental Measurements Yearbook Comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Offers a summary of all past studies on psychometric properties of a published test.
   SLC.me Access
Military & Intelligence Collection Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Provides content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
   SLC.me Access
Musical Theater Songs Index only. Enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a tailored list of songs.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
N
Naxos Jazz Access to music and biographical information of legendary jazz artists and composers.
   SLC.me Access
Naxos Music Library Streaming access to more than 73,620 CDs and over 1,058,900 tracks of standard and rare repertoire.
   SLC.me Access
Newsstand Full-text newspapers, allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. A one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
   SLC.me Access
Nursing & Allied Health Source Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
O
Oxford English Dictionary The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
   SLC.me Access
Oxford Music Online
(formerly Grove Music)
Online music from databases such as, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music as well as partnerships with RILM providers, DRAM and Classical Music.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
P
Passport (Euromonitor) International market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
Video tutorial: Using Passport to understand the value chain
   SLC.me Access
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection Academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. Offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
   SLC.me Access
PLOS – Public Library of Science Open Access Library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
Pop Culture Collection Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
   SLC.me Access
Primary Search Provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
   SLC.me Access
PsycARTICLES Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from APA, CPA and others. Full-text subset of PsycInfo.
   SLC.me Access
PsycBOOKS Full text PDF chapters from over 4000 books. Includes over 1500 entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
   SLC.me Access
Psychology Collection Provides access to psychology academic journals and magazines. Content for both researchers and general users.
   SLC.me Access
PsycINFO Core psychology database. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 journals as well as books and dissertations.
   SLC.me Access
PsycTESTS Structured information about psychological tests and measures, includes some test instruments.
   SLC.me Access
PubMed Open Access Online index for biomedical and related literature.
Back to top
R
Regional Business News Covers more than 80 US regional business publications, metropolitan and rural.
   SLC.me Access
Religion & Philosophy Collection Scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. Balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
S
ScienceDirect Access to Elsevier’s Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioural Sciences E-Journal collections.
   SLC.me Access
Science in Context Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The database includes reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
   SLC.me Access
Serials Directory Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses for every entry.
   SLC.me Access
Small Business Collection Academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. Includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
   SLC.me Access
SocINDEX with Full Text Comprehensive and high quality sociology research database that also includes some full text books and conference papers.
   SLC.me Access
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Comprehensive source of full text articles for sports & sports medicine journals.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
T
Theses Canada Portal Open Access Bibliographic records of theses & dissertations in the National Library of Canada collection – includes some full-text digital theses from 1998-.
Tourism, Hospitality & Leisure Collection Scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
V
Vocapedia Open Access From National Association of Teachers of Singing, audio, video and text resources – some just bibliographic.
Vocational Studies Premier Specifically designed to support research in two-year colleges, and offers content geared to academic institutions offering associates degrees and vocational programs.
   SLC.me Access
Vocations & Career Collection Journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
W
War & Terrorism Collection Academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. Balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
   SLC.me Access
World History Collection Scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
   SLC.me Access
Back to top
 

A-Z Journal List

Click here to access
Provides alphabetical access by title to our online, full-text journals.
   SLC.me Access

 

Off Campus Access

To access SLC library databases off campus:

directly via the library website

  • Select the resource you wish to access.
  • You will then be required to log in. Your student number is the login, the last four digits of your student number are the PIN.

through the SLC.me portal

  • Select "SLC.me Access" for the resource you wish to access.
  • If you are having issues try logging out and accessing directly via the library website (see above).

If you are experiencing login difficulties contact your campus library.

For more information see our Off-Campus Access page.

 

Contact Us

Brockville Library
613.345.0660 ext. 3104
blibrary@sl.on.ca

Cornwall Library
613.933.6080 ext. 2701
clibrary@sl.on.ca

Kingston Library
613.544.5400 ext. 1705
klibrary@sl.on.ca

 

Legend

Open Access - Resource is accessible to the general public, no log-in required
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip